We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #113 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The location is perfect if you want to explore downtown Chicago. Its a short walk to the Magnificent Mile, The Museum of Contermporary Art, and Navy Pier. There are many dining choices nearby. My room on the 25th floor was clean, confortable and had a great view of the city. I name my own price for the room and got it for half the going rate. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Gloria B,

Thank you for your review. Our location is very central in downtown Chicago, and guests can access many popular attractions easily. We are delighted to hear that your stay was a memorable one, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,241 - 2,247 of 2,988 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just another big city hotel with typical big city rates like $45 per night self parking. Although recently "refreshed" this property is dated in so man ways. The one advantage that is has is its proximity located in the middle of shopping on the Magnificent Mile as well as Navy Pier. It helps to be in their frequent stayer program to catch a small break on the parking fee and getting "free" Internet. When will these hotels catch up to the modern world where all internet access is free.

Room Tip: Make sure you are enrolled in the Hilton Honors program to get free access to internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I took a weekend trip to Chicago, and chose the DoubleTree based on its price, location, and Hilton connection/reputation. We were VERY pleased with everything. The hotel staff is super friendly, the hotel itself is very aesthetically pleasing, and everything was clean and well-maintained. I really have no complaints whatsoever. And I also have to give a shout-out about Pablo - he checked us in way early, gave us the wonderful warm cookies and was an absolutely wonderful first impression of the hotel. Really, the entire staff goes out of their way to say hello, see how you're doing or to make sure you have everything you need.

My best friend lives in Chicago, so we did not need the services of the Concierge, but she always greeted us on the way out of the hotel, so that scores an A+ in my book. The hotel was really well located - if you're looking for a great place for breakfast, look no further than right across the street at the West Egg Cafe, or walk a few blocks down, and enjoy Chicago's own Corner Bakery Chain. I found the hotel to be well located because of its proximity to Michigan Ave (although the shops on Mich were not a main draw, considering we live in NYC and have access to shopping there at a lower tax rate).

I enjoyed the in-room thermostat control, the beautiful view, and the overall polite, quiet vibe of the hotel. I would GLADLY stay here again when I am in Chicago, and will encourage anyone else planning a trip to Chicago to check out the DoubleTree. Thanks for a great trip!

Room Tip: Higher floors are better views, but really - how much do you stay in your room staring out the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EsqOnFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear EsqOnFire,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your praises with the Concierge and Pablo, and they too will be pleased to hear them. We look forward to being your hotel of choice when returning to Chicago. Thank you for recommending the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel to future travelers.

Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I both have restricted height and hae just retuned from a week's stay at the Doubletree.
We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, from the first greeting we received from the doorman through to the reception staff and maid.
We had a wheelchair access room, which meant that the wardrope and towels rails were lower than normal, which was great for us.
When we actually met the maid and she saw how short we are, she was happy yo leave the clean towels on the lower rails for us. The towels are very soft and fluffy! The maid was also happy to leave us extra tea bags instead of coffee, you know how much the English like their tea!
Internet access is free to guests, so we were able to keep in touch with family and friends!
The only negative point is the mini bar in the room. Drinks in the fridge & snacks placed on top of the frige are all on pressure pads, so ou only have to touch or move any item and it is registered! So be careful. I picked up a small pack of Pringles and had to remember to tell the reception staff that I didn't eat them! They were fine about it and we were not charged for them.
There is a great place to ave breakfast, just up the road from the hotel called Panera, where they do a great Latte, if like us, you don't like American coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Pat N,

Thank you for your review. Our team works hard to provide nothing but the best for our customers. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had a nice time visiting in Chicago. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Bought one night off an aggregator, so if I paid full price, we would've been disappointed. The bad...no free wi-fi in room, parking not included and no nearby El stop. The good...convenient location for walking to great shopping and food, smooth check-in, out, concierge Diane was awesome, very helpful, bed was very comfortable, room was quiet. Bought at discount knowing that parking was extra, so we did our homework. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: shop for best rate for this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leinie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear leinie61,

Thank you for your review and for recommending our hotel. We apologize if the parking caused any inconvenience during your short stay. Just so you are aware, we provide complimentary WiFi in the Lobby as well as our business center. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A girlfriend and I went to Chicago for fun and I chose the Doubletree for its price and location. I couldn't have been more happy with my choice! It's only 3 blocks from Michigan Ave or the river, and 4 blocks from Navy Pier. The room was great, the bathroom clean and updated. Concierge (Diane) was extremely helpful and doled out discount coupons for every museum & attraction that I asked about. The front desk couldn't have been more efficient; they even had our room ready 4 hours before check in! We didn't use the restaurant but did patronize Einstein's bagels which is in the lobby. The lobby bar was nice. My only complaints are that the refrigerator is packed with honor drinks so there was no place to put our own items, and there is no free wifi in the rooms (just in the lobby). I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear roadie2010,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our efficient hotel personnel, convenient location and clean accommodations. These features combine to make us one of the best values in downtown Chicago. Next time you stay with us, please feel free to request a mini refrigerator to store your personal items. We are thrilled you will be returning to us again in the near future!

Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Chose this hotel for the price (reasonable relative to other Chicago hotels). The staff was very helpful. Location is good. The rooms were clean and comfortable (but nothing fancy). We had a family reunion with 10 people. Was easy to coordinate from here, and the concierge was very accomodating. There is a bagel shop on the ground floor, which was nice for a quick breakfast. Also has a restaurant, which although quite good was a bit pricey. Finally, all the major attractions were either within walking distance or a very short cab ride away.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $88 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing