We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #107 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Illinois
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This hotel is located ideally in Chicago for shopping and Navy Pier.The rooms are nice -- we were up on the 26th floor and didn't have to deal too much with noise or anything. Not a ton of water pressure in the shower, but that's minor. The bellboys were great help in getting cabs -- very nice and friendly.
Overall, no complaints about our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    1,053
    522
    182
    113
See reviews for
826
595
143
687
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
alaska
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The hotel is great! My wife and I stayed there this summer, so the review is a bit out of date. We stayed here three nights in the end of July. The location is fantastic. We were literally steps away from shopping and merely a block or two form the lake. We had a great view from our corner suite.
Rooms were nice, nothing special, but still nice. THe mini bar is a bit over priced, but that goes without sayings.
One of our favorite parts were the pool. Talk about a view! could see Sears Tower(aka WIllis). Just a wonderful place to stay. I pricelined it and got it for eighty bucks! we did not park here, others we would have been out 45 bucks.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite. They are a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alaskanbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Hi Alskanbl,
Thank you for taking time out to share your experience while a guest here at the hotel. We are so delighted to hear that you really had a great relaxing time; we hope that you will continue to stay with us while in Chicago. We are located by many venues and not to mention the Magnificent Mile! Once again many thanks for your feedback and for being our guest!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

stayed here for 2 nights on business while attending a trade show at mccormick center about 3 miles away. When I arrived around 9am I was very happy to hear that my room was ready after a long flight. I was checked in by Pablo who was very friendly and handed me a nice warm cookie along with my room key. The room is just average. This is an older property which has been renovated. The bathroom is dated but has everything you need for a 2 night stay. Noise was an issue. Free wifi in room was a plus. The walls are thin and the traffic noise is expected being it is located in the city. Not much sleep thats for sure altough the beds are comfortable. Not many restaurant choices close to the hotel so a cab ride is necessary. All in all an average hotel in the heart of downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BAS724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear BAS724,
Thank you for your honest feedback. Although we do not like to be described as average, we do sympathize with your disappointing experience. Please accept our deepest apologies for the lack of a full night's rest. We genuinely hope that you can give us another chance to redeem ourselves and regain your confidence in us. It would be a pleasure to exceed your expectations if your travels bring you back to Chicago in the future.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This was a great base to see Chcago from. It's close to everything, the room was clean and quiet (considering it's in a big city) and we felt safe. But the highlight was the concierge. everyone at the hotel was very helpful and friendly, providing a warm welcome that is especially nice after a long flight.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NischalKap27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AussieTraveller111
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This was a great base to see Chcago from. It's close to everything, the room was clean and quiet (considering it's in a big city) and we felt safe. But the highlight was the concierge. He had info sheets on EVERYTHING which included a map, how to get there on public transport and some recommended restaurants in the vicinity. We enjoyed each restaurant we tried on his lists and the maps/directions/suggestions really made our trip. One downside, there are no room safes. So you have to use the safes in the lobby where sometimes the bigger ones are full (ie size required fora 35mm camera). Also parking is expensive in the area but if you are just leaving your car there are some garages with lower dailyrates within a block.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieTraveller111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear AussieTraveller111,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We will be sure to share your praises with our concierge, Alfredo Caliva. He too will be delighted to hear your lovely compliments as well. We pride ourselves on our Concierge's ability to always exceed guest expectations and assist them with their travel inquiries. Sorry to hear if the missing in-room safe presented a small inconvenience during your stay, but we only offer safes behind the front desk of the hotel. If your travels bring you back to Chicago, we hope you allow us the privilege of serving you again.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed overnight with my daughter on a trip through Chicago, but also lived in Chicago for a number of years so was familiar with the area.

First, the good: everyone at the hotel was very helpful and friendly, providing a warm welcome that is especially nice after a long flight. The cookies, handed to you warm, are a nice touch as well. We had several questions of the hotel staff during our stay, and all were answered quickly and accurately. The check-in and check-out were both smooth, as was the process for storing and retrieving our luggage after checking out.

We got a room on a high floor with a view north, which includes the Hancock building and the lake. The room itself was nicely appointed, with two comfortable beds and plenty of pillows and towels for the two of us. Everything was clean and well maintained, including the exercise room, which we also used. Even with all the ambient light put out by the city and the street noise outside, the room was both dark and quiet.

The location of the hotel is very convenient for visiting Chicago -- Michigan Avenue is close by for shopping, tons of restaurants are located close by, and Millennium Park is also just a short way down Michigan Avenue to the south. The Art Institute and the contemporary art museum are both close by (the latter is fairly close, the former a bit further away, past Millennium Park), and the nightlife available on Rush, as well as some of the fun places up in Old Town, are all a short cab ride away. Public transit is close by as well, with both buses and the subway easily reachable from the hotel.

Now, the bad, and this is a very short list: I would have liked free wireless in the rooms. Instead, you have to pay a fairly significant amount for this. Free wireless is available in the lobby, though, so it is available, just not as convenient as one would like.

Overall, my daughter and I had a wonderful stay at the hotel and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Make sure to check for discounts -- we got a very good rate on the room, and paid only a few dollars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear ThatSemanticsGuy,
We hope you had a memorable Chicago visit with your daughter! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile. We apologize if the in-room internet charge or having to go down to the lobby to utilize the complimentary internet was a slight inconvenience.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel. We are in our early 20s. The rooms were very clean and well decorate with a modern flat screen tv. The bathroom was a decent size. The location was about 2 blocks from the Magnificent Mile and about 3 blocks from Navy Pier. There were always taxis near by although we walked most everywhere. I was especially surprised that the hotel shampoo and conditioner did not seem to dry out my hair. I did not like that the hotel did not offer any type of continental breakfast but I knew this in advance. There was no vending on the floor, only at the gift shop on the lobby level Also, I have sensitive skin and the bedding made me break out in hives so I was happy that I packed my Benadryl. It was a great weekend stay with a beautiful view.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_birke2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear K_birke2002, thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay with us here at the hotel. We are delighted to hear of your satisfaction with your stay and our guest service. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the sites around the city and enjoyed the guest room and the amenities. I am sorry about the allergies acting up, that can put a damper on things but glad to hear that it did not cloud your trip. Thank you for choosing us and we hope that you will be back again for another great stay! Best regards, Rachel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#87 Family Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing