We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,067)
Filter reviews
3,067 results
Traveler rating
977
1,153
585
212
140
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
977
1,153
585
212
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treenavy piereinstein bagelsbagel shopgreat locationwarm cookiesrooftop poolmag milemagnificent milewhole foodswithin walking distancefew blocksmichigan aveupon checkfront desk stafflobby barparking garage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,578 - 2,583 of 3,067 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at the Doubletree on Magnificent Mile for 4 days in July. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Pros:
Clean rooms/hotel
Friendly staff
Good location within walking distance to many areas of chicago
Nice pool on 5th floor roof

Cons:
Pool out of towels one day
Parking is $43 a day (we parked across the street for $31/day at an apartment building....much cheaper!)
Cookies were stale at checkin
Don't try to checkin early, they will make you wait until at least 1:30pm
No breakfast available besides Einstein Bagels in lobby



As for as paying extra for Lakeview room, save your money!! I posted some pics you can see the small view of the lake from that. Even the front desk lady stated that lakeview is just a "sliver" of the lake because of all the buildings in the way.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indygirl8451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Dear indygirl8451,
Thank you for your detailed feedback of our property and please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. It is through direct customer feedback like yours that we gain insight into guests’ experiences and identify some of our opportunities for improvement. We have advised our team regarding your comments and we will strive to do better in these necessary service areas. We hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This was a last minute one night quick visit, and the Doubletree was perfect. Arrived in a downpour but inside all was calm. Location is extremely convenient, offering easy access to major tourist and business sites as well as many eating and shopping options. The bath was modern and clean. The fitness center was well-equipped and not overcrowded. Staff was helpful but not obtrusive. Bed was comfy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbs142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a three day vacation to Chicago. We tried to choose a location that was within walking distance to public transportation and popular attractions. This hotel was a decent choice overall. Here are the pros and cons:

PROS:
5 minute walk to the Magnificent Mile and the Navy Pier
10 minute walk to nearest L station
Rooms were very clean
The rooftop pool was great for couples and families alike. Towels were provided, there is a snack bar, and there are plenty of tables and lounge chairs for everyone.
Einstein Bros bagels in the lobby is very convenient for breakfast on the go

CONS:
Parking is ridiculously expensive--43 dollars a day
Wifi is not free--you have to pay from 10 to 20 dollars per day to use it
If you move anything in the refreshment area you will be automatically charged for it due to the sensor system that they use
Customer service is responsive but slow--we called to ask for 2 towels and we had to call again after 20 mins of waiting. However, after this second call, they showed up immediately with 4 towels.
The pool did run out of towels one night, but someone called down to the front desk and someone promptly brought more

Overall, we would probably choose somewhere else to stay next time just because of the added expenses of the parking and the internet. However the location and hotel quality and cleanliness is great, so this place should not be ruled out when searching for Chicago hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iheartvacation8907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Dear lheartvacation8907,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Both "pros" and "cons" comments are very efficacious and help us to learn and grow as a team. We are happy that you enjoyed our central location to many popular attractions downtown. Our apologies if the price of parking was an inconvenience, but our parking rates are very comparable to other garages in the downtown area. To clarify, we do offer complimentary internet in the lobby level. We are sorry to hear that the service recovery was a bit delayed when you asked for extra towels, but it sounds as though our staff made up for it by bringing extra towels after the fact. We appreciate your business and our hope is you when you are back in Chicago, that we will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and be your preferred place to stay.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and our two young children spent two nights on a mini getaway. The Pros: We got a great rate on Hotwire. The location is convenient to the Mag Mile and Navy Pier. The hotel staff were very courteous. The hotel has recently been renovated.
The Cons: The shower water pressure was non existent. The pool area was a bit dirty and two of the three times we visited, there were no towels. Despite the recent renovation, some areas, like the window seat in our room and the carpeting in the hall, were already stained. All in all, it met our needs. It was a well priced, centrally located spot in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildcat1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Dear wildcat1974,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you found a great deal on our hotel, and enjoyed your overall stay with us. Our apologies for the poor water pressure you experienced in your guest room shower. Next time, please do not hesitate to contact our Care-line agents or Front Desk agents to explain the situation so that they can contact the proper departments. Please pardon any stains you noticed during your stay with us, we do our best to maintain the cleanliness and appearance of our carpet on a daily basis. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We were part of a Phillies Road Trip with AAA. They had requested early check in. We arrived around noon and were told rooms wouldnt be ready until 1:00. No problem. They held our luggage and went out to see the sights. Excellent location in the city (only good part of hotel). Came back at 1:30 and was told rooms would be ready around 2:00. No problem. Came back at 2:15 and was told rooms would be ready at 3:00. That turned into 3:30, and then 4:00 and then 4:30. We checked in at 4:45. No apologies. We were to get rooms close together and confirmed that when we first arrived. Now, there is no way to accommodate us. No apologies at all. Are you kidding me? Everyone had problems getting their room keys to work. It would usually work about the 15th attempt. No air conditioning in the halls or elevators. Crazy hot! Then the elevators didn't work the next morning. Business travelers were late to meetings. Front desk workers- even Pablo- just smiled and shrugged his shoulders. No vending. Ice machines didn't all work. You had to pay for paper and wifi. Restaurant was overpriced. Go across the street to West Egg Cafe for breakfast! Only good part of this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DWGropp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Dear DWGropp, thank you for your post. I would like to apologize for a less than perfect stay you experienced here at the hotel. We strive to make everyone guests stay a great one and when we fall short of that it is important for us to know. We did have a small problem with one of the elevators that was out of our control but I am glad to inform you that it has since been corrected. I am glad that you and your family had a nice time at the game. My hope is that you will be back should your travel plans bring you back to our area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews