We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Ranked #61 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
indianapolis, indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here the weekend before Christmas and had a great stay. We loved that it was so close to the mag mile and Water tower shops. It was also great to have the suite with the pull out couch so that we could have our privacy and our son could as well, and two TVs so we didn't have to watch kid shows :). It was also nice to have the frig and microwave so we could eat our leftovers from all the delicious restaurants near by. The Local Chicago restaurant in the hotel was very good, loved the breakfast and bloody Mary's, and the desserts were amazing! Parking is pricey but it is everywhere in Chicago :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katieo2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Katieo2525,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hilton Suites Chicago and thank you for sharing your experience at the hotel with other travelers.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, the restaurant and the location. The hotel is located in the Gold Coast area of Chicago next to the John Hancock Tower, a block away from Michigan Avenue, steps away from Lake Michigan and a short walk from Rush street where guests can enjoy various dining offerings. This is a perfect location to discover everything Chicago has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time that you are visiting Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    615
    233
    76
    38
See reviews for
591
311
83
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Only complaint is there is no free breakfast and room service was high. Also there was no on site parking only valet for $55/day and on weekends valet can take up to 45 mins. Parking garages are all around and cheaper. The location of the hotel is awesome if you like shopping it is in walking distance of almost everything. Hotel staff were great.Our room was very clean and had comfortable beds. Great experience overall.

Room Tip: The 4th floor odd numbers have a view of other hotels cannot see anything but roof and other hotel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tazmineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Tazmineg,

Thank you very much for staying with us and In am glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the situation you experienced with parking. It appears that it is during your stay that we ran into a problem with the garage elevators which created a delay as in general it should take approximately 15 to 20 minutes depending on traffic around the hotel. In addition to valet parking, I must inform you and other travelers that we offer self-parking for $35 per night. I understand your comments about the parking prices and I assure you that our prices are competitives with the market prices.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The location of this hotel was fantastic. Adjacent to the John Hancock building, and less than a street away from the Watertower Place. After being upgraded to a presidential suite, I noticed some problems with the room...not acceptable for a presidential suite. Within minutes, the maintenance team was taking care of business. After a conversation with the general manager, he took care of our issues and made the stay that much more enjoyable. Problems may come and go, it's how it's handled that makes for a great organization. Hilton did a great job. Great heated pool, whirlpool and dry sauna. My daughter really loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiguy921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Chiguy921,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hilton Suites Chicago and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

I remember speaking with you and I am very grateful that you gave us the opportunity to address the issues during your stay. Our goal is certainly to provide a stay free of problems and our team members are very committed to deliver a great experience at all time and to every guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and I invite you to not hesitate to contact me if I can be of assistance when you are planning your next visit to our great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We purchased our tickets via Priceline, so got a great deal. The hotel was very nicely appointed, the rooms were great! Sitting area, kitchenette area, big jack and jill bathroom, and a bedroom. The bed and pillows weren't the greatest...we didn't sleep great either night on them. Also, we had some issues with the thermostat. It was hot hot hot in our room no matter how far we turned it down. That's probably another reason we didn't sleep great.

The staff was very nice, the attached restaurant (The Local, not affiliated with the hotel) was nice and convenient.

The location was really the star. A short 5 minute walk got us to Michigan Ave, right at the Hancock building. We walked back to the hotel from going out at Rush & Division, from Tribune Tower, etc. Just a fabulous location.

I would definitely say this hotel is one we'd go back to -- the location and suites make it a great option!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear crazysox4,

Thank you very much for staying with us and letting us know about your experience. Althought you enjoyed your experience with us, I have noted the problem you had with the heating system as well as with the bed. Based on your comment, I understand the problem with the heat has being someting related to a valve.
I am glad that you enjoyed our location in the center of everything. The Gold Coast area of Chicago has a lot to offer, the John Hancock Tower, the Magnificent Mile, Rush Street with all the restaurants and Oak Street for exclusive shopping.

We look forward to your next visit to Chicago and we hope to be again your hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

There are an abundance of downtown hotels in Chicago but none so far have been able to beat what we experienced here. Check in was easy and quick. Every request was addressed in a friendly and speedy response. The view from my room was beautiful and the location couldn't have been much better...nestled between the lakeshore and Michigan Ave. My most recent trip was for business but I'll be back for my next get away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Michelle H.

Thank you very much for staying with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel and its location. There is no better compliments from our guests than hearing that they want to return. It is truly pleasure for us to know that our guests appreciate the service they have received from our team members. Many of our return guests come back year after year because of their experience and because of the convenience of our location.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you return and I invite you to contact me in advance so I may organize for you to get a room on a high floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was fantastic. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant and shared our enthusiasm for being in Chicago. Lovely, very comfortable room and a GREAT weekend overall! I highly recommend this hotel, as it is comfortable and very close to so many fun places to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keokalake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Keokalake,

Thank you very muich for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We appreciate the feedback we received from our guests as it help us improve on our services but it is also a real point of pride for our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit our great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My friend from Florida stayed here and I stayed with a few nights, even though I live in Chicago. It's literally next to the John Hancock and the Watertower Place. If you're into shopping, this is the perfect area for you. Also, the American Girl store is down the street and the red line is only a short 10minute walk with plenty of resturants surrounding you. The room itself was pretty nice. We had a room that was connected to a common room area. Maids were super friendly and cleaned the room extremely well. They also didn't come until around noon, so their was time to sleep in beforehand. The only negative about this hotel, is the outrageous price for internet. I don't know what they're thinking charging, not sure what it was, around $12/day. Rather walk to the starbucks down the street. Ridiculous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Lauren P,

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Suites Chicago and thank you for telling us about your experience with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location to be perfect. Our Gold Coast location near the John Hancock Tower, a block away from Lake Michigan, step way from the Magnificent Mile and just a short walk away from many restaurants and shopping makes our location the perfect choice when staying in Chicago. I must also share that complimentary internet is available in the lobby, at the connectivity station and in the pool area located on the 30th floor.

We look forward to your next visit to Chicago and we hope to be your hotel of choice again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites

Property: Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Address: 198 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Business Hotel in Chicago
#63 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in May 2016, Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites is an upscale, all-suite hotel in a prime downtown Chicago location. Our modern, comfortable, well-appointed two-room guest suites and executive accommodations are just steps from Michigan Avenue, one block from Lake Michigan and close to everything central Chicago has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing