We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding staff, rooms dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #84 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Outstanding staff, rooms dated”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Attending a convention last week I spent 5 nights here in a standard king room. First the positives, the location is excellent with all the restaurants and bars nearby plus Navy Pier being a 20-minute walk away; the staff were truly excellent, from the doormen to reception to back of house - nothing was too much trouble, they had great recommendations on places to go and things to do, and were very enthusiastic about giving the best experience to their guests; the restaurant, Davanti, was superb - serving probably the best steak I have ever had (the steak Fiorantina). The negatives - rooms are rather tired and dated, definitely in need of upgrading; the sofa in the room was not very clean so I avoided sitting on it to watch TV; it was hard to get the temperature of the room right as adjusting the control at 21 degrees seemed to turn on the heating; sirens were blaring pretty well all night every night from either the nearby fire station or police - not the hotel's fault but some double/triple glazing would not go amiss.I could return but it would not be for the rooms especially at $265++.

Room Tip: A high floor may be quieter given the number of sirens going off all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPSBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello!

We appreciate your comments on your experience. Let me begin by thanking you for staying with us during your Chicago trip. I am very glad you enjoyed the location, and pleased that our staff helped shape a great adventure for you outside of the convention! Our team is truly dedicated, and we're proud of our hotel and city!

I know you mentioned that the style of the room wasn't entirely to your taste. I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy that aspect, but hopefully you were still able to have a comfortable time in your room during the conference. I will have our housekeeping teams pay close attention to the details in the fabrics so that we can spot any wear or tear that may occur on our seating.

Again, thank you for staying with us! We appreciate the time you took to leave us this review!

All my best,

Frankie Solomon
Senior Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    419
    116
    28
    13
See reviews for
213
187
45
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Got moved here as a result of an oversell situation at my original hotel. Couldn't have been more pleased. It was actually more convenient than my original choice.

The staff was outstanding even offering me a free snack & drink upon check in due to my inconvenience. The king bed room was plenty of room. A nice comfortable bed and couch in the room! Plenty of room on the desk to work too. And I didn't hear any of the city noise below.

If your plans include shopping on the magnificent mile and spending most of your time downtown, this is a really good choice. Awesome experience guys, thank you so much!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TENNDAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks for leaving your review! Oversold situations are often challenging for all parties-- we're really glad that you ended up with us! It sounds like you had a comfortable stay, and we hope that the next time you visit Chicago you'll make your reservation here! Thank you again, and we're so thrilled that it worked out well for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location for anyone staying Chicago for fun or business. There are numerous excellent restaurants within walking distance or short cab ride. The Magnificent mile is a short walk, as is shopping on State Street, or any other in the area, for that matter.
The accomodations were excellent - clean with appealing decor, modern and comfortable. This is the first time we were met outside the hotel door by desk personnel, Adrion in our case, as well as the friendly and accomodating John, the doorman/bellman. Adrion welcomed us to the hotel and cared for our every need above and beyond anything we asked whenever she was on duty. John did the same from his post in addition to simply being friendly and welcoming. All of the staff was helpful and friendly, but these two were especially so. Breakfast at the restaurant attached to the hotel, Davanti Enoteca, was wonderful, and the take-out cafe, Glazed & Infused, also attached, was a great early morning addition for us.
This is the caliber we've come to expect from all the hotels in the Marriott group. This particular one was exceptional! We would stay there again whenever in Chicago.

Room Tip: Can't imagine there's a bad room in this wonderful hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stpeteisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled you had a good time and that the hotel exceeded your expectations!

I've shared your remarks with our team, and we gave shout-outs to Adrion and John! They were really honored that you mentioned them. Did you know that Adrion has been here since the hotel opened 20 years ago? She really knows her stuff, and has a passion for service and all things Chicago!

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel. We really hope you'll stay again next time!

Best regards,

Frankie S.
Senior Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visited Chicago the weekend of September 13, 2013. ALL the employees were awesome!! Friendly, helpful, fun to joke around with. They treated us like family. Every time we left for an excursion and came back they were right there to ask us if we had fun and listen to our stories. Everyone from the security guard to the housekeepers were kind and friendly. The security guard Saturday night was awesome, My husband couldn't sleep late at night and he kept him company and gave him some history on Chicago. We were close and with in walking distance to all the activities. The rooms were clean, the entire hotel was clean, pools were clean. Beds and pillows were awesome. We loved the people and the amenities and will definitely be back!!! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving your review! We really appreciate that you chose the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North for your stay. It sounds like your Chicago vacation was a blast! I see you're from Watertown--River Bend is actually one of my favorite vacation spots!

We're glad you and your family had a wonderful time- our associates are very passionate and dedicated.

Thank you again for visiting, and we hope to see you next year.

-Frankie Solomon, Senior Exec. Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja,
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here on a second trip to Chicago and it was another fantastic experience in Illinois.The rooms were great, nice and large. Great view of the city, centered in downtown Chicago... just where I like to be. Good access to the city center, restaurants, shops, works great for moving around. Great value !!! Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adeyinka I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are so happy that you came back to stay with us again! Staying in River North is really the best of all worlds. We're glad you enjoy the room size and amenities, too! Thanks again for choosing us, and we hope to continue to host you time and time again. We love when our guests become our family!

All my best,

Frankie Solomon, Senior Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

There were three of us sharing a room and this worked perfectly for us. 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa gave us each a good night's sleep. Since we were just there for one night we didn't have a lot of luggage and there was ample room to move around. The sink was outside the bathroom which worked great for us. The bathroom itself was plenty large enough; I loved that I didn't have to squeeze beside the toilet just to get the door to shut.

We had breakfast downstairs at the restaurant and they had a nice buffet as well as allowing a la carte ordering. We each enjoyed our breakfast very much. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cards-Preds-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi there! Thanks for leaving a review! Next time you're in Chicago we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willington CT
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great area, easy access to a lot of places. Need to get the restaurant open though. Nice idea to have complimentary breakfast. Should be available for longer time in the morning though. Some people don't get up as early as others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
#54 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#62 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a haven of urban sophistication among downtown Chicago, hotels at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. Located in the trendy River North area on famed Restaurant Row, this hotel offers easy access to fine dining, exciting nightlife and the closest proximity to the EL Train. Experience the Windy City from the modern comforts of over-sized downtown hotel rooms offering plush bedding and amenities. Grab a gourmet doughnut and coffee at Glazed and Infused for breakfast, and enjoy a unique and authentic meal at Davanti Enoteca, located in the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. For those looking to stay fit on the road, the fitness center with indoor pool sets this hotel apart from the rest- not to mention a beautiful sundeck for when the weather is nice. Plan accordingly with technologically adept meeting space, ideal for corporate gatherings or intimate social functions. Depart from typical downtown hotels and take advantage of the revitalized Courtyard Downtown/River North Hotel located in the heart of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Courtyard Chicago Downtown
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing