We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #106 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend getaway. We took a cab from midway which cost about $30. Checked in mid afternoon and check-in was simple and easy. When we booked online, the only king bed available was a smoking room so we booked it anyway and left a comment on the reservation asking for a nonsmoking room if possible. Thankfully they were able to accommodate us at check-in with a nonsmoking king room, #1613. There are 4 elevators for guest use and all appeared to be working but there were signs around "apologizing for the delay" and stating "the service elevators were available for guest use". The wait for the elevator did see long than normal most of the time but we never did figure out what the 'delay' was. We were given the signature doubletree cookie on check-in and my gosh are they good! They keep them warm behind the desk and they are incredible. (Tip: if you ask for extras later in your trip, they are happy to give you more).

Our room was the last one at the end of the hall.It was nicely and very modernly decorated. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was nice and large. The only complaint we had about the room was when my husband went to eat the pringles from the in room snack bar, he discovered they had already been opened and eaten and were just placed back on the snack tray in a way that made them look new. He called the hotel's "Careline" and was informed that the person who fills the snacks was gone for the day (around 11pm) and they couldn't do anything about it until the next day. They stated they would bring up a new can in the morning. Not only did they never bring up extra pringles, but the charge for them was still on our final bill. They were happy to remove the charge however.

The pool is beautiful located on a rooftop on floor number 5. It's in the sun almost all day and we never had any trouble finding chairs, despite the hotel being sold out for the weekend. Towels are available poolside and they were surprising large and soft. There is a bar in the lobby where you can purchase drinks to take to the pool, but it's very inconvenient to go all the way down to the lobby (5 floors away) in your swim wear to get a drink. Also, they don't really have any efficient manor of selling beer to take to the pool. You can't have glass in the pool area and they only have glass bottles so they pour your beer into a plastic to go cup with a lid. That solution would be fine but you really can't get more than one or they would get warm and they don't have any sort of buckets of ice. Minor detail but we really would have enjoyed having a few beers by the pool in a more convenient way.

There is a daily breakfast buffet in the Markethouse restaurant in the hotel lobby. We were given free coupons at check-in for the buffet which was nice to have. The breakfast was good:scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries, fruit stuffed pancakes, toast and pastries, fresh fruit, oatmeal and cold cereal. Everything was pretty tasty but unfortunately there was no variety at all from day to day. It was exactly the same every day. There was a menu you could order from but the coupons are not good for that. There is also an Einstein Brothers Bagels in the lobby to grab a quick coffee or bagel to go.

The staff at the hotel were definitely the highlight of the hotel experience. Everyone was incredibly friendly, from the front desk to the bellhops to the housekeeping staff. The concierge helped to make reservations for us on 2 occasions and really took the time to make sure he knew what our interests and likes were to help pick a good fit of a restaurant. The hotel is conveniently located so we were able to walk to lots of things. We walked to navy pier, up and down the mag mile, and down to grant park with no difficulty. And a cab to Wrigley Field only cost us $15.

We would definitely return to this hotel on our next stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lasvegasjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear lasvegasjunkie,
Thank you for sharing a comprehensive recap of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile. We are so glad to hear your praises of the staff here at our hotel. Your glowing comments have been passed on to our staff who were humbled and pleased to have received such high recommendations. Also, it gives us great pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the daily breakfast buffet inside Markethouse. Please be assured that your comments about the mini bar item will be discussed with our housekeeping team, and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    1,080
    537
    188
    119
See reviews for
858
607
148
712
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My family and I recently stayed at the Doubletree Magnific Mile. Our Overall stay was Pretty Good. Wonderful view from our room & comfortable beds. Water pressure isnt the best. Great bagel & coffee shop with friendly staff. Great location, felt like we were in the center of everything we wanted to do.Greeted with nice warm cookies on our arrival which the family enjoyed. Just don't touch any of the items on top of or in the mini refrigerator in your room. They have sensors & you WILL be charged for that item. Which states on a sign on the wall behind the items after its to late & you already picked it up to see it's some type of candy. We did get charged for that item we didnt even take or want. The drinks in the lounge are a bit overpriced. Another group left to another place down the street once they heard of the prices for drinks.
Safe & Happy travels =)

BTW, hands down Best deep dish pizza is "Giordano's" right off Mag. Mile. So glad our guide from the hop on hop off told us about it & to ignore the other so called Best pizza places. Tried Lou's before we heard his advice & were disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cece4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Cece4321,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our comfortable accommodations and great location. Please be aware that we do refund the guest if they inadvertently pick up an item from the snack tray. We are glad you enjoyed Giordano's, as that is a very popular pizza spot in downtown Chicago. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very nice place to stay. Usually stay at Wyndham (now hyatt), but too expensive just for one night this time for anniversary. "Cookie" at front desk was very sweet and helpful. Also gave us fresh baked cookies on registering. Room was clean and nicely furnished. Love the comfy, soft bedding! Did not use any of the expensive items on snack tray or in fridge, though. Liquid coffee creamer! Not just powder. Yay! Kimberly, concierge, was a little "tense", but did get us great seats for blue man group that same night! Would definitely stay here or Hyatt again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We will share your kind words with Cookie, and she will greatly appreciate them as well. Glad you were able to experience the Blue Man Group show too! It gives us great pleasure to hear that you will be returning to us again in the near future.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was very happy to stay in the streeterville area steps away from the lakefront. I live in the suburbs now and getting to my favorite part of the city is a summertime must! Unfortunately, my stay at the Double Tree was less than pleasurable. Not long after arriving I went to put on my swim suit to go enjoy the pool. I realized I stepped on something that wasn't carpet with my bare feet, a Cherrio. That wasn't the worst. When I looked under the bed there were several more to my dismay. I collected them and threw them in the trash. Later that night I go to take a shower, only to find blonde (mine is dark) hair strands in the tub and on the floor next to the tub. My experience downtown would have been the same at a less expensive hotel where I would expect sub-par service. Heads up!

Room Tip: Tell them you've had a prior bad experience and maybe they'll clean your room. Maybe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay. We apologize if you experienced any housekeeping issues during your stay. Unattended rooms are not typical at our hotel, but we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay.

Again, we sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences and hope that next time you are in town, you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional service you deserve. Thank you once again for your comments.

Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANTENO
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is large. Many floors. Our rooms were very nice. The view was exceptional. We were on a family get away. Close to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue. The only complaint was the elevator issue. They had 4 elevators and they were not all working. They did open the service elevator up for use but during a busy weekend, this was such a pain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and two teenage children recently stayed at this hotel for a short vacation to the Windy City.The location is excellent, 3 block from Michigan ave. and about a 10 minute walk to Navy Pier.
What really Stands out about this hotel is the helpful, friendly staff. As soon as we pulled in the entry way the bellman was right at our car and got our bags inside and gave me the parking info. It was then just a few minutes to get checked in to our room. The room was ready early, so we went right up. In the evening all staff were very helpful with directions etc...The room was excellent and fresh smelling, we were on the 25th floor which has an excellent view. We had a standard two dbl. room..size was standard for Chicago. The rooftop pool was great in the July heat also.

We were in town to see Book of Mormon..which was excellent..there certainly are closer hotels to the theatre district, but it would be hard to beat the quality of this hotel...I am not a fan of driving in Chicago...so it is nice to be able to walk to things....after 11 the area within a few blocks of the hotel is spares for open restaurants etc....so keep that in mind.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miles450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear miles450,
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile. We pride ourselves on our outstanding hospitality efforts, and glad you and your family were able to experience this firsthand. Glad you had an opportunity to see Book of Mormon, it is an excellent play. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Family of four from Denver visiting son in Chicago. We had an excellent stay at the Doubletree Magnificent Mile. Hotel staff was very friendly and professional. Room was clean and quiet. We all had very restful nights after very active days at nearby attractions, including Navy Pier. Pool was fabulous, breakfast buffet was top notch - and those cookies were the best! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. It is rewarding to hear that you had an excellent experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile. Thank you for highly recommending our hotel, and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#87 Family Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing