We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay! Top notch staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #108 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent stay! Top notch staff!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We arrived in Chicago early (prior to check-in) and assumed we would just check our bags in with the bellman. We had a nice surprise, however...we were able to check in early to a great corner room (2314). We had a nice view of the lake with a slight obstruction from other buildings-but this was expected, and we loved seeing the water in the mornings. We received our warm chocolate chip cookie - DELICIOUS! When we arrived, I decided I wanted to schedule a massage last minute. I called the concierge and expected they would just give me the numbers to a couple of places nearby. Well, they called around, found the cheapest rate (just steps from the hotel), AND booked it for me all while we were at Wrigley Field for a Cubs game! They had a nice card with all the information for me when we returned to the hotel. I was surprised by their effort to make our stay easy and enjoyable. The night before we checked out they also arranged for the cab to take us to the airport, and brought up the confirmation card to our room. Check out was just as quick and easy. The concierge and staff at this hotel is top notch!

The bed and the room were very comfortable. Since we spent most of time in the city, using the room for sleeping only, the size of the room was not an issue. It's larger than most city rooms we have stayed in before (i.e. NYC). You can tell its an older hotel, but I'm not sure why other travelers were bothered by this because the renovations are all done very nicely. Overall the hotel is fairly quiet. Our room had a connecting door, so I think it caused a bit more noise to come through, but it was minimal. Other than the first night (loud couple in the room next door - they checked out by the time I alerted the front desk, so no longer a problem), we had very quiet, considerate "neighbors."

Restaurants - All of the places we ate at for dinner were excellent. Ask the concierge for a list of restaurants that are nearby. They gave us a small brochure that listed the restaurant, the price range, and location. All of the following were within walking distance and ALL were delicious! For dinner: The Purple Pig (small plates; eclectic; MUST try the chocolate and cheese filled dessert-all very good!), Texas de Brazil (Brazilian Steakhouse; all you can eat; come hungry!), Japanese BBQ (fun experience; excellent service), Sayat Nova (Armenian; intimate and romantic setting). For breakfast: West Egg (traditional breakfast items; great service; great food; no wait), Yolk (trendy; delicious; great service; no extra charge for egg whites-not typical), Einstein (quick; efficient; and in the lobby).

I always visit the gym at hotels during my vacations. The gym at this hotel was a really good size for a hotel gym! Treadmills (more than 2) and ellipticals (more than 2), free weights, and a full weight resistance machine. Towels and water are available there as well. The outdoor pool was closed because it was too cold during our trip.

The hotel is just a couple of blocks from Michigan Avenue for some decent shopping. Cabs are almost always available near the hotel. We became pretty efficient using public transit (mainly the bus), and it is, no doubt, the most efficient way to travel. Get the 3-day unlimited pass - worked great for us because if we got on the wrong bus and needed to transfer, we did not have to worry about the balance on the card.

Overall, I'm not sure I could have picked a better hotel! For the price ($179/nt - AAA), location, room quality, and hospitality, this Doubletree HAS to be the best value in the area.

Room Tip: We were on the 23rd floor, and did not have any problems with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tkg04d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Hello Tkg04d,
Thank you for that great detailed review of the hotel! Your comments let us know that we are on the right track at providing stellar guest service to everyone that comes through our doors. We want you to leave with a great experience and know that you are home here with us. Thank you again for the review and we hope that we have started a great relationship that will last a long time. We hope that you will be staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    1,062
    529
    185
    113
See reviews for
834
599
146
698
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

this place was overall a pretty good place to stay. yummy choc chip cookies upon checking in and room was decent. a bit older property but had heard they were doing renovations on the property. loved the pool area but it was very crowded and lots of kids yelling and screaming but i guess its what to be expected in the summer at a pool. loved the views around the pool area of the surrounding high rises. great location a few blocks from michigan ave and 4 blocks from the lake and navy pier. A word of advice...if you pick up the bottled water or snacks, they are on sensors and will add a HIGH charge on your bill. If you call the front desk if you (or the kids) accidently move them off the sensors they will reset it as long as you don't open them. definitly not a bargain! really enjoyed the einstein bagel shop in the lobby..convenient. also the elevators are SOOOOO slow...you will wait!

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor room for great views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrockStar1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Hello Brockstar1977,
Thank you for your review of the hotel while you were visiting us, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the pool area. We are in a great location with lots to see and do near the hotel. I apologize for the elevators, during peak times the elevators run a tad bit slow. As for the Minibar, should you visit us again and bump the items please make sure to settle the bill during the check out. We hope that you will be back again soon to visit us and enjoy the pool again! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We booked this hotel through Expedia as a Mystery Hotel close to the Magnificent Mile with pool. Once confirmed for our March one night stay, I realized the pool was an outdoor pool. I never knew there was a hotel in this area of Chicago with an outdoor pool. Of course the pool was closed, but we could see it from the hallway window and it looked like it would be fun in the 3 months a year you can enjoy an outdoor pool in Chicago.
The hotel was full of airline employees checking out when we arrived. The lobby is very nice and looked recently remodeled. Upon check in we were greeted by a very nice front desk person who handled check in quickly and efficiently with a smile. He gave each of us a warm chocolate chip cookie. I found out that is a Double Tree custom. Nice touch. When I told him that it was my daughters birthday he presented us with breakfast vouchers for everyone and said "Happy Birthday from us". Another nice touch. We had two adjoining rooms on a Hilton Honors floor. The hallways and the rooms, like the lobby, appeared to be newly remodeled and were clean and fresh. I felt the rooms were spacious. The bed was SO comfortable and the bedding high quality. We had a great night and can recommend this hotel without hesitation. Our Mystery Hotel ended up being a pleasant suprise!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank designerd0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Hello DBWilson,
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay here at the hotel. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your guest rooms. We strive to make every stay a memorable one and I am glad we were able to accomplish this for all of you. We hope that you will continue to come back and enjoy another visit with us soon! Please check out our website for great package deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Ok. As with most Doubletree hotels, this one is clean, well appointed, and the staff were very friendly and very helpful. And I found the location ideal for my needs. There is ample shopping within a few blocks, many choices for a feed, and about 15 minutes walk to Millenium/Grants Park. Navy Pier was also close by.

On the downside, parking at the hotel was very expensive. So, for that matter, was the Wi-FI internet, and it didn't work very well. The bar in the lobby closed way too early. I should also mention that one day after the housekeep went though I found the bathroom plug, which is a mechanical one, not rubber, and should have been attached to the drain pipe, had been completely pulled out and left sitting in the tub.

I probably would stay here again. I just would park somewhere else and arrange my own Internet.

Room Tip: Park your car elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Big Jeffery,
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us, I am sorry that we fell short on some of your expectations. I can assure you that we have heard you and the corrective measures have occurred. The feedback you have provided will help us to maintain a level of guest service that our guest are accustomed to and deserve. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you will return to the hotel should your travel plans bring you back to our area. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Was here for a week at a conference and enjoyed our stay. Room was clean, large, and well-maintained. Staff was helpful and attentive, which made the conference even better. There is a nice Einstein Bagel shop in the lobby area which make breakfast cheap, good, and inexpensive. Not too far to walk to Michigan Avenue or to the Navy Pier in the opposite direction. Another couple of blocks and you're at an El stop.

Between the hotel and the Magnificent Mile are several decent and inexpensive restaurants. Seemed to be in a good part of town and never felt threatened at any time during the stay. Would consider staying here again if looking for something downtown.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillbilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Hello Hillbilly1,
Thank you for staying with us during the conference and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the area. Our location is near everything and we are in a great part of the downtown area, not to far from museums, venues and all sorts of fun things to see and do. We hope that you will be back for business or a get away. Thank you again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newman Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I think the point of this review is for travelers to downtown for a weekend stay, who want to be close to the magnificent mile 3 blocks west only, but want a good budget friendly hotel, this is a good choice. We stayed just one evening because of schedule, no issues at all, everything worked great, the 25th floor had nice views and bedding was comfortable, hotel was clean and staff were friendly. I would stay here again, have stayed directly on Michigan avenue for roughly twice the price.

Room Tip: Higher floor the better for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsl82899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

As expected hotel, with usual amenities. Staff are friendly and helpful, close to shops and sites. Parking is expensive, however parking across the street is $12 less a night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear LostSojourner,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay here at the hotel. I am glad that the staff was very helpful and accommodating. We hope that you will be back to have another great stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#87 Family Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing