We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great NYE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Ranked #62 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great NYE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

A group of about 20 of us headed to Chicago for New Years Eve and stayed at the Hilton Suites. What an excellent experience we all had. Great location and great rooms. The rooms are extremely spacious so makes sharing a little bit easier. Would definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Jenna P.

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hilton Suites Chicago. I appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. I am delighted to read that you and friends enjoyed our hotel. You are correct to point out our location and the size of our rooms, when making choices, it is important for guests to carefully select the location that meet their needs. Because, we are an all suites hotel, our guests get more for their money and I am glad that you made that point in your comments.

We look forward to your next visit to Chicago and we hope to be your hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    615
    233
    76
    37
See reviews for
591
311
83
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I head downtown every holiday season for a little getaway. We stayed here for the first time and will definitely be back. Great location one block from Michigan Avenue, but quiet and away from the noise. We stayed on the 28th floor with a view of the lake. Suite was beautiful. The thing that seperated this hotel from others we have stayed in the past was the friendliness of the staff, from check-in to bellmen, maids and valet staff - everyone was terrific. Had a delightful breakfast at The Local, the restaurant on site. Staff were outstanding there too.

Highly recommend The Rosebud - a half block away - for dinner.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Robert P,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hilton Suiotes Chicago. I am delighted to read that you had a nice sray with us and I am particularly appreciative of you taking the time to tell us about your experience with our team members. We understand that the service and the friendliness of our team members is important to our guests and reading your feedback is very motivating for all of us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and we wish you and your family a happy and successful 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed one night. Walking distance to mentioned places above. Self parking came with our rate ($175 taxes included) located block and a half up. Nice restaurant "The Local" but pricey-sandwiches $15 and up. Entrees- $20-30. Business center is not in a separate area-it's just 6 pcs on a table in the main check in area. Also, free internet access is available at BUSINESS CENTER only NOT in-room ($12-in room). Room was nice-there was a rip in the carpet but didn't put anyone out. We stayed on the 7th floor-city noise was not a problem. we did hear an unexplained banging noise in the middle of the night but it was fleeting. The microwave only works if you turn on the switch located next to kitchenette, marked (microwave/coffee maker). What I really liked about this room was the bath room layout. The bathroom is about the size of a standard master bath in any average house. It has 2 door entry -one from the sitting area and one from the bedroom, which is nice for those uninterrupted bathroom visits in the middle of the night. The shower has one of the highest pressure shower heads i've ever seen in a hotel room. It made for a nice long hot shower at the end of a very crazy day! The bedroom has a separate vanity area with stool and closet mirror for ample ready space for high maintenance people like myself! This is a layout I don't see often. Service was ok-we ordered extra bedding and it took forever to get it to us, we also asked for extra shampoo and they forgot it when they delivered the bedding. Might stay here again.

Room Tip: Free Internet-only in business center self park is cheaper than valet-block and a half away from ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear nomadsister,

Thank you very much for tsying with us at the Hilton Suites Chicago. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time share your feedback with us. I have taken note of the service opportunity and i assure you that our team understands the importance of service and timeliness.
I want to thank you for taking the time to describe your suite in such details as I know it will be helpful to future travelers who are planning a trip to Chicago. Our hotel offers a great location, large rooms that are suites as you described and near everything the Chicago Gold Coast has to offer, we are in a prime location.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Suites Chicago the next time you visit our great city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for work, and to shop for Christmas. The good: could walk to the mag mile, plenty of places to eat nearby. Very good customer service, and was upgraded to an end room. The bad: my room's coffee maker didn't work; it was not yet updated. TV was poor, and room was outdated. I'd recommend asking for an already updated room, or a big discount otherwise.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CGOTRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear CGOTRVLR,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and that you experienced good customer service. Our main priority is for our guests to feel welcome and comfortable stay. I do however understand that you thought our property was somewhat dated. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and I assure you it will be taken into consideration. Our guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we will do everything we can to improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Did a girls trip with a friend and three teenagers and everyone had a great time. The hotel location was great. We got an alcove room with 2 queen beds and sleeper sofa and it was enough room for the 5 of us. The beds and sleeper sofa were ok. The room was well appointed and included a frig and microwave. The only dealings we had with the staff was for checkin and checkout. We didn't use the hotels valet service because it was $55; we parked 1/2 block down the street on Delaware for $31 with in and out privileges. The workout room had precor equipment along with the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLJ_03936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear MLJ_03936,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hilton Suites Chicago. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers who are planning a trip to Chicago. In addition to the valet parking, our hotel offer self-parking that is located a few blocks away from the hotel. I must also inform you and other travelers that our rate is in line with other hotels in Chicago.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan, USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Great location for shopping. Close to walk to restaurants on Rush and in 900 Bldg we like. Room ok. Nothing special, was a great size for the price compared to other hotels we've stayed at in the area. Were on 29th floor and had lake view that was decent. As others said, room appeared cool compared to thermostat. Restaurant Local not part of hotel so you couldn't charge to the room. Also couldn't take a drink upstairs with you. Overall we did have a good size room for what we paid. Other than that, think we'll try the Drake next time or go back to Whitehall when remodel done. Just didn't get a warm fuzzy feeling about this place. Not one staff member (other than bartenders) really made us feel welcome. Sorry!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubafrog869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Scubafrog869,

Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you for sharing your feedback. I must apologize for you not receiving the service experience you should have and that many of our return guests appreciate. I truly hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve and have the privilege of you staying wiith us. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly and refer to your tripadvosr comments and I will assist in making your arrangements for your stay with us.

I lookforward to serving you again the next time that you are in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Hotel and staff were great. Location provides easy access to mag mile and water tower. Room was a bit chilly, but engineering quickly and easily fixed it and problem was resolved. Only issue was waiting for my car upon check out. I called from my room to inform the valet that I would be leaving and would like my car. They said it should be ready in 15 minutes. When we arrived in the lobby, we waited 25 minutes and no car. They never even took the key to get it. We waited another 15 minutes for the car. NOT acceptable when valet charges $55 per night!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor with a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TommyandMariaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear ACoupleOfTravelers,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hilton Suites Chicago. I appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience with us and I am glad that you had a good stay with us with the exception of the parking situation. I have addressed the situation with the person responsible for this service and they agree that your wait is not acceptable. We will continue to monitor this area of our servce as we do for all area of the hotel so situation such as yours doesn't happen again.

I look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites

Property: Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Address: 198 E Delaware Pl, Chicago, IL 60611-1816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Business Hotel in Chicago
#63 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in May 2016, Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites is an upscale, all-suite hotel in a prime downtown Chicago location. Our modern, comfortable, well-appointed two-room guest suites and executive accommodations are just steps from Michigan Avenue, one block from Lake Michigan and close to everything central Chicago has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing