We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had rooms booked here for my family wedding!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #112 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Really highclass hotel, great rooms and location, great price, well worth the price

I give this hotel 5 stars. :)

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hl786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

Dear hl786,
Thank you for rating our hotel with 5 stars. That is greatly appreciated and we are happy to know that you booked guest rooms with us for your wedding. We hope to be of service to you for any future anniversaries or special occasions.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,561 - 2,567 of 3,019 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here for three nights for our anniversary. We were checked in by a nice guy, Pablo I believe, and headed to our room. Upon arrival to our room we were excited we got "upgraded" to a suite. We walked in the room and there was not a real bed. There was only a pull out murphy bed! Not my ideal bed to stay in for our anniversary, or ever for that matter. Called down to the front desk and they scooted around the issue. We told them if that's all there was that we would at least need blankets for it. It took 7 hours, one trip to the desk and 3 calls for our blankets to arrive. The bathroom had a roll in shower with a curtain so if someone was showering no one could get ready in the bathroom or they'd get wet from the water. There was no place to put make up or a curling iron around the sink. So thankfully the room had a huge conference table. When it comes down to it, we didn't have a suite, we had the middle of a three room suite that is probably used as a conference room and occasionally to have extra people sleep in. I stay in hotels 100 days a year and have never once been put into a room without a real bed. When bringing this up at the front desk after our first night(backs hurt), the guy was very rude and said there were no rooms to switch to, yet a few hours later someone else said that there were rooms to switch to. We decided to just keep the room and save the hassel. it had a nice view over the pool and it's just a pain to have to pack/unpack.
This hotel had a great outdoor pool, although it's hard to get sun beds and towels, we used it every day. Hadn't it been for the nice pool our stay might have been more sour than it was. After 3 nights in the murphy bed my back hurt pretty bad and i'm well under 30. All in all, if we had gotten a normal room I would have probably rated this a lot higher. Please don't let this review persuad you to look elsewhere, I'm sure the other rooms are great! Great location, always felt safe!!
I will mention I got a VERY good deal on this hotel through Hotwire, which may be the reason we were put in the room we had.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

Dear Slee7,
Happy belated anniversary! We are sorry to hear that the guest room suite seemed to be more trouble than it was worth. It disappoints us to read that the murphy bed gave you back troubles during your stay with us. If there was another room available during your stay, we would have been happy to move you to one with a more comfortable bed. Apologies for the length of time it took to deliver bedding materials to be sent to your room. On a brighter note, we are glad you got to make the most of our pool during your stay. We hope to welcome you back again for a much improved guest room experience. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to be of service to you again soon.
Thank you,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My son and I got this hotel on Hotwire as an overnight during a cross country train trip on Amtrak. Check in was very easy and the front desk clerk was very nice. We got to our room on the 9th floor and my son age 8 noticed a spider. He is very afraid of spiders by the way. Then I noticed one, then another and then another on the ceiling. I pulled the bed cover back and a dead spider was there. I called to the front desk, 4 times by the way before anyone answered, and reported the spiders. Engineering came up and said that they were coming in through the A/C unit. They moved us to the 10th floor. We got in that room and a spider was on the ledge inside the room. A very big spider web was outside on the window. I reported this after 5 calls to the front desk before it was answered. They then moved us to the 24th floor. No spiders in this room but again a large web outside of the window. We checked out and two days into our trip I noticed an overcharge on my card for $41.00. I called the hotel's accounting department and asked what the charges were for. Valet parking and internet I was told. We used internet but did not have a car at any point during our trip. After about two hours the accountant called back and advised the valet parking charge was going to be refunded. I asked what happened and he said it was "human error". I spent almost an hour on the phone to get this resolved and not even a I am sorry or anything. We used the breakfast buffet on the morning of our departure and it was very good. All of the employees with the exception of the accounting employee was very nice. But the spiders and the overcharge give this property a failing grade.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Dear Houstonguy2010, thank you for sharing your feedback with us about your recent stay at the hotel. I apologize that the stay was not what you anticipated. I am sorry about the spiders, we did not mean for this to happen; this was something out of our control. We do have a window cleaning service that comes out to clean the windows, but when the weather gets warmer the spiders come out as well. We are taking the necessary steps to keep the spiders out of the guest rooms. I am glad that the front desk was able to accommodate you and get you in the right room with no incidents. I apologize for the parking charge as this was an error however it was corrected. I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention as this helps to maintain a level of customer service our guest come to expect and rely upon. We hope that you will not let this deter you from visiting us and we hope that you will be back in the near future should your travels bring you to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed at the Doubletree in December 2009 and loved the experience. Our second visit was not quite as impressive.

CONS:
Broken desk chair couldn't be adjusted and stayed in the lowest position.

$20 per day internet fee! We thought this was really high and when using wireless it was very slow. We switched to wired and it was faster. But $20 is the absolute highest charge we have ever had - anywhere.

No vending machines! If you want pop after 11 pm when the gift shop is closed, you have to venture outside and find a store. So, be prepared!

There was no price list for the tray of snacks anywhere in the room. Be aware - if you so much as pick up a snack to LOOK at it, you will be charged.

On our second day, housekeeping did not replenish the coffee or cups.

The room has newer style bedding (no comforter) but everything is looking a bit worn, especially the carpet and the window seat fabric.

PROS:
The location! A fabulous location!

Ample outlets! We had no problem charging our iPods and phones.

The shower head, water temp and volume of water was FABULOUS! This was the best shower we have had in a hotel in a long time!

The window seat was convenient, especially since there is only one chair (the broken desk chair) in the room.

Free internet in the lobby.

The hotel was VERY busy when we were there and I think that can have a negative effect.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank LyndaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Dear LyndaMN,
Thank you for your feedback. Both "pros" and "cons" comments are very efficacious and help us to learn and grow as a hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered but are happy that you enjoyed the shower in your room. As to the in-room internet, we provide three speeds which are priced at $9.95,$14.95 and $19.95. The electronic refreshment center is provided for the convinience of our guests to access at any time. My apologies if there was no proper signage to identify pricing. We thank you for your business and look forward to being of service again.

Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We had a great experience with Double Tree in Colorado so that's why we went with this one in chicago. It was nothing like the one in CO. First of all, the bell boy or whatever you call the guys waiting in front; said we couldn't pull up to the front and get our luggage out and check in. He said we had to park. Parking is $40 a DAY!!!! We already knew that, so we had planned to park our car at a friends house. So we had to pay $40 just to check in. We later got that refunded, but still! THEN, when we booked the room, we requested a roll away bed for our son. They said they didn't have any available, try back later?! Ok, fine. We got into our room and it looked a bit small to fit a roll away, but we were tied from driving all day and didn't think much of it. We unpacked, did the pool and then wanted to go to supper. We checked on the roll away before we left, because I wasn't going to have my son sleep on the floor or in our bed kicking us all night long. They said they had one available, but that we'd have to switch rooms, because our room wasn't big enough!!?? You couldn't have just put us in a bigger room to begin with? So we had to pack all our stuff again and move. After all that, the room and building was out dated and falling apart. Also, the people their were so crabby!m They treated us like morons, when asking questions about places/directions around Chicago. I know we are tourists and don't know our way around, but duh!
The only good thing was the pool and the fact we got our parking refunded for the one day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shadowfox83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Dear Shadowfox83, I apologize that your stay was less than perfect, this is something that we do not want happening to our guest. The room that you had been put into at first did not accommodate the roll away bed and they had to find one for the request. The hotel was filled at the time and when you checked in to the room, that room type was not ready. Once the room type was available to accommodate a roll away we were more than happy to accommodate you and your family. I am happy to hear that they made the correction and refunded the parking fee to you. We value every guest and when we fall short of expectations it is important for us to know, as this helps us to maintain a level of customer service our guest expect. My hope is that you will be back to the hotel to give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves and provide you with a memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Pros: Stayed here while attending a family wedding in July. The location was great- we were able to walk to Michigan Ave, Navy Pier, Millenium Park, and the Shedd aquarium (though the aquarium was a bit of a hike) with little difficulty. Was great to not need a car to get around, and the rates were less than other hotels on Michigan Ave.

Now for the cons- we weren't able to check in until well after the specified check-in time of 3PM, and when we asked if we could check in any earlier the staff was incredibly rude. There were some issues with our room, and while we did bring them up, they were not addressed satisfactorily.

Summary: If you're looking for a less expensive hotel on Michigan Ave and don't care if the staff is rude, this is a good choice. If you're looking for good service, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid the adjoining rooms- walls are paper thin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rx2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Dear RX2013, Please accept our most sincere apologies for any aggravation or frustration experienced during your time here at the hotel. It is our goal to provide only the highest level of customer service and accommodations for all of our guests. We apologize for falling short of that goal. I appreciate you taking time to share these comments with us and hope that you will be back to experience a greater stay with us in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Spent 4 nights in Chicago with the purpose of experiencing the downtown vibe. Excellent location, within walking distance of all "places to see", shopping, trolley stops and the EL. Hotel was clean, quiet and front desk and concierge were most helpful. Lots of restaurants within the walking block area, along with a grocery store for snacks or quick meals. Safe area, would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Call the desk and ask for specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srainone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

Sarainone thank you for taking time to comment on your stay while you were a guest here in the hotel while in Chicago. It is nice to hear stories from guest like you who really get to enjoy the great attractions and shops near us. We hope you will be back again in the soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $80 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing