We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Comfortable & Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #85 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quiet, Comfortable & Great Location”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Typical Courtyard downtown type property. Great location in Chicago's River North neighborhood, near Michigan Avenue, shopping, and numerous restaurants, pubs, etc. Starbucks in the lobby. Didn't really notice any city street noises. It was very quiet. Rooms were of the newer Courtyard variety...comfortable bed, well equipped and "connected". Didn't have to hassle with parking and the rate for this particular night was very reasonable ($114 + tax) although it can be considerably higher depending on demand.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UWJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned, River North is home to a world of culinary options, shopping destinations, all of which are walking distance from our hotel. We would love to assist you in planning your next stay by recommending some of our favorite places. Please feel free to contact us for more information. Thank you again for your patronage, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    412
    114
    28
    12
See reviews for
208
182
45
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Depends what you need, but 50 bucks a day valet parking, and disgracefully poor wireless internet in the rooms means I wont be back at this location. They do have starbucks attached which is nice, restaurant also nice, if not a tad pricey but it is the city so not moreso than the surrounding area. That said, I am on a business trip and the wireless internet is terrible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay. We're so sorry our hotel and service didn't meet your internet and valet parking needs. We would love to discuss your specific issues with your stay in more detail, so that we can prevent future occurences. Please contact me at (312) 595-6407. Thank you again for your feedback and patronage. We truly appreciate it. Warm Regards, Anesha Ali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
213 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed one night at this hotel for work, and was totally satisfied with the stay. As others have mentioned, there is street noise - i was on 11th floor - but I believe this should be expected when in a Downtown area.

I was upgraded to a suite - which I guess I would call small by suite standards, but plenty large enough for me. Room had usual Courtyard amenities, including fridge. Room was very clean, service staff was great.

Fitness Room here is pretty nice, surely enough equipment to allow you to not have to go on the hunt for a gym. It is actually shared with the attached condo complex, so pool, sauna, free weights and plenty of machines

Valet parking was quick, bit expensive at $50.00 per night

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobBflo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your remarks! We are happy to offer all of the necessities of your local fitness club, ensuring you can stick to your routine while staying with us. Aside from our two workout areas we are also proud to offer a lap pool, sauna, hot tub, and lots of outdoor patio space. We would also love to recommend some of our neighbors if you should have any interest in group fitness classes. Thank you again for your kind remarks, we hope to see you again on your next trip to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The entire staff could not have been more friendly and responsive. The room and King size bed was very comfortable. The hotel is located just off of the "magnificent mile" and is close to everything of interest. The only negative for me was the lack of an in room microwave oven.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are truly appreciative of your patronage, and your feedback. We've recently installed a state of the art commercial microwave in our market and would be pleased to assist you in heating your items during your next stay. We thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Courtyard group is a business range at reasonable prices (this one was USD 197 = 230 including taxes etc) and the downtown Chicago example is typical but is also well placed fro the famous Magnificent Mile (aka Michigan Avenue) shopping street. Very friendly staff and good clean rooms. Most are quiet – I drew the short straw with 1422 being opposite the ice machine – maybe best to ask about this.
I got free WiFi but annoyingly, you need to log on each time.

Room Tip: Avoid the elevators and ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davcosLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This Courtyard is wonderfully located for the Magnificent Mile. The front desk staff noted my previous stays, though my Marriott Gold status & preferences were irrelevant, as the hotel was very full. The room was on the 23rd fl overlooking St.Claire with a hint of a view of the lake, but was quite noisy due to fire trucks and ambulance traffic (normal in a congested urban area). Minor room issues, the energy efficient light in the shower/toilet area is so slow to warm/brighten up, half my shower seemed to be in the dark. The room carpet was worn, and needs to be replaced.
The Starbucks seems to be stuffed into a closet, staff was friendly and quick, w/lines at all hours it was open. The Vendi restaurant waitstaff was quite accommodating to my diet requests, friendly and efficient, though the chairs, tables and lighting in the restaurant are dreadful. The room service menu needs more kid friendly & lighter fare items.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ca6440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I really liked this place, the room was spacious and staff were lovely and there was this very friendly porter who always was opened the door and very smiley. In my opinion it was great in every way and near everything :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 277JSM_2012_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on having the friendliest hotel associates in Chicago, we're glad you agree. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
#54 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#62 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a haven of urban sophistication among downtown Chicago, hotels at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. Located in the trendy River North area on famed Restaurant Row, this hotel offers easy access to fine dining, exciting nightlife and the closest proximity to the EL Train. Experience the Windy City from the modern comforts of over-sized downtown hotel rooms offering plush bedding and amenities. Grab a gourmet doughnut and coffee at Glazed and Infused for breakfast, and enjoy a unique and authentic meal at Davanti Enoteca, located in the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. For those looking to stay fit on the road, the fitness center with indoor pool sets this hotel apart from the rest- not to mention a beautiful sundeck for when the weather is nice. Plan accordingly with technologically adept meeting space, ideal for corporate gatherings or intimate social functions. Depart from typical downtown hotels and take advantage of the revitalized Courtyard Downtown/River North Hotel located in the heart of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Courtyard Chicago Downtown
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing