We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #93 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed May 8, 2008

This hotel was in a fabulous location close to everything including Michigan Ave and great restaurants and bars. The rooms were nothing special but they were clean and modern. The staff was very helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a hotel at a good price in the heart of everything you can't beat this place!

Stayed: May 2008
Thank melrod26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (967)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

846 - 852 of 967 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend. Overall easy check in process, polite hotel staff, requested highest floor available and was able to get 22, out of a possible 24 or 25. Clean lobby, pretty good doormen and good housekeeping. The room was a general updated Marriott hotel room, about the only thing not really updated was the tv, but it was still fine. If there still was some outside construction going on at the hotel, certainly couldn't tell or hear, so I'll just assume that's done. Location was good, one block from Michigan Ave, few blocks from Millenium Park and Navy Pier, and about 3 blocks from the Grand EL station. Overall, nice clean hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbus1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We arrived at the hotel at 900 in the morning for check in. From the bell boys to front desk staff nothing but excellent service. We were able to check in early , and it was quick and painless. We stayed here for a day but everytime we had interaction with any staff the outcome was perfect. There is a starbucks on site, as well as state stree bread co. Had food from state street and it was pretty good.The room was spacious , and clean . The beds were heaven. We were on the 6th floor, same as the pool , hot tub and health room. There was also a sauna but it was out of order. I did not notice the chlorine smell other reviewers noticed. Also when you came off the elevator it smelled like new carpet, and the carpet looked new so I am assuming the hotel was renovated recently , or at least the carpets. Business center was sufficient but SMALL. I already have another reservation to stay at this hotel again in June.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bking406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The staff were helpfull and the room was big and clean. The location is good and within walking distance of most attactions. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Glos_UKJoefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Courtyard Downtown is very nice. Room Service was great and the food/drink was very good. I remember that Check-in for some reason took a long time, but other than that things went smoothly. I shall return on business.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
Thank RYanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2008

We stayed here for New Years Eve 2005-2006. The beds were comfortable, we didn't have any noise issues, the rooms were well sized, and the breakfast at the restaurant downstairs was decent. It's close to everything, which is why we chose it. Not to mention it was the best deal we could find last minute for New Years Eve!

Stayed: January 2006
Thank econ2econ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2008

We were spending a couple days in town and found this hotel to meet all of our needs! It's in an excellent location - not far from Michigan Ave and all the shopping, and just steps from our evening plans.
BB's, the restaurant just next door, is delicious as is Mother Hubbard's pizza, next to the 7-11. The Rockit was great fun and we would definently go again.
The staff at the hotel were all very helpful and accomadating in every way. The valet parking was convenient. Our room was clean and perfect for our needs.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalyHasMyHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
AC Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North

Address: 30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
#54 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#62 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $97 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a haven of urban sophistication among downtown Chicago, hotels at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. Located in the trendy River North area on famed Restaurant Row, this hotel offers easy access to fine dining, exciting nightlife and the closest proximity to the EL Train. Experience the Windy City from the modern comforts of over-sized downtown hotel rooms offering plush bedding and amenities. Grab a gourmet doughnut and coffee at Glazed and Infused for breakfast, and enjoy a unique and authentic meal at Davanti Enoteca, located in the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. For those looking to stay fit on the road, the fitness center with indoor pool sets this hotel apart from the rest- not to mention a beautiful sundeck for when the weather is nice. Plan accordingly with technologically adept meeting space, ideal for corporate gatherings or intimate social functions. Depart from typical downtown hotels and take advantage of the revitalized Courtyard Downtown/River North Hotel located in the heart of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Courtyard Chicago Downtown
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing