We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property that is centrally located.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #113 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our return trip to downtown Chicago, so we were quite familiar with the surroundings. We were here for 3 nights in late October. We booked using Hotwire and got a rate of $148/night.

This is a very modern hotel located about 20 minutes from O’Hare. A great location that is close to shopping, restaurants, and various attractions. We had a room on the 21st floor, outside of the ice machine and the housekeeping room. The latter made it a little noisy in the mornings. Being in downtown Chicago, city view and a slight lake view was available. The room had two double beds, which were saggy and too soft for us, and two sets of down pillows for each bed. The room is very spacious and had modern décor. Great comforter and perfect for the chilly Chicago temperature. The water pressure is a little low, but we’ve had worse on a recent trip to Costa Rica.

Parking is available and is connected to the hotel. Daily parking cost for guest is $45. We had no real issues while staying here. The only thing was on our departure day. When we called down to the front desk to request a late check-out, Emira (I think that’s how her name is spelled), stated that the latest time was 1 pm. However, when we were downstairs to extend our key cards, we stated that we were Hilton Honors members and asked if we could get a later check-out time. She then gave us 2 pm. We also inquired about exiting the garage. How would leave? Is there a ticket? How much time do we have, etc. She stated that we could use the parking card (same as the room card). It would be available (at no additional cost) up to 2 pm. Anytime beyond that would be a fee (1-2 hours is $23; 2-9 hours is $29). However, she didn’t provide any further instructions. A few hours later, as we prepared to head out for the day, we wondered how we would pay upon exit as there is no attendant. Also, there’s a machine outside of the garage elevator (in lobby) where you can pay for the parking. Since all we had was our room card, we weren’t sure how to pay for the additional time nor did we have a parking ticket. Fortunately, Terry, at the front desk was very helpful. He just put additional time on the room/parking card. This allowed us to exit without hassle. Why couldn’t Emira be clearer with these instructions?

Positives:
• Of course, the cookies!
• Location. It’s so close to everything. Two great breakfast places nearby: Yolk and West Egg Café.
• Market House – great restaurant with cozy seating by the bar. I enjoyed their homemade pickles, which is complimentary. And the bread pudding is amazing! It’s served a la mode with pecan praline ice cream.
• Friendly staff.

Negatives:
• There’s a cost for the internet access in the room. However, it’s free in the lobby, which is very inconvenient.
• The lobby bar closes at 8 pm. There’s one in the Market House restaurant that is open until 1 am. Not a major negative.
• Mattress was too soft and saggy.
• Lack of an in-room safe. I was surprised with the rooms didn’t have these installed since so many hotels are making this a standard feature in their rooms. The hotel does offer a safety deposit box, but who wants to drop off their items to the front desk (daily)?

Overall, the Doubletree is a nice property. The location is perfect. It is so central to all the shops and restaurants. Then there’s the staff. Everyone from the bellman (Vladimir) to the housekeeping is friendly. The location made up for some of the inconveniences.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from housekeeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wants2TravelMore_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Wants2TravelMore_12,
Thank you for your great review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our central location in downtown Chicago. It disappoints us to hear that your bedding was not to your liking, but wish we could have better accommodated you during your stay. We are sorry to hear about the misunderstanding at the front desk in regards to your late check-out, but relieved to learn that Terry was able to accommodate your parking needs. Yes, Markethouse is a delicious dining option for our guests staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton Magnificent Mile, and the bread pudding is a definite best seller. It would be a pleasure to invite you back for another memorable stay on your next return to Chicago.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,219 - 2,225 of 2,988 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

I attended a convention and stayed for a week.
All the staff are wonderful so it would be difficult to single out anyone special mention. My room attendant was a gem, leaving my room immaculate every day and also presenting my bathroom and dressing table items in lovely neat patterns. You can opt not to have your room serviced every day and gain a voucher for the restaurant. The cleanliness is faultless. I have to give a gold star to the housekeeping team who had the extra challenge of 100's of housekeepers from around the country to stay all at one go. No pressure then!
The concierge staff were the best I have come across in a long time. Nothing was ever too much trouble and they always had a friendly word as you went on your way.
We only ate in the hotel with convention events although the menus looked ok and there is a bagel cafe on the ground floor if you don't want to pay for full breakfast.
The hotel has a pool although it was closed during our stay and I didn't venture into the gym. We were fortunate to have conference rate for wifi so no big bills like previous reviews.
You would have a better view from high floors but the location of the hotel is ideal for shopping - Michigan Avenue - & access to Navy Pier. There is also a bus stop immediately outside the hotel for public transport.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, DoubleTree by Hilton Management Team at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Lynn W,
Thank you for taking the time to praise our hotel personnel at the DoubleTree by Hilton Magnificent Mile. They are one of our best assets here, as many guests leave with such a favorable opinion of them. Your gracious comments will be shared with our Housekeeping department and Concierge team. It would be a pleasure to be of service to you again soon.
Be Well,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Got a great rate on Hotwire that I couldn't pass up, ended up being the Doubletree. Had a room on the 25th floor, view was very cool, kept the kids entertained lol, however never again, it was just too far up. Lobby always seemed busy, yet service was prompt and efficient. I really wasn't crazy about the room but honestly the location of this hotel really worked for us, pretty much everything we needed was within a 10 min walk and concierge set us up with specific bus route instructions for locations that weren't. We drove in from Detroit, paid an arm and a leg for parking, and used our car once, another never again rookie mistake. Public transportation in Chicago rocks so next time well take the train. Honestly there are hundreds of great hotels in Chicago, however the service at this hotel was awesome. Rafael, the bellhop was literally like our personal travel agent and Vladimir, the door man was super friendly, courteous, and helpful. There were numerous other employees at the concierge desk and front desk that were equally great, just couldn't remember names. I'm torn because really the water pressure sucked, the exhaust fan in the bathroom stays on all the time, cannot be turned off, and the hotel rooms were a little dingy and the lighting was impossible to work with. But at the end of the day we wouldn't mind again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank MichMom22girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, DoubleTree by Hilton Management Team at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear happygirlmom,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed the service provided by our hotel personnel. We will be sure to share your kind praises with Rafael, Vladimir and the rest of the front desk department, and they too will truly appreciate the nice comments. We regret to learn that the water pressure in your guest bathroom was not to your liking, but will address this with our maintenance team immediately. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again on your return to Chicago.
Be Well,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. Room fine, quiet enough given the location. We were on the 12th floor. The beds were very comfortable. The room was quite chilly initially but the heating on the A/C worked well. During our stay, the toilet got blocked and this was promptly fixed. My only hassle was with the Internet connection which is either 19.95 or 9.95 depending on the speed you choose, per day and per machine. On the first day, I connected my laptop and my wife used her Ipod and so we had a £40 charge. Thank goodness I didn't connect my Kindle.

Overall, we had a very good experience at this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amenophis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently stayed here for three nights for the second time in two years. On the positive side, the location can't be beat. It's right in the hub of Chicago; close to the best shopping, restaurants, evening walks along Lakeshore Dr. and the room prcies are not the lowest but are very reasonable for the area. The convenience of the connected parking garage is a major plus. The staff tries very hard to please and they do a good job. My problem that irks me with the hotel is the restaurant pricing. I enjoy a nice, quiet breakfast each morning in my hotel. In this hotel restaurant, they have a lovely buffet for $20 and it includes orange juice coffee and the usual eggs bacon sausage cereal etc. men For lighter appetites or people who don't take enough at breakfast to make the buffet worthwhile there is the menu. The berries and pancakes are approximately $15 but there is no deal because then you have to pay for juice and coffee which winds up near the $20 for the buffet. Another negative is that the entire hotel is looking shabby and is ready for a remodeling.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, DoubleTree by Hilton Management Team at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Lyndsey4,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to the DoubleTree by Hilton Magnificent Mile. We are happy to read you enjoyed our central location and delicious breakfast buffet at Markethouse. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My 15 year old son and I stayed here one night while playing “tourist” even though we only live a few hours away. Check-in was very fast and included a nice touch - a warm fresh baked chocolate chip cookie for each of us! Our room on the 9th floor was had a nice view of Hancock Tower, overlooking the roof-top pool. There is a bench seat at the window for window gazing. Definitely worth a summer trip to enjoy the pool! Self-Parking across the street was just $33/night versus the $44 in the adjacent deck. Three blocks from Navy Pier, three blocks from Michigan Avenue. Perfect location. Relatively quiet street. Drive up underpass to get out and register is important convenience. Lobby has intimate and urban feeling bar. Bagel shop at street level convenient for breakfast. In-room coffee maker is nice, upgraded linens and towels. Clean and larger bathroom. Nice property. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooftop pool is one of the few in Downtown Chicago.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockTIlUDrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Hi RocktillUDrop,
Thank you for sharing your recent stay here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, we are happy you chose to stay with us. We are in a convent section of the Mag Mile and Navy Pier as well as other attractions near the hotel. We hope that you will continue to lodge with us and thank you for your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a fabulous experience at this hotel. When we checked in and asked about our room they had over booked us and immediately offered us a suite at no extra cost. We stayed in the Michigan suite and got to look at the lake and have an extremely spacious room. We had a dining room table in our room, it was so big! The rooms are really nice and the beds are super comofrtable. The hotel itself is quiet and modern. It was a short walk to the magnificent mile and navy pier. We loved staying here and look forward to coming back someday soon!

Room Tip: See if you can get one of the suites with a room facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spohara88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Hi Spohara88,
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay here at the hotel, we are happy that you chose us! Our cookies, great guest service and accommodations are all part of what we do well here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile. We hope that you will continue to lodge with us for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $88 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing