We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing Marriott!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #85 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very disappointing Marriott!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here for convention in March 2013. Have had good experience with Marriotts and Courtyards in the past. This location was very disappointing. The rooms are dated, dark and small. Soundproofing is absent so street noise is an all-night problem. The beds were very uncomfortable and small. Attempts have been made to modernize--for example, there is excellent availability of power outlets, but overall this is still a dated, uncomfortable location. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArmyDoc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We're so sorry we weren't able to meet your needs, but glad you'll be enjoying the many other Marriott accommodations worldwide. Should you have any specific feedback you'd like to provide, please contact us directly at (312)595-6407. Thank You again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    412
    114
    28
    12
See reviews for
208
182
45
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Bog standard Marriott courtyard in central location. Looking a bit tired, but staff were very friendly and bed was comfortable. My room was next to some air conditioning plant room, so some background noise.

Breakfast doesn't start until 7am, but the Starbucks counter was open at 6:30. There's nothing open for dinner, apart from a selection of chilled sandwiches and wraps etc. you are surrounded by lots of dining options so its not a problem.

Free wifi, basic toiletries (but no toothpaste) complete the deal.

So great if you are on a busy business trip, or tourists looking for your experiences outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkhamstedJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We do offer complimentary toothpaste and a host of other toiletries simply by dialing "0" from your guest room. We hope that you enjoyed our on-site options as well as the rest of your stay in River North. Please feel free to contact us ahead of your next visit to Chicago, we'd love to assist you in arranging your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a great location only a block off of the Magnificent Mile and really saved us some money compared to those hotels that sit right on the Magnificent Mile. The staff was very helpful when we asked about restaurants and gave us a recommendation with a certificate for a discount. The recommendation was very very good. Upon check in we noticed a hole in the wall. The heating vent had actually fallen out and they didn't know it. They moved us to a different room immediately and we didn't even have to go back down to the front desk. They came to us and brought us our new room key. The business center was very helpful (and free of charge) so we could print our boarding passes for our return flight.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. Since your visit we have completed a few renovations and invite you to stop in and see all of the changes. We hope you enjoyed your April 2012 stay and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights took the urban all inclusive package which included parking and breakfast.. the breakfast options were OK but could improve adding a buffet instead... the room was neat but still felt old and the washroom fixtures were old as well. Appears the hotel will be in need of renovations in the near future...l

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustafa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
258 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The location of the hotel is ideal from a walking and a public transportation perspective. It is easy to walk the couple of blocks to Michigan Ave to shopping or over the bridge to the art district. Because the hotel is located on the corner of State Street, it is also easy access to taxis and public transportation. The staff is great - very friendly and informative. The only negative about the hotel is that the walls are very thin and you the noise from inside the hotel can be very loud (people in the hall, in the room next door, etc.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casa1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your response. We're so glad you were able to enjoy your stay at our hotel, and your time in River North. We do provide ear plugs and other solutions for a quiet stay. Please contact us ahead of your next stay to discuss options, it would be our pleasure to assist you. Thank you again for your remarks and for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The members of the staff, including bellmen, front desk personnel, waiters, and housekeeping, were helpful in every way. They set the tone for our entire stay. The location was great; next door to Garrett's Popcorn, one block away from Corner Bakery, a block and a half from Michigan Avenue. We didn't need parking, so didn't pay the typical (high) Chicago parking garage rates. The pool and fitness center were clean and in great condition. The restaurant had great food. Would I stay there again? Definitely!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Comfortable, clean room with good bed but hotel looked tired and a bit frayed at the edges. Service ok, tho didn't get messages that were left for me on arrival.

Too much noise during the night. I know it's a city centre hotel but I've stayed in Chicago before in other hotels and didnt experience such noise. Still, the area is great for food - Shaw's across the road is superb.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback from your stay. We will be reviewing your comments with our leadership team, to ensure we are addressing the issues raised in your response. We are glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us, including a visit to Shaw's one of our favorite local restaurants. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
#54 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#62 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a haven of urban sophistication among downtown Chicago, hotels at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. Located in the trendy River North area on famed Restaurant Row, this hotel offers easy access to fine dining, exciting nightlife and the closest proximity to the EL Train. Experience the Windy City from the modern comforts of over-sized downtown hotel rooms offering plush bedding and amenities. Grab a gourmet doughnut and coffee at Glazed and Infused for breakfast, and enjoy a unique and authentic meal at Davanti Enoteca, located in the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. For those looking to stay fit on the road, the fitness center with indoor pool sets this hotel apart from the rest- not to mention a beautiful sundeck for when the weather is nice. Plan accordingly with technologically adept meeting space, ideal for corporate gatherings or intimate social functions. Depart from typical downtown hotels and take advantage of the revitalized Courtyard Downtown/River North Hotel located in the heart of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Courtyard Chicago Downtown
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing