We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Nearby Hotels
$683
$650
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$433
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$330
$309
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Hotel Allegro(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$582
$521
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$484
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$749
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$1,300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$330
$288
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (3,086)
Filter reviews
3,086 results
Traveler rating
980
1,158
588
216
144
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
980
1,158
588
216
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treenavy piereinstein bagelsbagel shopgreat locationwarm cookiesrooftop poolmag milemagnificent milewhole foodswithin walking distancefew blocksmichigan aveupon checkfront desk stafflobby barparking garage
Filter
Updating list...
2,602 - 2,607 of 3,086 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I continue to choose the Doubletree hotel as I travel to Chicago and have stayed here 3 times in the past year. The rooms are all very nice and the service is great.

The location is superior. It is very close to Lake Michigan (2-3 blocks) and Navy Pier (0.5 mi) which is ideal for commuting and exercising/relaxing on the beach. This location is also a short walk to Mag MIle and to restaurants and pubs in the area.

Beyond the location, the main reason I continue to stay here is the price -- I have paid around $150 whether booking weeks or a day in advance. The parking is $40/night, but overall can't complain for the value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToddBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Dear Bush7436,
First off, thank you for your continued loyalty to the Doubletree by Hilton Magnificent Mile. We are thrilled you find our location superior to Lake Michigan, Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile. It is great to hear that you find us worth the value every time you visit. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I booked this hotel last minute with Hhonors points for 4 nights. We, family of 4, got 1 room with 2 queen beds in it. The beds were much to my liking, not to my wife though, as she prefers hard beds.
Room 1718 has place enough for 4, although I expected an LCD or plasma tv nowadays. This was still a tube television taking a lot of space. We were looking at the pool, which is on the fifth floor. You won't always have sun here because you get shadows from the skyscrapers surrounding the hotel.
The room was made up every day, but it was not cleaned thoroughly, which was shown by the stains on the windows that stayed there during our stay.
Bathroom looks ok, but a closer look at the ceiling showed that there was some leakage somewhere. See the pictures.
You get a free copy of USA Today. In-room internet is paying 9,95/day, or for free in the lobby.
At the ground floor there is a bagel shop, which we, as proper tourists, tried the first morning.
The location is good, not perfect though. For that it should be a bit closer to Grand metro station. Now it is still a 6 block walk away. On the other hand it is just 2 blocks from Michigan Ave (Magnificent Mile=shopping street), and the Navy Pier.

Room Tip: Don't book with Hhonors to get the best room
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonsmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Dear simonsmidt,
Thank you kindly for your comments on your recent stay with us. We are in the process of changing out our old tube televisions and replacing them with plasma screen T.V's. We apologize if you felt your room was not adequately cleaned, but we will be sure to forward your comments onto our housekeeping director. Also, we will be sure to share your pictures regarding the leak you noticed in your bathroom with our maintenance team. Once again, our apologies if we did not... We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and regaining your confidence.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

What a fun, energetic hotel! Rooms were modern and clean! The pool was fabulous! And the staff was very friendly and helpful! The central location is great for visiting the pier or all of that magnificent shopping!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeladoll3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I was part of a girls-weekend in Chicago and we stayed at the Doubletree because its one of the only hotels with an outdoor pool. I was totally pleased with my stay, but we were not expecting the Ritz Carlton:

PROS:
- Good location: 2 blocks from Michigan Ave; 1 block from a full grocery store; close to running trail on Lakeshore; 5 blocks from subway/L stop (Grand/State Redline)
- Room on 24th floor was remodeled and modern -- large sink vanity and cubbies underneath for 4 girls' toiletry bags!
- Comfy beds
- Nice pool area though we didn't get IN the pool
- warm cookies at check-in
- free continental breakfast for Honor's Gold Members

CONS:
- Shower didn't drain well. BUT we also didn't call for maintenance, so we can't really compain, right?!
- Ice machine on our floor was out-of-order, so we had to trek up a floor

Room Tip: Request high floor
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJesqbpc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Dear JJesqbpc4, thank you for taking time out to comment on your stay. I am glad that your girls get away was a relaxing and fun filled one. I do apologize for the ice machine and the tub not draining properly. One call to the front desk and it would have been taken care of for you. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that should your travel plans bring you back to the area we will be your preferred hotel for your lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I've stayed in many hotels in Chicago, and this ranks among my faves. Excellent service, location and amenities. The rooms are very modern, nice sized, great bedding and impeccably clean, and bath amenities were upscale. The outdoor rooftop pool was an awesome reprieve from the city heat. Hotel is within walking distance to just about any mag mile/river north restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Dear Wisgirl01, thank you for stay with us and we are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. We appreciate the feedback as this helps us to maintain a level of service that our guest are accustomed to and expect. We hope that this visit with us will not be your last; we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews