We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Peninsula Chicago(Chicago)
$550
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$371
$319
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$273
$242
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$256
$229
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$211
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$595
$447
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$239
$199
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$184
$164
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$159
$144
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$324
$195
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,068)
Filter reviews
3,068 results
Traveler rating
978
1,153
585
212
140
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
978
1,153
585
212
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treenavy piereinstein bagelsbagel shopgreat locationwarm cookiesrooftop poolmag milemagnificent milewhole foodswithin walking distancefew blocksmichigan aveupon checkfront desk stafflobby barparking garage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,236 - 2,241 of 3,068 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel has a quite cionvenient location in the heart of the city, just two blocks away from the magnificient mile and offer a real 4* hotel amenities. Staff was quite friendly and helpful, the only downside can be the air condition in the room which was making quite a noise.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HurolEmre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a birthday trip and loved it!
Great service from the staff and within walking distance to many attractions in the Magnificent Mile / Navy Pier area.
Only drawback was the pool is located outdoors so it is seasonal only.
Would stay here again if the opportunity arises.
Plenty of good restaurants and bars within walking distance (Timothy O'Toole's is a popular Irish bar located right across the street).

Room Tip: The south side has views of downtown, the north of the Hancock building.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andybrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear andybrewer,
Than you for your review. We hope your wife had a memorable birthday experience in Chicago. Our outdoor pool is open from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day weekend. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel many times through the years but had not been back in about 1.5 years. The staff throughout the hotel were for the most part the same as I remembered. They welcomed my husband and I back with genuine warmth and asked "where have you been" and called us by name. Felt like I was coming home again. Chicago is very friendly for a big city but our experience at the DoubleTree put our experience over the top. I learned that one of the long time porters just retired after 35 years. I value an establishment who retains their staff and in turn who value their customers.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 18th floor in a corner room with a great view looking north. Could catch a small glimpse of Lake Michigan
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Susan K,
Thank you for your review and continued loyalty to the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile! It thrills us to read how welcoming and personable our hotel personnel treated you upon your arrival. We too value each and every one of our staff members, and appreciate you addressing this in your review. It is a pleasure to be your "home away from home" when visiting Chicago.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I am a diamond member and wasn't offered an upgrade although it was MLK holiday. My room had a draft from the HVAC unit and the shower lever was broken so I either got scalding hot water or ice cold. I did enjoy the gym which was spacious and the Markethouse restaurant is amazing although not technically a Hilton property. There is no valet parking and I doubt I'd stay here again. There are many many choices in the area and this is by far my least favorite.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pikapp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear pikapp8,
Thank you for your review. We regret to learn that you were not offered an upgrade during your recent stay. Your comments about the HVAC and water temperature has been addressed with our Maintenance Department. If given another opportunity in the future, it would be a pleasure to provide you with the memorable stay you deserved in the first place.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Two blocks away from the magnificent mile, this hotel is a good base for your shopping trip. I booked a night for under $80 in the month of January, which is the low season in downtown Chicago. Given the price point and the location, this is a great choice.

Do ask for higher floor though, traffic noise can be loud. I didn't try their breakfast, since there were so many choices within walking distance. If you can find a good deal for this hotel, go for it, don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews