We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off season retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Ranked #65 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Off season retreat”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

So I am 53, the kids are grown, I have a great relationship with my wife and we enjoy a nice get away. The Hilton suites is a very convenient location. Walking distance to shopping and great meals. Easy cab ride to almost all that Chicago has to offer. Reasonable rates during off season. Typical downtown rates during busy times. Rooms are clean and functional. Breakfast was pretty good for a compressed selection. Good coffee (this is important, I wish more hotels realized that they are judged by their coffee)
I would recommend this hotel. It's not luxury but worth the price.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Mike M,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hilton Suites Chicago.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Being so close to so much makes it very easy to walk around to all the places guests want to visit Chicago. The location of the hotel is one of the many reasons our return guests stay with us over and over. We are just a block away from the Magnificent Mile, next to the john Hancock Tower, a short walk to the lake and a few blocks away from great shopping and a large selection of dining. Thank you very much for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    634
    242
    79
    40
See reviews for
618
328
84
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Perfect location for a night out in Chicago. Right behind Water Tower. Great value. Friendly staff. Park in the building next door to the hotel. Less expensive and closer than the hotels self park....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 795ScottR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear 795ScottR,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hilton Suites Chicago.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us for the New Year and that you experienced the friendliness of our team members. Our goal is to always provide good service and we understand that friendliness is a big part of the experience. Thank you.


We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I absolutely loved my stay at this property. Housekeeping was fantastic, the staff was friendly, and the restaurant was wonderful. Colin was a wonderful server and utilizing the iPad for the beverage offerings was an excellent touch. My only complaint or constructive criticism, would be the Executive Lounge. It was completely over crowded and there was absolutely nowhere to sit. My fiance and I had to carry our plates, silverware, and beverage, back to the 28th floor because we could not sit anywhere and would not eat standing up. An executive lounge is meant to be an exclusive amenity and during our experience, it seemed like the whole hotel had access to it. Even when I tried to use the computer to print my boarding pass, both terminals were occupied. We were completely turned off by how over crowded it was that the rest of our stay, we turned down free breakfast to dine elsewhere and pay for a table and chairs. I would advise hotel management to better regulate how many guests you are granting access to the Executive Lounge, because it can quickly defeat the purpose of having one if it is no longer exclusive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank DPKasprzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear DPKasprzak,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hilton Suites Chicago.

We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am glad that you experienced the friendliness of our team members and that you experienced the restaurant the "The Local Chicago" which is an independently run restaurant with a strong presence in the community. I understand your comments about the Executive
Lounge. This area can become very busy during holidays as many families are staying with us and the hotel is very popular with HHonors Members.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, IL
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed here with my wife and teen children for one night over the holidays to enjoy Chicago. Valet parking was $63 plus tips per night; it took about 12 minutes to retrieve our car. We declined the $15 WiFi service which meant we had no internet access at all in the room, but if you sit in the (small) lobby you can get on the Residence Inn guest network (across the street) for free. The rooms are great for sleeping: two room suite with 2 Queen beds and a pull out sleeper sofa. Normal Hilton bed: comfortable with pillows that are much too soft. The bathroom had two doors (one to the suite, one to the bedroom) but only one sink with toilet and shower, so it takes a while for a family of 4 to get ready in the morning. There is a coffee pot with a bar sink in the suite area. Two modest size flat screen tvs, and a nice sized desk. State and City taxes were $19.75. Check in and out were prompt and efficient. They do allow dogs; we didn't bring ours but saw three others entering and leaving with their owners. If the weather had been warmer we could have walked to shopping meals, but it was below zero so we opted for taxis (never needed to wait). There is a bar onsite which appeared to offer some food, and a Starbucks, but no free coffee (other than the pot in your room). There is also a Members' lounge on the 2nd floor but I wasn't able to upgrade.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McHenryDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear McHenryDad,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hilton Suites Chicago.

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your suite comfortable for your family of 4. Many guests stay with us over the holiday as they have found our hotel to have a great location in the Gold Coast of Chicago and to be very cost effective. I must tell you that complimentary internet is available in our lobby and it has been for many years.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here on NYE 2014 and had one of the worst experiences with any hotel I have ever stayed at. The Director of Rooms at this hotel lied to us and then added hidden fees to our total bill. She was also the most unprofessional upper manager at any hotel I have ever worked at or stayed at. On top of that, the rooms and hotel decor were sub-par. Especially for how much this hotel cost, I would have had a way better experience staying at a Holiday Inn or Best Western. Needless to say I will never book a room with Hilton again!

Room Tip: Simply do not book a room here. Maybe they will go out of business and a more reputable hotel brand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Justin K,

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip. Reading your comments, it appears that we fell short of your expectations and for that, we sincerely apologize. I am so sorry that you had some misunderstanding regarding your bill and if some of our staff were unprofessional towards you. We are accustomed to receiving very positive feedback from our guests and are disheartened that you did not experience the level of excellence you deserve. Please be assured that your concerns will be shared with our management team so that corrective measures are taken where feasible.

We do hope that you can give us another opportunity to regain your confidence in our hotel if your travels bring you to our area again. Please know that I make myself available for anything you would like to further discuss.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, MI
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We checked into this hotel for one night. We had already made reservations at another hotel for two nights but since the weather was going to be taking a turn for the worse (much colder!) we decided to come in a night early and this hotel offered the best price.

The location is great. Just a short walk to Michigan Ave and right next to the John Hancock building. Since we were only here one night we did not get to experience all of the services/amenities for the hotel. However I will comment on what we did experience.

The front desk was a little busy when we checked in. When we got to the desk, the phone rang and the woman working the desk actually asked us to wait while she took the call and spent no less than 10 minutes discussing pick up options from the airport to the caller on the other line, while we stood there waiting. I found this a bit rude. But otherwise, the check in process was quick and easy.

We got a room on the 15th floor. I believe this was a wheelchair accessible room, even though we did not request one. The room was very large, as well as the bathroom was very large. There was a separate bedroom with a king bed, flat screenTV and a nice big closet (there was a safe inside the closet). The main space (living room) had a sofa bed, chair and a TV mounted to the wall. There was also a desk/chair and a separate large counter top that had the coffee maker. There was a very small mini fridge (not stocked). We had no view other than the walls of surrounding buildings but that was not a big deal as we were only here one night.

The room was clean although a bit dated and worn in spots with some torn wallpaper in the bathroom, chipped grout, etc.

The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. We had 5 people in the room and had brought our own airbed so we called for extra sheets/blankets and they were brought up in a timely manner. The room was plenty big for all 5 of us, even with the sofa bed pulled out and a queen size airbed on the floor.

We did take advantage of the pool & hot tub. This area was large, with plenty of seating. The pool was big enough for kids to enjoy. The hot tub was on the small side but it was hot and nice to relax in after a day of walking the city. However, there were no towels in the pool area. We saw several people go into the attached workout/gym area and take towels from there but they were smaller towels. I called the front desk and they said they would bring some right down, however we waited about 10 minutes and they had not showed up yet.

There were a few times we got in the elevator and all the buttons were pushed. Certainly not the fault of the hotel, but annoying none the less. This would explain why there was a wait for an elevator to come.

There is a very small Starbucks attached to the lobby. They serve the basics hot beverages, soda, juice and a few muffins/yogurt/snack items.

We were able to order pizza from Giordano's and have it delivered, which was very convenient.

We parked in a self parking lot nearby and paid around $30. Since we were in town for a total of 3 nights, any amount we could save on parking was a bonus.

We would certainly stay here again because of the location and suite style rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griswolds198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Griswolds 198,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hilton Suites Chicago.

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience with us and at the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I apologize for the wait your experienced at the time of check-in and for the towels at the pool. The holidays were extremely busy with a large numbers of guests in each rooom which created an unusual need for extrea towels and we certainly need to improve for the future. Thank you very much for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were in Chicago during Christmas week to visit family & chose the Hilton Suites Mag Mile
for our stay. The suites give us extra room & the location is very quiet yet convenient to
shopping & restaurants. The staff was very pleasant, helpful & always attentive to our
requests. Our sons enjoyed the rooftop indoor pool as well as the workout area. Wi-Fi network is available in all rooms, though a bit pricey when many hotels offer this service for free.

The hotel restaurants are very good, though again, a bit pricey for the menu offered. We had
a lunch & a dinner at 'Local', one of the two restaurants in the hotel. Local serves a somewhat
basic variety of food offerings, all of which we had were very well prepared. The beer & wine lists are very good, with the wines being well matched to the food items. We also came by the bar for drinks on 2-3 occasions. Being Christmas week, the wait/bar staff seemed a little challenged as to what was offered at the bar. We would ask for a mixed drink, get a response of 'we don't have that', then come in the next evening & see a bottle of what we had asked for on the shelf. Mixed drinks were hit & miss for us.

Overall, we had an excellent visit & I would stay here again.

Room Tip: upper floors have a lake view east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Don D.

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hilton Suites Chicago.

It is always a pleasure to get feedback from our guests and it is a real pleasure to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. I am glad that you experienced the friendliness of our team members and that you enjoyed the restaurant "The Local Chicago". Thank you for your feedback on your experience at the bar and I assure you that the team will work on this so it doesn't happen in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites

Property: Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Address: 198 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Business Hotel in Chicago
#63 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in May 2016, Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites is an upscale, all-suite hotel in a prime downtown Chicago location. Our modern, comfortable, well-appointed two-room guest suites and executive accommodations are just steps from Michigan Avenue, one block from Lake Michigan and close to everything central Chicago has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing