We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #85 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location for anyone staying Chicago for fun or business. There are numerous excellent restaurants within walking distance or short cab ride. The Magnificent mile is a short walk, as is shopping on State Street, or any other in the area, for that matter.
The accomodations were excellent - clean with appealing decor, modern and comfortable. This is the first time we were met outside the hotel door by desk personnel, Adrion in our case, as well as the friendly and accomodating John, the doorman/bellman. Adrion welcomed us to the hotel and cared for our every need above and beyond anything we asked whenever she was on duty. John did the same from his post in addition to simply being friendly and welcoming. All of the staff was helpful and friendly, but these two were especially so. Breakfast at the restaurant attached to the hotel, Davanti Enoteca, was wonderful, and the take-out cafe, Glazed & Infused, also attached, was a great early morning addition for us.
This is the caliber we've come to expect from all the hotels in the Marriott group. This particular one was exceptional! We would stay there again whenever in Chicago.

Room Tip: Can't imagine there's a bad room in this wonderful hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stpeteisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled you had a good time and that the hotel exceeded your expectations!

I've shared your remarks with our team, and we gave shout-outs to Adrion and John! They were really honored that you mentioned them. Did you know that Adrion has been here since the hotel opened 20 years ago? She really knows her stuff, and has a passion for service and all things Chicago!

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel. We really hope you'll stay again next time!

Best regards,

Frankie S.
Senior Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    412
    114
    28
    12
See reviews for
208
182
45
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visited Chicago the weekend of September 13, 2013. ALL the employees were awesome!! Friendly, helpful, fun to joke around with. They treated us like family. Every time we left for an excursion and came back they were right there to ask us if we had fun and listen to our stories. Everyone from the security guard to the housekeepers were kind and friendly. The security guard Saturday night was awesome, My husband couldn't sleep late at night and he kept him company and gave him some history on Chicago. We were close and with in walking distance to all the activities. The rooms were clean, the entire hotel was clean, pools were clean. Beds and pillows were awesome. We loved the people and the amenities and will definitely be back!!! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving your review! We really appreciate that you chose the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North for your stay. It sounds like your Chicago vacation was a blast! I see you're from Watertown--River Bend is actually one of my favorite vacation spots!

We're glad you and your family had a wonderful time- our associates are very passionate and dedicated.

Thank you again for visiting, and we hope to see you next year.

-Frankie Solomon, Senior Exec. Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here on a second trip to Chicago and it was another fantastic experience in Illinois.The rooms were great, nice and large. Great view of the city, centered in downtown Chicago... just where I like to be. Good access to the city center, restaurants, shops, works great for moving around. Great value !!! Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adeyinka I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are so happy that you came back to stay with us again! Staying in River North is really the best of all worlds. We're glad you enjoy the room size and amenities, too! Thanks again for choosing us, and we hope to continue to host you time and time again. We love when our guests become our family!

All my best,

Frankie Solomon, Senior Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

There were three of us sharing a room and this worked perfectly for us. 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa gave us each a good night's sleep. Since we were just there for one night we didn't have a lot of luggage and there was ample room to move around. The sink was outside the bathroom which worked great for us. The bathroom itself was plenty large enough; I loved that I didn't have to squeeze beside the toilet just to get the door to shut.

We had breakfast downstairs at the restaurant and they had a nice buffet as well as allowing a la carte ordering. We each enjoyed our breakfast very much. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cards-Preds-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi there! Thanks for leaving a review! Next time you're in Chicago we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willington CT
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great area, easy access to a lot of places. Need to get the restaurant open though. Nice idea to have complimentary breakfast. Should be available for longer time in the morning though. Some people don't get up as early as others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed a few nights for a family vacation, room was clean, beds were comfortable and housekeeping did a great job. The hotel is very conveniently located to a lot of great restaurants and attractions and made walking a great alternatives to taking cabs everywhere. There is city noise, but I can't believe this wouldn't be found at other hotels in the area. The pool was small, as expected, but the sun deck/balcony area right off the pool was very nice for the adults to sit while the kids swam (sliding glass doors separated the area).

We are fairly loyal to the Marriott brand (work travel) but had other Marriott options to chose from in downtown Chicago. We are so glad we picked this hotel! The staff here was truly exceptional in every way. They greeted us both coming and going, asked the kids what they had just done and what they liked best. A bellman even told my daughter to grab an ice-cream treat from the snack area (for her Bday) and tell them "Ronnie the bellman will take care of it". While we travelled as a family this trip, we would return for business or for adult trips too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay, and it really sounds like you "lived it up" during your Chicago trip! Restaurants, pool time, sight-seeing and more-- you were very busy!

Our team works hard to help families like yours create memories for a lifetime. It's why we do what we do! We'd love to see you next time you're in town- whether for work or play!

Thank you again for choosing Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Typical great Marriott, with comfy beds, glasses instead of cheesy plastic cups, coffee AND a refrigerator! A small quiet one, perfect for snacks and drinks. The issue was noise. If you have an odd number room you are on the back and facing weekend party and road noise non-stop. Get an even numbered room facing Hubbard OR the interior wings up high for maximum peace and quiet. Mag Mile just up the street, Mdse Mart the opposite direction, Millennial Park/Grant Park and the shore within walking distance. Great stay!

Room Tip: Get a high room facing Hubbard or the interior for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peacecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi there! Thank you for leaving your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel!

Whenever possible, our team does our very best to honor guest preferences and provide you with a room that fits your needs. Being in the center of a city, there is always a lot happening around us. We are actively working with the surrounding businesses and community to create a peaceful neighborhood environment. We are also researching options in addition to our double-pane windows to help quiet the city-sounds in all rooms as well! Being downtown puts you in the heart of it all, and we aim to help our guests balance energy and rest!

Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
#54 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#62 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a haven of urban sophistication among downtown Chicago, hotels at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. Located in the trendy River North area on famed Restaurant Row, this hotel offers easy access to fine dining, exciting nightlife and the closest proximity to the EL Train. Experience the Windy City from the modern comforts of over-sized downtown hotel rooms offering plush bedding and amenities. Grab a gourmet doughnut and coffee at Glazed and Infused for breakfast, and enjoy a unique and authentic meal at Davanti Enoteca, located in the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. For those looking to stay fit on the road, the fitness center with indoor pool sets this hotel apart from the rest- not to mention a beautiful sundeck for when the weather is nice. Plan accordingly with technologically adept meeting space, ideal for corporate gatherings or intimate social functions. Depart from typical downtown hotels and take advantage of the revitalized Courtyard Downtown/River North Hotel located in the heart of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Courtyard Chicago Downtown
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing