We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was great but elevator is SLOW!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #113 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed September 5, 2013

An overall great place except for the elevator. It was very slow as all previous reviews about this are true! It's only a short walk to Michigan avenue and to Lake Michigan. You can walk to a lot of restaurants and attractions from the hotel along with the train shop. If traveling from the airport, take the train as easy to get here if you ok walking a few blocks once in the city. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. Looks old from the outside but nicer on the inside.

Room Tip: Get a high room overlooking the southside of the building which will give you a better view of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68ScottG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear 68ScottG,
Thank you very much for your review and choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our convenient, central location and our comfortable rooms. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced regarding elevator traffic as we tend to be a little busy during this season. We appreciate your business, and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,041)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,971 - 1,977 of 3,041 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We chose this hotel for the outdoor pool and excellent location, in 5min you are at the lake side beach of Ohio, 5min from Navy Pier and 5min from Magnificent mile. We travelled as family with two kids under 3, so the pool was welcome after day of sightseeing. The surrounding of the pool are not the nicest (concrete floor) but the pool itself was great. Rooms are clean and has everything you need. Don't bother with lake side view as view is only partial (not worth extra money). Service at front desk and porters was very good, but breakfast food slightly average and staff at breakfast a bit hit and miss. But overall really good value for money in such as great location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Vanessa C,
Thank you very much for your review and choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile all the way from the United Kingdom! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our convenient, central location and our accommodations. We apologize for any disappointment you may have experienced during your breakfast, and thank you for bringing that to our attention. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon with improved service.

Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Double Tree by Hilton in downtown Chicago was a very good choice for us. We were with a group from Philadelphia to visit Wrigley Field on Friday for a Phillies-Cubs game and on Saturday we went to South Bend to watch Notre Dame play. We stayed two extra days and got to see many of Chicago's sights. This hotel was located in walking distance to many attractions. Great Place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Joseph K,

Thank you very much for your review and choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our convenient, central location. We appreciate your business and feedback. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Last minute stay in the city to visit the Merchandise Mart prompted this in winning bid on Priceline. A terrific value for the location and quality of hotel. Would definately recommend. Even though it was a Priceline booking that specified no guarantees on room type or specifics, the front desk staff was very accomodating and offered choices that were not required. Valet was friendly and excellent source of recommendations for the area. With only one suitcase, the parking garage across the street was a much better value for the two night stay - saving over $40 for the hotel parking. Also recommend the Wine and Cheese Cruise at 5:30 down Chicago River. Beautiful view and you return just in time to walk a little before it gets too dark.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunKlub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear SunKlub,

Thank you very much for your review and choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile. It gives us great pleasure to read that our convenient location and pristine accommodations exceeded your expectations. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again to stay with us soon.

Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great staff, very clean hotel. Love the location overall great place to stay if you're visiting Chicago. In walking distance of everything so no need for much driving. Only bad thing is the $50 parking lot fee per day but other than that I will be Defiantly will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nahad7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Nahad7575,
Thank you for your review and choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile! It gives us great pleasure to read that our great staff and central location exceeded your expectations. Please note that even if our parking lot fee may seem expensive, we offer one of the lowest rates amongst all the downtown hotels in Chicago. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. The lobby is really quite small. I was surprised at how small it is. It gets very croweded in the mornings and during happy hour. The elevators take FOREVER to get to you. The rooms are slightly disappointing--older, dark. I was most umimpressed with front desk. I called to ask for late check-out--just an hour. I was told to call back the morning of check-out by 7am. I did so and was told that I could not have a late check-out. My co-worker called around 9 to request the same and was happily given a late check-out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Laurie C,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at our hotel. We take a great deal of pride in meeting our customer’s expectations and are disappointed anytime we fall short of that goal. It disappoints us to read if our front desk staff and the crowded elevators caused you any inconvenience during your stay, and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

Again, thank you for taking the time to bring these matters to our attention. We value your stay with us and will continue to work hard to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was getting late & my family-3 grandchildren & son were getting hungry. Went to the restaurant in Doubletree. We were told it would be an hour wait even tho we noticed several empty tables. The lady said she would call our room. After an hour of sitting in our room, we went back downstairs & was told that she called our room. The manager overheard the conversation & promptly seated us. Then the guy that passed out water & rolls spilled water all over our table & never came back to clean it up. My son ordered a hamberburger-well done-it was served rare. I personally will never go back to that place again! The manager was very nice tho & did pay for our meal.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Chrisdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Chrisdw,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback, as this will help us improve our guest experience. We are sorry to hear that you may have encountered some unpleasant issues during your visit. Rest assured, your comments will be addressed with our restaurant team. We can empathize with your disappointment and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced.

Please be assured that your comments are extremely important to us. We do hope you decide to dine with us again, so that we may have the opportunity of exceeding your expectations.

Sincerely,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $86 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing