We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #95 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed January 14, 2008

My family and I stayed at this hotel over Thanksgiving. It was nice, clean and staff were very friendly. The Desk person (people) were great anything I asked they had the right answer. The Bell Hop was cool. He had my 2 boys laughing all the way up to the 15th floor. In the little Café type thing the order taking lady was so friendly. We really did not know what we wanted. She took a whole lot of time telling us what was good, what she liked. She also put up with my kids doing Kid things. The cook was a very cool guy, I forgot to ask for extra cheese. So I asked him if he could put some on, with out thinking twice he put extra, then said yes. And they didn't charge me for it. The price per night was very good. Well worth it. We had a great time in Chicago, it is like New York City, only the people are NICER. Would HIGHLY recommend this Hotel and City to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wandering_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 974 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2007

I love the Courtyard on Ontario in Chicago. To start off the hotel lobby smells incredible, and has a warmth I cant explain. The service is always excellent from the time you arrive at the door till your stay is over. The rooms are all very nice, and the location is great! Overall I love this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank walleyeotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

If you are going to stay in downtown Chicago, you bite the bullet & pay the price. The price flucuates with what events are happening in town. The strong point of this hotel is the staff particularly the bellhops who are very knowledgeable about tourist attractions, restaurants, etc. Also the location is good when connecting to buses & trains. The hotel has a Starbucks off the lobby. There are several good restaurants within walking distance. We found a Greek deli bar (one block N on State St) with a great $5 breakfast. Shopping is also close by on Michigan Ave & State St. Rooms are small but with a nice decor. I asked for a new shower curtain liner & got it immediately. Supposedly the rooms are going to be remodeled in 2008.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SunPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2007

We were booked into the Red Roof Inn across the street- a wedding group. The hotel was in such bad shape, we came across the street and had the best four days in Chicago, mainly because our Marriott hotel experience was so wonderful. The desk clerks were very helpful in getting us into the hotel on a moments notice and the town was filled conventions and every hotel was booked. They did find us a room and a beautiful one at that. The halls were spacious and decorated so beautifully. So clean and the rooms were very modern. We just loved the room and bathroom. We used the pool and again-so clean. The staff were very helpful with directions. This location was the best- walking distance to everything. We went to plays, Michigan Ave for all the great shopping-food-pier. We will definitely stay here again and refer this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tutorpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2007

We stayed at the Courtyard 9/15/07 & 9/16/07. It was my birthday weekend so there were a total of 4 of us (me and 3 girlfriends). My husband & I have a travel club so we're used to staying in condo only.
Check In:
We didn't check in till about 2am or a bit later. There were 2 people at the front desk. I walked up to the one guy that wasn't on the phone and he pointed to the guy on the phone. So I waited for him to get off the phone & he checked me in. I requested 2 double beds. I had booked a king room on price line for $92 per night & when I called at 1pm earlier that day the guy told me that when we checked in if there were 2 double beds available we could switch. When we were about 1 hour away from the hotel I called anonymously to ask if they had any rooms with 2 double beds available and we were told there were several. The guy at the counter acted like since I booked through priceline he was doing me this HUGE favor by switching us to a 2 double bed room. But he gave off the impression that he could work some magic and get me what I wanted. Since I had read the reviews on here b4 we booked it I asked for a mini fridge & microwave. He told me that he & the other guy were the only ones working at that time of night, so he could have a mini-fridge to us in the morning, but there were no microwaves left. I said ok, no problem.
The Room:
The room was rather small for the price. The TV wasn't impressive. Flat screen, but not the thin plasma style, maybe about 27 or 32 inches. The sink outside the bathroom was pretty small, little counter space for 1 person (and there were 4 of us). The bathroom was a good size the shower curtain & rings were very nice. The towels were low quality and smell a little too strongly of bleach. There was a small coffee maker on the sink along with a few packs of coffee, but there wasn't enough sugar or crème. There was a nice cushy chair w/ ottoman in the corner. A thin tall desk w/ a keyboard on it. was in the other corner with a firm swivel desk chair w/ a high back.
Now on to the best part of our stay... the bed. WOW! It was amazing. Fitting 2 people into a double bed normally would be rather uncomfortable. But this was a cloud from heaven. On top of the terrific mattress & box spring there was a feather bed overlay. It was amazing. You sink right in and don't want to move. Other reviews said they had a problem w/ the feathers poking them, but I had NO such issue. The bedding seemed to be a higher thread count and was very nice.
The pool was closed & we weren't tired so we went to look around the hotel. We stumbled upon a room that said 'authorized personnel only', but it was unlocked & the door was ajar. In this room were piles upon piles of microwaves and friges. I can't believe that guy lied to me!! So we used the dolly that was sitting there and wheeled our own fridge & microwave down to our room.
NO Breakfast???:
The next morning we were looking forward to fresh fruit, muffins, bagels and make your own waffles like I had read about in the review. I called down to the front desk and it rang for almost 1 minute and 40 seconds. I asked where the complimentary breakfast was located. They said there is only complimentary coffee. I was so pissed. If I pay $92 per night I was expecting at least cold cereal or danish or doughnuts or something. I can stay at a hotel for $40 a night and at least get stale doughnuts & coffee & tea. They have a full Star Bucks & a little cafe that serves a buffet breakfast for $15-16. Again I was really angry.
Parking:
They offer valet parking for $41 per day, BUT you can park less than 1 short block away for $12 per day. Walk out the front door of the hotel, turn left walk about 1 block, maybe 1.5 block and there is a lot that has a guard there 24 hours.
Checkout:
Check out was speedy, but the woman didn't ask how my stay was, so I didn't say anything. I figured I'd write to the company. A very very very nice bellhop loaded up all of stuff onto a cart and wheeled it down to our car 1.5 blocks away. He was awesome, but I can't remember his name. We tipped him well.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again for the price. I expected more. Maybe I expected too much, maybe I'm spoiled by staying in condos when we travel. This is just my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sargent5605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

The location was very convenient. A block from the El station and down the street from Pizzeria Uno, ESPN Zone and other restaurants. For a free continental breakfast, it was very good. Fruit, juices, cereal, bagels, muffins, homeade waffles. My only negative was the size of our room. We had a queen sized bed, non-smoking room. The room was small. We did not plan to spend much time in the room, so once we adjusted to it, it worked out fine.

Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

I spent a week here for business, and I was really impressed with this place. The staff was courteous and knowledgable about the area, (recommending a few restaurants in the area). The room I had was a king sized bed and there was plenty of room. I also enjoyed the free USA Today delivered daily to my room. This hotel is within walking distance of the House of Blues, ESPN Zone, The Webber Grill, and Redfish bar and grill. Also right on a bus line that will take you to Navy Pier and the Mag Mile. Only complaint I have about this hotel is that there is no wireless available. But they do have free broadband in the rooms!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kkoene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
AC Hotel Chicago Downtown
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North

Address: 30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Chicago
#54 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#62 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $103 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a haven of urban sophistication among downtown Chicago, hotels at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. Located in the trendy River North area on famed Restaurant Row, this hotel offers easy access to fine dining, exciting nightlife and the closest proximity to the EL Train. Experience the Windy City from the modern comforts of over-sized downtown hotel rooms offering plush bedding and amenities. Grab a gourmet doughnut and coffee at Glazed and Infused for breakfast, and enjoy a unique and authentic meal at Davanti Enoteca, located in the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. For those looking to stay fit on the road, the fitness center with indoor pool sets this hotel apart from the rest- not to mention a beautiful sundeck for when the weather is nice. Plan accordingly with technologically adept meeting space, ideal for corporate gatherings or intimate social functions. Depart from typical downtown hotels and take advantage of the revitalized Courtyard Downtown/River North Hotel located in the heart of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Courtyard Chicago Downtown
Chicago Courtyard
Chicago Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing