We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to Magnificent Mile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #107 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to Magnificent Mile”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My family and I stayed here this past weekend and were very pleased with our stay. We have not had a bad stay at any Doubletree property, and this is no exception. Check in was very quick and the front desk clerk was very courteous and efficient. We received our room keys and four warm cookies right away. In getting up to our room, we found it to be clean and comfortable. While we only stayed one night and didn't make use of much of the property other than the room, our stay was everything we've come to expect from Doubletree. The only down side to our stay was a noisy set of neighbors with a baby crying at 1 a.m. and subsequent arguing from the frustrated couple. We did not report this to anyone, however, and after approximately 45 minutes, all was quiet again.

The hotel was within walking distance to Michigan Ave. and we were able to walk just about everywhere we needed to during our stay. We paid the expected $45 parking fee for overnight parking, but the garage was well kept and we had no issues with parking. Check out was quick and painless as well. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grnbayhusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Grnbayhusker,
Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recap of your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Magnificent Mile. It thrills us to hear that everything ran so smoothly during your stay. We regret to learn about the disruption in the middle of the night from your adjacent neighbors, but glad this did not tarnish your overall experience. We can't wait to welcome you back soon as well.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    1,053
    522
    182
    113
See reviews for
826
595
143
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I got the impression that this hotel was renovated not too long ago. The lobby area is cosy and n warm colours are used. All the staff I met were sincerely friendly. The food in the restaurant was of a very high quality. My room was spacious, above the average size of a double hotelroom. Two large comfortable beds a huge flatscreen TV and a powerful shower/bath. Also in the rooms, warm colours and a cosy feeling. Location is downtown. The only thing that could be improved is the WiFi connection in the room. It was just very slow and a fast internet connection is a must for the modern traveler. All in all a pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear DTH70,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed our comfortable and spacious accommodations during your stay. Allow us to apologize if the internet connection was not functioning at full capacity, but this will be addressed. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope to welcome you back to the DoubleTree by HIlton Chicago Magnificent Mile.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

If all you need is a comfortable sleep in the city at the lowest cost possible, I think you will like this hotel.

Pretty basic but spacious room, which I think is ideal for families (I did see a lot of families). Location is not on Michigan Ave, but close enough from it.

Overall, their greatest strength is the sheer dollar value they provide, and I wouldn't mind staying there again for short term trip.

Caveat: There's no free in-room wireless internet. I knew it before checking-in, but still kind of bummed. Not really "family" friendly you know?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Christopher_C_Chung,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear how much you appreciated the affordability of our hotel. Our large guest rooms are very ideal for large families visiting Chicago, and we are glad you got to enjoy this firsthand. We apologize if the additional cost for in-room internet caused any inconvenience, but we do offer it complimentary in the lobby level of the hotel. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I choose Doubletree in Chicago because they said they were close to the Magnificent Mile. More about that later. We arrived and checked in with no issues. We were given hot chocolate chip cookies upon arrival and all was wonderful. We preferred a late check out and when we asked about it, they said fine.
I left early (5:30am) to spend the morning away form hotel. I didn't need to be back till 1:30 for late checkout. When we got back at 12:45, our room key didn't work any more and we had to call security. Just a hiccup but kind of a pain. It is Chicago and they have emergency vehicles going 24 hours a day BUT I heard the sirens in the bathroom. Not very sound proof. This hotel is a 4 block walk from the Magnificent Mile and 7 blocks from the CTA subway. Wish it was closer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary2273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Mary2273,
Thank you for your review. We regret to learn if our distance from the Magnificent Mile did not exceed expectations, and if the siren noises caused any disruptions during your stay. Also, allow us to apologize for the issue you experienced with the key card on the day of your check out. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again on your next return visit to Chicago.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
235 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I love streeterville & have stayed in many hotels there. This is a nice but a little dated doubletree that gave me a wonderful view and just the requests I wanted but they are a little far from the mag mile for my taste. I will say buses stop right outside the door...and it's very walkable to most of the area. I also had to ask about the housekeeping when after being gone all day my room wasn't cleaned by 4 pm....I have to say they then cleaned it right away but that was an inconvience. Nice enough and a good value on travelzoo but too far!!

Room Tip: request an upper floor away from the noisy elevators and ice machine. Also on a lower floor elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear flizzer,
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the views from your guest room, but regret if the distance from the Mag Mile didn't blow you away. Yes, we are definitely within walking distance to many bus stops and popular attractions in Chicago. Allow us to apologize if our housekeeping staff did not tend to your guest room while you were away most of the day, but this has been addressed. It would be a pleasure to invite you back again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here as solo traveler on business trip. Booked hotel through priceline for a reasonable price. Was welcomed with large, warm chocolate chip cookie and friendly service.
Room was in a corner, felt bit cramped but was still a normal size. Some noisy kids next door, changed room without a problem (got a corner room again). Enjoyed the lobby. Ample seating, free wifi and those great cookies. There is an einstein bagels inside the hotel (smaller one), which was practical. There is a very large grocery store right across the hotel on the next block, which catered to all your needs. Close to the GUESS, GAP store and Garretts popcorn. 2-3 blocks away from magn. mile. Didn't try the gym as I didn't have time. Would stay again and have already recommended to friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liv83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear liv83,
Thank you for your review and recommending the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile to your friends. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkerton, Indiana
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here twice and have been able to get a good rate on Hotwire. Always very friendly. Rooms are clean and up to date. Many places to eat close by. You are able to walk to shopping on State or Michigan easily. Secure feeling on the streets in the evening. No microwaves in rooms. $45 dollars to park but you can park across the street for $33. Good place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank jreed37
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#87 Family Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing