We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Friendly Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #107 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Stephens City, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, Friendly Staff!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at here for our little romantic getaway weekend from Virginia. We were pleased that we were put on the 19th floor and had an amazing view of the city. I cannot imagine that any room in the hotel could have a "bad" view! The location was amazing, we walked almost everywhere for food and general sight-seeing. The staff was very hospitable and knowledgeable of the area.
The only problem that we experienced was the front desk stated that the restaurant was open until 11pm but when we went at 10:15pm, we were told by the restaurant staff that they were closed already. No big deal, we just grabbed a light fare in the lounge area.
I would recommend the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile to anyone travelling to the Chicago area. The room was beautiful, the staff was great and the food in the restaurant was amazing (we decided to try the next evening and was successful getting a table for dinner).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foobear4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi Foobear4,
We appreciate your feedback about your most recent stay here at the hotel; it is nice to hear that you enjoyed us and Chicago. I apologize about the information regarding the restaurant there are times when it closes a bit earlier than normal. Thank you for choosing us, we are happy to hear that we provided the best service possible and we hope that you will visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    1,078
    537
    188
    118
See reviews for
855
605
148
712
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of days on business and our meetings were on-site. The staff was experienced, friendly and attentive, and everything went smoothly. The food was good, although nothing unusual. The hotel room was quiet and the bed was fine. Location is central and convenient. In other words, it is a very good facility for business meetings.
The major drawback is that although everything was clean, the facility looks tired and needs a face lift. The obviously low wattage lights in the hotel room reinforces that impression. If I were planning a trip to Chicago on personal time, I would look at other options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelticsFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hello Celtics Fans,
Thank you for your candid feedback about the hotel; we appreciate suggestions regarding the hotel. We are in a wonderful party of the city and steps away from many great venues. Our lighting is not that bright due to the energy saving bulbs we use throughout the hotel. We care about the environment and saving energy. We are glad to hear of your satisfaction with the facility and the meeting spaces and we look forward to having your back again for business or leisure. Thank you for your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel was ok - clean, good facilities - but just needed some money spent on it to make it nice. Certainly the position is perfect for center of town although I did find that the windows provided little protection from noise on the streets below at 4am even though I was on the 22nd floor.

I paid extra for a lake view. Don't bother. I could see the lake but only a small glimpse through two buildings.

The doorman was somewhat surely with me when I didn't give him a tip for pulling my very small suitcase which had wheels the 10 yards to reception. He kept it up all weekend.

Great scrambled eggs for breakfast.

The hotel chauffeur driver who drove me back to the airport was a lovely man - I could have talked to him for hours.

Great advice from the concierge on where to go in the few hours that I had free.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for our friends sons wedding to an all American gal what a fabulous hotel staff friendly service excellent rooms to die for situation could not have been better for all around Chicago.
Free wi-fi in lobby but is chargeable in room

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bikerbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi BikerBrian,
Thank you for the feedback and we are glad you were able to experience Chicago and the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile! We always strive to provide the best in guest service at all times to hear from you lets us know that we are accomplishing that goal. Thank you again for the nice comments and we hope that if your travel plans should bring you back to our area that we will be your choice hotel. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My family and I stayed during a recent college visit to Chicago. It was a beautiful facility, well kept and the staff was very nice.

Positives:
Great location (right in the middle of the shopping district)
Good price
Attached parking

Negatives:
They still gouge you for the internet. This seems cheap.
The beds and pillows were generally uncomfortable

Room Tip: The upper floors facing north give a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StV6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hello StV6,
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay here at the hotel, we are glad that you chose us! We are in a great location close all the sights and venues in the Chicago area. I am sorry that your pillow was not comfortable our brand of beds and pillow always bring great reviews. The internet, we are working on that for the near future so that our hotel will be Wi-Fi accessible. Thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will continue to visit at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a great stay in this hotel, which is excellent for those who wish to explore Chicago's many attractions and wish to remain central. Some key points which will be useful information and for me were not obvious up-front:

- free wi-fi in the lobby (and sometimes it continues to work in the guestroom too)
- free use of the business centre with desktop computers and internet, with free printing which is great when you need a boarding pass or confirmation emails of car rentals etc.

I didn't try the breakfast rather used the diner opposite (West Egg), which is an experience in itself of people not from America. The best breakfast and the most amazing sorroundings, however were a few blocks away at Grand Lux Café. The bagel shop inside the hotel is a rip-off. If you shop in the big supermarket (Dominick's) just a block away, make sure you ask the attendant for a free "clubcard" as there can be a huge difference in prices with or without card. They can give this to you immediately before you pay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBoy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear TravelBoy83,

Thank you for your informative review. We are very delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile. Our location is very central for exploring downtown Chicago. We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the windy city.

Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The price of this hotel was wonderful for what you received. The rooms and lobby are very modern and stylish. The location is ideal... close to everything in downtown Chicago. The staff was helpful and welcoming. The entire experience was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear mike e,

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff does an excellent job making our guests feel welcome and exceeding their expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#87 Family Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing