We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #107 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Franklin, United States
1 review
“Chicago Trip”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel and staff was great! The only problem we had was our room backed up to the elevators and they were very loud. It sounded like someone banging a metal trash can in the elevator shaft all night long. It was so bad we had to buy ear plugs so it wouldn't keep us up all night. Great hotel and staff, we'll probably stay there again, we'll just make sure we're not next to the elevators.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Kevin E,
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us, however, regret to learn if the noise of our elevators caused any inconvenience. Definitely next time you return, we will make sure you are not adjacent to the elevator bank.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    1,078
    537
    188
    118
See reviews for
855
605
148
712
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location located in the center of downtown. It is convenient to restaurants, business areas,tourist attractions. The staff was excellent in their service. The arrivals and departure process was flawless. The rate was reasonable for the area. I will be looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Sam B,
Thank you for your review. One of our best features is our great location in downtown Chicago, and glad you had the opportunity to experience this firsthand. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very convenient location, right in the center of downtown, close to everywhere. The cookie is tasty, too! Nice room. My only little compalaint was the heating was a little noisy when it was on. But overall it's a great experience and the price is really reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Vicgood,
Thank you for your review. Our DoubleTree chocolate chip cookies are addictive and glad you enjoyed it! We are glad the noise from the HVAC did not spoil your overall experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

my friends and I went downtown Chicago for a night and figured it would be easier to just get a room versus having to worry about catching the Metra to get back out to the suburbs. We had a great room, the staff was very friendly and welcoming, beds were comfy, overall it was a great night!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Brittany D,
Thank you for your review. The next time you and your friends go out on the town in Chicago, please feel free to stay with us again! We look forward to serving you again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

First let me say when you appear on the property you are greeted by a warm welcome by Kenneth, Steve, Antwon, & Derrick. When you check in Pablo & Tony are all smiles. They even give you a warm chocolate cookie. They didn't give you anything to drink and the water in the room is NOT free.
When shown to your room Gloria has done a fantastic job cleaning. She was extremely mannerable and was excited to see and help you every day. We went for a conference and the rooms were nice and held everyone for the convention. They have a restaurant called Marketplace. Only ate there for breakfast. The ladies were nice a couple older men didn't seem like they wanted to be there (dark haired man with accent)
The room was ok. Would have been nice if they had a mini fridge or microwave for guest use in the room. If you move anything in the bar fridge you will be charged 5.95 So do not take anything out for your stuff because a motion sensor located in side will charge your room. Other than that it was a great stay and is centrally located to everything. Thank you for all the wonderful, warm welcoming employees .

Room Tip: We had a lake view (2218) which is one the best views in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrswolverine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear mrswolverine,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you personally acknowledging our staff members throughout your experience at our hotel. At the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Mag Mile, we know it's a team of great people that truly makes the difference. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I travel to Chicago often, and frequent properties off Michigan Ave; first time at Doubletree. I checked other reviews beforehand, the negatives of which I find to be nit-picky. My check-in was handled promptly and courteously, I was given a range of options for my room, and my room was modern decor and nicely appointed. Could hear the folks in next room so noise dampening between rooms about 3/5, but not a deterrent.

Lobby bar service was great and pricing reasonable. There is an Einsteins by lobby; did not try Marketplace restaurant in lobby. Wifi in room would be nice, but I carry my own hotspot, so no big deal. A lively, upbeat property whose atmosphere I thoroughly enjoyed. The free cookie is a nice touch, too.


Location is excellent, easy walk to anywhere in River North and Grand Red Line station.
A lively, upbeat property

Room Tip: I had a east-facing room on a high floor. Somewhat of a view, but who cares; you're here to expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Jadfly,
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile! It gives us great pleasure to hear that our hotel met your needs perfectly. We pride ourselves on our efficient service and central location, and glad you enjoyed these key features. It would be a pleasure to serve you again on your next return to Chicago!
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The staff here was extraordinary, and I have to single Pablo out for wonderful service, and for going out of his way to help me and make my experience here so much better and easier. The location is amazing, a walk to everywhere, and the rooms are wonderful, but it is the service that creates the largest, and longest lasting impression. Hats off to this wonderful staff, in all aspects.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear John B,
Thank you for your review. Each of our staff members has a unique personality that they bring to our team, which makes it full of great hospitality and memorable experiences. Thank you for recognizing all of our team, but in particular Pablo! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#87 Family Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing