We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property is a bit dated, but offers fantastic service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Ranked #68 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Property is a bit dated, but offers fantastic service.”
Reviewed June 12, 2010

I stayed here for a conference and my husband and toddler came along so we could explore Chicago during my down time. The conference was actually next door at the Westin, but I opted for the suite here because it makes traveling with a toddler a lot more convenient. Rate was even a little lower, so no-brainer.

Staff service at check in was just wonderful, friendly, efficient, etc. This was midday on a Tuesday. I wasn't overly impressed with the aesthetics of the suite itself - found it to be sparsely decorated with dated/cheap looking decor. But, again, these are cosmetic things that don't make or break a property in my opinion. The bed seemed small to me, but it was manageable.

The suite, halls and lobby area were all very clean. Housekeeping staff was just about the nicest I've seen! Room service food was just OK but, again, staff service couldn't be beat. The pool area was nice, but is showing its age as well. Check out service was also friendly and efficient, and the doormen were fantastic during our whole stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ale404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    654
    252
    85
    43
See reviews for
647
342
86
531
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Location is the main sales point. Internet - daily extra charge. The restaurant is overpriced and the service is poor. The rooms are adequate, but sterile and generic. On the plus side you may have a great view of the Chicago skyline and the lake. If you don't have a view from your room, the fitness center on the top floor does.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuddertrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

I don't walk very far, so I was worried about distances, but this hotel is central to everything. Rooms are spacious, and perfect if you have to do some work. Bedroom is seperated from living area and wetbar.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaHockeyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2010

A friendly collection of staff cap off a fantastic location and a very affordable price. In my experience however, I arrived for a late check-in to see a late-40's couple, well spoken and well dressed, politely asking why their reservation had been canceled. This isn't the first time on a rather lengthy, mostly-Hilton, trip that I have heard people being bounced or double-booked out of a room. Previously I've even been bumped up to a suite due to the prevalence of "another group hasn't booked out, we can't force them to leave", so this can go either way. It DID seem like a busy weekend, but i would be nervous about relying on any booking if I weren't traveling with a company that has a preferred supplier arrangement.

The only other negative was that they put me in a non-smoking room that had clearly been smoked in. Not as in "sneaky cigarette" but "frat boy smoke-out". Instead of moving me to another room, they sent someone to "spray it down", who really helped the situation by laughing "wow this is smokey!!!". If I wasn't tired from many weeks of business travel, and arriving at 11pm, I would have demanded another room, and I don't think it too extreme to expect to be moved to a clean room. More fool me here though.

On the upside, the bar was great and friendly with decent meals, the suites were relatively well appointed, the wireless was fast, and the location is obviously useful. The various "See Chicago" books are a nice resource in the room and the concierge is great. An actual and knowledgeable concierge - which can't be said for all Hilton's sadly.

Given the Russian roulette of reservations and smoked-out/partied-out rooms, I probably wouldn't stay here on a future visit, as there are plenty of other Hilton options (if a business trip) and certainly hundreds of other hotel options (private travel) within walking distance. While not a major issue, hotels are so generic that something as small as a dirty, stinky room is enough to substitute another... if you are booking here, call ahead to double check your reservation!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dustycase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2010

This hotel is a great place to stay for value and bang for your buck. If you have kids its pool and suites are great. I have to say the fridge in the room might be the best part along with the suite room separation aspect so kids can sleep while adults can stay up a little longer without having kids awake. The staff here are very friendly and helpful. During spring break week, however, they are very busy and understaffed in the check in/out area. On a trip in October the staff were much more helpful, and able to do their jobs. Alex is a great help upon arrival!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveler1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

I read some of the other reviews and wondered what the story with this Hilton was. I am a Diamond member and have found very few exceptions to Hilton quality. The rate on this hotel is significantly lower than other nearby hotels which surprises me! On a welcome call from the manager, he indicated that this property has been through a complete management overhaul so if there were some inconsistencies, I think they have solved it. The rooms are great being 2 room suites with doors to the bathroom from both the living area and the bedroom. The Hilton bed makes me not want to go back to my own bed.

I do show some bias being a Diamond member and receiving perks such as free internet and breakfast but this property is very well run and right at the heart of Michigan (MIracle Mile) and close to Rush Street as well.

For comparison, I have stayed at the Sutton Place and Hilton Palmer House. I find this property to be equivalent to the Sutton and better than the famed Palmer House given the location near Michigan and Rush.

I will be staying here many more times to come.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orr333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Good:
(1) The room is clean;
(2) Location is good, but I think all the hotels in downtown area are good too;
(3) Some staffs are friendly;

Bad:
(1) The parking is expensive, should have a discount for hotel customer;
(2) The breakfast is not worth the money and waiters are not friendly;
(3) Difficult to find the way out of the parking lot;
(4) Some staffs are not friendly;
(5) It's noisy in the morning even we stayed at 12th floor;
(6) Too many options on TV, I didn't figure out how to watch a normal TV until 2nd day;
(7) No refrigerator for customer use in room;
(8) Wireless should be free or lower the cost.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites

Property: Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Address: 198 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Business Hotel in Chicago
#63 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in May 2016, Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites is an upscale, all-suite hotel in a prime downtown Chicago location. Our modern, comfortable, well-appointed two-room guest suites and executive accommodations are just steps from Michigan Avenue, one block from Lake Michigan and close to everything central Chicago has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing