We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“did not meet expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #88 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“did not meet expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed here recently on a business trip where I was stuck indoors due to inclement weather. I did not think this hotel was matched what I have seen in other Courtyards.
I stayed on the 8th floor and was bothered a lot by a loud noise throughout the day and into the evening.
The TV Direct TV did not work and the major network stations had poor reception.
The gym was well-stocked, but very dingy. No water bottles or towels were provided.
The restaurant is only opened for breakfast and lunch (not that I had a problem finding a good place to eat dinner nearby). I ate breakfast at the restaurant which was expensive and tasteless.
The staff was friendly, however, when trying to check out, the front desk answered a phone call in the midst of my transaction and made me wait almost 5 more minutes to complete it.
The location is great, but less than I was expecting from a Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessZoladz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your remarks. We are truly sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. We understand that the city noise is difficult to adjust to, and we offer our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience. We thank you for your patronage and invite you to contact us directly to discuss your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    408
    113
    28
    12
See reviews for
205
179
45
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my fiancé and another couple. The location of this hotel cannot be beat. State street is surrounded by bars and restaurants and is conveinient to many sight or a short cab ride. The hotel staff were friendly, the room and hotel facilities were very well maintained and clean. The billy goat tavern and portfolios are just down/up the street (different directions). I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandGirl_345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and friends recently stayed at this hotel this past weekend. Courtyard was recommended by my wife because she stayed at one in Louisville, KY. The only problem was we didn't know which one to choose since there is literally another one a several blocks away. After experiencing this one, I know for a fact that we will be returning to this location the next time we're in Chicago.

At the front desk, we were greeted by Jock. Jock is hands down, the best representative I've ever met. Not only was he friendly and extremely helpful, but he had an excellent sense of humor and made us feel as if we knew him for years.

The location is extremely convenient and you can get nearly anywhere downtown after several minutes of walking. The restaurant area is shared with Starbucks and the hotel's own cafe. We got our room with breakfast included @ the cafe and the food is very good.

As for our room, we got the corner room King Suite (room 1415) with a great view down state street. It was very roomy and comfortable. Wifi worked well (my wife watched Netflix at night) and this is partly due to the fact that the access point was located just a few doors down from our room.

Other amenities include swimming pool, sauna, workout room, and whirlpool. We didn't use these, but we did look at them and had I brought my swimming trunks, I probably would have tested them out.

Very impressed and I love this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faluzure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your remarks. We are so appreciative of your business and look forward to hosting your next visit to Chicago. We'll be sure to share your remarks with Jock and the rest of our team. Thank you again for your review, and your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

2 couples for a weekend trip to Chicago. We booked through a 3rd party site and the reservation was for one room instead of 2. Amanda at the front desk was awesome, she got us a second room at a great rate. John helped us with transportation, the entire staff was really friendly and accomodating. Room was perfect for our needs and clean.
We love this part of downtown, great bars (Rossis) and restaurants within walking distance. Would definately stay here again. We have stayed at many others downtown costing a lot more money and by far this was the best in customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie8338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Another great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Guest Service Representatives are dedicated to providing the best possible experience for our guests. Amanda and John are wonderful and they're a pleasure to work with each day. Thank you so much for staying with us, I will be sure to share your review with John, Amanda, and the rest of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is a perfect spot for anyone who wants to explore Chicago. It's in an area with good food options, especially Shaw's Crab House across the street. You can quickly walk anywhere you'd like downtown within minutes, or hop on the El to other neighborhoods in 10-30 minutes. The beds are comfy, amenities are nice, and the staff is ridiculously friendly. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks so much for the amazing review! We love our neighborhood and we're glad you enjoyed your time exploring River North and the rest of the city. We hope you'll join us for your next trip to Chicago, we'd love to point you towards some of our favorite places to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is our first time at this hotel. We loved it! The price was very good, and the location was perfect for us. Shaw's Crab House, our favorite restaurant in Chicago, is right across the street. The room was not large, but it was clean and the king-sized bed was extremely comfortable. I like the layout-with the sink and vanity outside of the toilet and shower area. Our only negative was the Wi-Fi. It didn't work consistently. We weren't in our room much, so I didn't mention it to the front desk. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We're so glad you enjoyed your first stay with us and would love to welcome you back on your next trip to Chicago. We love all of the culinary delights offered in our community and we're glad you were able to take advantage of the wonderful experience and food offered at Shaw's. Thank you again, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there a week for conference. Excellent service from the staff. The breakfasts and lunches was served especially for the particisnts. the rooms were nice and clean.
The lication was great for going to restaurants in the evening. Should gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you were able to enjoy your time with us, while getting work accomplished in our meeting space. Thank you so much for your business we hope to see you on your next trip to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
#54 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#62 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a haven of urban sophistication among downtown Chicago, hotels at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. Located in the trendy River North area on famed Restaurant Row, this hotel offers easy access to fine dining, exciting nightlife and the closest proximity to the EL Train. Experience the Windy City from the modern comforts of over-sized downtown hotel rooms offering plush bedding and amenities. Grab a gourmet doughnut and coffee at Glazed and Infused for breakfast, and enjoy a unique and authentic meal at Davanti Enoteca, located in the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. For those looking to stay fit on the road, the fitness center with indoor pool sets this hotel apart from the rest- not to mention a beautiful sundeck for when the weather is nice. Plan accordingly with technologically adept meeting space, ideal for corporate gatherings or intimate social functions. Depart from typical downtown hotels and take advantage of the revitalized Courtyard Downtown/River North Hotel located in the heart of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Courtyard Chicago Downtown
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing