We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property/location for price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #109 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very nice place to stay. Usually stay at Wyndham (now hyatt), but too expensive just for one night this time for anniversary. "Cookie" at front desk was very sweet and helpful. Also gave us fresh baked cookies on registering. Room was clean and nicely furnished. Love the comfy, soft bedding! Did not use any of the expensive items on snack tray or in fridge, though. Liquid coffee creamer! Not just powder. Yay! Kimberly, concierge, was a little "tense", but did get us great seats for blue man group that same night! Would definitely stay here or Hyatt again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We will share your kind words with Cookie, and she will greatly appreciate them as well. Glad you were able to experience the Blue Man Group show too! It gives us great pleasure to hear that you will be returning to us again in the near future.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,948 - 1,954 of 2,931 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was very happy to stay in the streeterville area steps away from the lakefront. I live in the suburbs now and getting to my favorite part of the city is a summertime must! Unfortunately, my stay at the Double Tree was less than pleasurable. Not long after arriving I went to put on my swim suit to go enjoy the pool. I realized I stepped on something that wasn't carpet with my bare feet, a Cherrio. That wasn't the worst. When I looked under the bed there were several more to my dismay. I collected them and threw them in the trash. Later that night I go to take a shower, only to find blonde (mine is dark) hair strands in the tub and on the floor next to the tub. My experience downtown would have been the same at a less expensive hotel where I would expect sub-par service. Heads up!

Room Tip: Tell them you've had a prior bad experience and maybe they'll clean your room. Maybe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay. We apologize if you experienced any housekeeping issues during your stay. Unattended rooms are not typical at our hotel, but we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay.

Again, we sincerely apologize if you went through any inconveniences and hope that next time you are in town, you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional service you deserve. Thank you once again for your comments.

Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is large. Many floors. Our rooms were very nice. The view was exceptional. We were on a family get away. Close to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue. The only complaint was the elevator issue. They had 4 elevators and they were not all working. They did open the service elevator up for use but during a busy weekend, this was such a pain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and two teenage children recently stayed at this hotel for a short vacation to the Windy City.The location is excellent, 3 block from Michigan ave. and about a 10 minute walk to Navy Pier.
What really Stands out about this hotel is the helpful, friendly staff. As soon as we pulled in the entry way the bellman was right at our car and got our bags inside and gave me the parking info. It was then just a few minutes to get checked in to our room. The room was ready early, so we went right up. In the evening all staff were very helpful with directions etc...The room was excellent and fresh smelling, we were on the 25th floor which has an excellent view. We had a standard two dbl. room..size was standard for Chicago. The rooftop pool was great in the July heat also.

We were in town to see Book of Mormon..which was excellent..there certainly are closer hotels to the theatre district, but it would be hard to beat the quality of this hotel...I am not a fan of driving in Chicago...so it is nice to be able to walk to things....after 11 the area within a few blocks of the hotel is spares for open restaurants etc....so keep that in mind.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miles450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear miles450,
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile. We pride ourselves on our outstanding hospitality efforts, and glad you and your family were able to experience this firsthand. Glad you had an opportunity to see Book of Mormon, it is an excellent play. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon!
Be Well,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Family of four from Denver visiting son in Chicago. We had an excellent stay at the Doubletree Magnificent Mile. Hotel staff was very friendly and professional. Room was clean and quiet. We all had very restful nights after very active days at nearby attractions, including Navy Pier. Pool was fabulous, breakfast buffet was top notch - and those cookies were the best! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. It is rewarding to hear that you had an excellent experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile. Thank you for highly recommending our hotel, and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great modern facility with location central to downtown, grant park and all of the other fun stuff offered in Chicago. Also, a major plus is the bell staff helps catch a cab right outside of the front door!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Cortne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

There were several big conventions in town, and it was summer vacation - both which may have played a part in this review.

The things that seem like they are always there though, were extremely off-putting to me:
-lobby is a mix between 80s club scene and hospital lobby- not inviting
-slowest elevator in the world, especially from Hilton club floors which are relatively high (20-21)
-bathroom in need of renovation

Things that might be due to very busy time of year:
-kids in rooftop pool on 5th(?) floor - noise carries up to 21st floor! All night! Avoid that side of hotel.
-air conditioner is noisy, seems old
-my room service order arrived with a mustard that had already been opened! Gross! Mistakes happen, but I got sick the next day (had not eaten the mustard) - so it makes me question the general cleanliness and attention to detail of the kitchen

On a positive note, staff was lovely, especially Derrick on the bell desk.

I would not stay here again, however.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susieq71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear susieq71,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. Your feedback is a valuable component in monitoring our success and identifying areas that need improvement.

Meeting your expectations is our primary objective and we regret if we fell short of that goal. Your comments are being reviewed with our team so that proper corrections can be made.

Once again, we sincerely appreciate your honest feedback and hope that you will stay with us in the near future.

Be Well,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#72 of 192 in Chicago
5,091 reviews
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#87 Family Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $102 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing