We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #107 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Boston, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is a fantastically clean, warm hotel in Chicago. The staff are extremely friendly and are eager to make your stay as pleasant as possible. My room was clean, comfortable and everything was in working order. The fitness facility is well equipped, the business center well stocked, and the restaurant has excellent food in a calming atmosphere. I would definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kellee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Kellee W,
We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile! It gives us great pleasure to hear that you will be returning to us again in the near future.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    1,053
    522
    182
    113
See reviews for
827
595
143
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree for a weekend getaway to Chicago with 6 adults and 3 young children. The staff, including doormen, front desk, bellboys and concierge could not have been more friendly, helpful and understanding. They answered all questions with a smile and certainly made our stay much easier. The rooms were good for the price we paid, and the location is excellent. We were able to walk to nearby shops, restaurants, Navy Pier and more while traveling with 3 children ages 6 and under. The Einstein Brothers Bagels in the lobby is handy for grabbing a bite for the kids. We parked in the hotel garage for $50 per night as we wanted the easy in and out, but there is cheaper parking across the street if you do not need your vehicle often. One drawback for those traveling with kids is the pool is outdoor and not available in the winter. Overall this was a great value for our family and helped us have a wonderful stay in Chicago

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeyHey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear SeyHey24,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree for your recent weekend getaway. We pride ourselves on our friendly service and helpful team members, and glad you had the opportunity to meet them firsthand. Our hotel parking rates are competitively priced and we offer special in-and-out privileges that other hotels do not. We hope to welcome you and the family back in the summer, so the kids can use our outdoor pool!
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

nicely located DoubleTree property in the heart of Chicago. very comfortable and immaculate rooms. nice welcoming staff. Restaurants all around the hotel. excellent wi fi connections the only thing I didn't like was the so called 'breakfast upgrade' for $ 7. they should either charge for a full breakfast or provide it complimentary for Gold / diamond HHonors

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sriram N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Sriram N,
The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is Chicago's best kept secret; centrally located and offering a tremendous value. We regret if the price for our breakfast caused any inconvenience, but can assure you that our prices are very competitive with our nearby hotels. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Happy Holidays!
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had no complaints about the rooms, they were adequate and what we expected for the price. We booked two rooms and the front desk did accommodate getting us rooms next to each other, although not adjoining like we requested when we booked the rooms. We arrived about an hour ahead of check-in time and had to wait for rooms to be ready. Overall, the stay was reasonable. The reason we rated so poorly was our parting experience. We paid the $50 for the self park attached to hotel. We were told we were able to come and go as we please, so we felt the extra cost was worth the convenience since we were traveling with 2 children. We left for 2 hours and when we returned, there was no parking spots available. After driving the multiple levels two times, there were still no slots so we opted to park at another parking garage across the street for $33. When I brought this up at check-out and asked for a refund on our parking fee, they demanded a receipt from the other garage. So, we had to pay for the parking and leave the other garage and have my brother drive around the block until we could get the kids down to the street and get in the car after I completed our check out. THEN, they would only comp us for the $33 we paid for the other garage and not for the full $50 we paid for the on site parking that we could not use because it was oversold. Honestly, it was only a matter of $17, but the principle was what frustrated us. If you are going to oversell your parking garage and charge $50 when you can't even find a parking spot, fine, but then refusing to refund the parking fee when you did not provide the service we paid for was unprofessional. We would have had a reasonable stay and given better ratings had they just refunded the $50 and apologized. It was an inconvenience, but it wasn't the end of the world. The front desk had no intention of making things right and made it even more inconvenient for us. There are plenty of hotels in the area and we don't have to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Erin L,
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to learn about the inconvenience and frustration you experienced with the parking during your recent stay. The goal of our team is to make sure that our guests have a carefree experience while on property, and it seems we did not achieve this with you. Please allow us the opportunity to discuss your situation in more detail offline. Our General Manager, Birgit Radin, can be reached at: 312-224-2137 or via email at: bradin@doubletreemagmile.com.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Excellent value! Great location!! Great staff. Great amenitites. Parking close by for $30/night - Doubltree is $50/night. Easy access to shopping , restaurants and other attractions. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Room was average - nothing special. My husband in Northwestern receiving heart transplant - needed to be close. Got charged a very high rate due to "convention in town." I was supposed to get a discount of some kind. Have a very Merry Christmas and thank you for the holiday spirit of kindness. I guess its all about money. Sad

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Joseph K,
We are sincerely disappointed to hear if the rate you received during your stay felt inflated. Please understand that during citywide events in the city, hotel rates tends to increase over certain dates. It is never our intention to "nickel and dime" our guests, and hope you will forgive us for any frustration and inconvenience caused.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We booked this hotel with one of those deals where you don't see the name of the hotel until you book it. At the time we booked we were told it was a 3.5 start hotel in the heart of Chicago. We were reluctant but booked it anyway for the great price. We won't do that again! The hotel is in a great location right off Magnificent Mile. There is no valet parking which is not common for a hotel or restaurant in downtown Chicago. You will have to self park and enter the lobby from the back. The hotel staff was friendly enough with greeting and pointing out the registration. The unpleasant part of our stay was the room assignment. The first room was still being cleaned so it wasn't going to be a short wait. Again the staff was polite apologizing and gave us another room. The 2nd room smelled so bad we couldn't stand to be in there and the bathroom was in much need of cleaning. After calling downstairs we were asked to wait until someone called us back. About 10 minutes later, the manager came up to the room and offered us another room. We finally settled in on room number 3. It was clean and a nice view of the surrounding buildings. The bed was not very comfortable but because it was clean we were okay. I wouldn't say the deal was worth the hassle so we will probably pick a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Specify a non smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wikanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear wikanes,
Thank you for your review. We regret to learn of the details of your check-in experience. It is never our intention to give the guest a "run-around" experience upon arrival, and hope that you will forgive us for this setback. Please be assured of our best efforts to regain your confidence and trust in us.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#87 Family Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing