We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than Reviews Support!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Ranked #62 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Better than Reviews Support!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently stayed here while in Chicago. We were upgraded to a lake view room and were treated very well upon arrival. The lounge for gold members was great, stay was very friendly and it was a great stay overall. This hotel got some dings on reviews and honestly I just don't see it. We enjoyed our room, the location, the staff and the experience. We def. would return here so read the critical reviews closely as I just don't see what some were critical of at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Aaron T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you experienced the friendly service provided by our staff. Your feedback is very rewarding to our team members and serves as great motivation.

We hope to be your hotel of choice the next time you are in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    615
    233
    76
    37
See reviews for
591
311
83
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Was not the nicest hotel I have stayed in, but overall its a great hotel. The staff was friendly, great views of the lake and its in a great location. Seemed like some of the hotel was a bit out dated especially for the price, but the rooms were great. Good size, comfort, and clean. One small complaint was how easy it was to hear through the walls. We could hear kids very easily when getting ready in the morning. But we did not spend a lot of time in the room, so it was not a big deal for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Andrew A,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback with other travelers looking to visit Chicago. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and your suite. It is great to hear that you were able to take full advantage of our prime location to enjoy everything Chicago has to offer. Many of our guests return over the years, as they know how great our location is.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
208 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

After spending four nights at this property, I would highly recommend it, and on my next visit to central Chicago, I would return again.

There are several advantages to staying at this hotel.
1) It is conveniently located, being basically across the street from the John Hancock Tower, and two blocks north of Water Tower Place. It is a six block / 10 minute walk to the nearest RTA Rail Station, and there are plenty of bus routes along Michigan Avenue. We walked back from Navy Pier in 20 minutes.
2) There are more restaurants than you could possibly eat at in one month within easy, safe walking distance. The hotel has a list (three pages long) available at the front desk, and I think we spotted a few not on the list.
3) All rooms are suites. This gives your party an opportunity to spread out, or observe different sleeping hours / patterns without disturbing others. We found our suite very comfortable and well laid out. Unlike some suite style layouts, there are no glaring design flaws or illogical layouts.
4) This hotel has a very nice Executive Lounge. The lounge is spacious and open reasonable hours for breakfast, snacks and evening hors d'oeuvres. There is also a computer and printer for guests with lounge access which proved helpful to us. As we used this for breakfast every morning, I cannot comment on the hotel restaurant. However, there is a glass window into the kitchen as one enters the ground floor elevator bank, and the restaurant looks tempting if going out to one of the beaucoup nearby establishments is not in the cards for you (or it's raining / snowing).
5) The hotel service was on the whole, quite good.
6) The location just one block off Michigan (the address says Delaware Place but the entrance is on Mies Van Der Rohe), and I think this is a great advantage in that the surroundings are much less hectic on the whole.

No hotel is perfect. Here are a few observations:
1) There was a problem - apparently - with Executive Lounge access throughout our stay. We had intermittent key card access challenges, and the last 36 hours we were there, the door was propped open.
2) Housekeeping was just a bit short of expectations. Upon arrival, my wife found hairs in the tub (shower). The first morning, the housekeeper knocked on the door to service our room twice before 10 am. The second morning, we left the room at 9 am and did not return until 4 pm, and the room was not yet made up. Nor were there any housekeeping carts on the floor at that time. When we called down, we were assured that our room would be serviced, but they did send someone up quickly. A somewhat unusual experience.
3) Since we were not going to use our car while we were at the hotel, we did not use hotel parking, but rather prepaid for a nearby lot through a Chicago web-based parking service. This cut our parking cost nearly in half (and almost a third of what hotels on Walton - the Drake and Knickerbocker - were charging) but we did lose in and out privileges. However, from the perspective of our stay, the main issue was that the hotel bell staff did not seem as prepared to handle guests who parked offsite as they did guests who used valet. The hotel would also benefit from a bit more pull up space in front of the hotel for loading / unloading, and I definitely felt a bit rushed both ways. That said, the pull up space on Mies Van Der Rohe is superior to the situation for hotels fronting on Walton or Delaware nearby.

Overall, a very nice experience and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear jbtexas,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Suites Chicago and thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

It is always a great reward to hear from our guests and it is particularly pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you found your suite to be comfortable and enjoyed our new Executive Lounge. You also mentioned the location and I couldn’t agree more with you. The location of our hotel near the John Hancock Tower, steps away from the Lake Michigan, a block away from the Magnificent Mile and a short walk to restaurants makes it very easy to enjoy and appreciate everything Chicago has to offer. I do apologize for housekeeping not living up to your expectations, I assure you this is not typical and I am glad to hear that it did not ruin your stay with us.

We look forward to being your hotel of choice when you return to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort wayne, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

my grandaugther stay there. they was 19. front desk was rude. she could eat breakfast because she only had dance clothes and sweats. she was told she didnt have the proper dress. although there were kids running around with pj on. she was attending a professional dance classes. that why she was dressed the way she was. the microwave didnt work so she couldnt' cook anything in the room. pool was bad. the spa was way to hot. I am a diamond member and i stay about 175 days a year. i used my points for here to say all week. a motel 6 would of been better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Shelley T

Thank you very much for staying with us. We are sorry that your granddaughter had a disappointing experience during her stay with us and that we were not able to provide her with and exceptional stay. I was especially disappointed to read from your review that our front desk staff did not provide her the professional and courteous treatment she deserve. I can assure you this is very unusual to happen and I’ve made sure to personally speak to our staff regarding your comments. We make every effort to respect our guests and I truly apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused.

Again, I apologize if your granddaughter went through any inconveniences and hope that the next time you or any of your family members are in the area, you will consider staying at our hotel. Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Traveled with 5 kids and requested adjoining rooms which they had no trouble providing. Great location to shops & restaurants. Nice lobby bar, definitely a good place to stay. Only down falls were no free Wi-fi or open mini refrigerator in rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear TK S,

Thank you very much for staying with us at bthe Hilton Suites Chicago. I am glad that you had the opportunity to experienced our hotel with your family. There is no doubt that having a suite and adjoining room makes our hotel a great place for family to stay together and have enough space to relax. Each of our suites are equipped with a small refrigerator which of course is convenient when traveling with a family.

Our location near the John Hancock Tower, steps away from the Magnificent Mile and a short walk to Lake Michigan makes our hotel a first choice for our regular guests when visiting for leisure or business.

We look forward to be your hotel of choice the next time you visit Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had two families stay for 4 nights. The rooms are a nice size as was the pool.

It is an excellent location and they had a 2 page list of restaurants within walking distance. We tried several and they were all good. It is 1 block from the John Hancock tower and we walked easily down the mile and over to the Navy Pier.

Service at the front desk was frustrating but it is unclear whether this was indicative of the service or an off day. Aside from that I would recommend this hotel to any family travelling to Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nonfiction_diction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear nonfiction_diction,

Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience, your feedback is very important. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our location. I have taken note of your experioence at the front desk and I have shared your comments with the manager and the team responsible for this area. Thank you.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope that you will stay with us on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We hopped into this hotel for 1 night at the end of a business trip. The location MEGA exceeded my expectations! We dropped our bags and headed down to Michigan Ave where there is everything arpund the hotel. Specially Cheesecake Factory ;). The room was awsome. Too bad we didn't have too much time to enjoy it. The sleeping room is separate from the living area. This is great because the living room has a sleeping sofa. It also has a tiny kitchenette that allows you to take snacks to your room.
If I ever go back on vacations to Chigago, I will defenetly stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FannyGonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear FannyGonzalez,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hilton Suites Chicago.

I am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed your accommodations and our location. The satisfaction of our guests is very important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience. Our team takes pride in the satisfaction of our guests and they truly enjoy the feedback. Thank you.

We look forward to being your hotel of choice the next time you are in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites

Property: Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Address: 198 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Business Hotel in Chicago
#63 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in May 2016, Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites is an upscale, all-suite hotel in a prime downtown Chicago location. Our modern, comfortable, well-appointed two-room guest suites and executive accommodations are just steps from Michigan Avenue, one block from Lake Michigan and close to everything central Chicago has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing