We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$440
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
$359
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
barbara r

Great place to stay downtown

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 7, 2019via mobile
Very friendly staff. The hotel bathroom was large and modern. Room was very nice. Right in the middle of the loop. Had a great stay. We had a drink at the bar, cool vibe. We were able to walk to nearby shopping onState street.
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$855
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $770
  • Algotels
    $683
  • travelup.com
    $814
0.5 miles from Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$399
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $399
  • Algotels
    $386
  • Expedia.com
    $399
0.7 miles from Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Nigel Barker Art
Booking.com
$615
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $645
  • ZenHotels.com
    $529
  • Expedia.com
    $645
0.8 miles from Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$569
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $507
  • Official Website
0.4 miles from Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$520
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $520
  • ZenHotels.com
    $438
  • Expedia.com
    $522
0.9 miles from Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Wyndham
$305
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • travelup.com
    $305
  • Algotels
    $308
  • Skyscanner.com
    $305
3.7 miles from Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$435
  • travelup.com
    $435
  • Algotels
    $404
  • Skyscanner.com
    $442
0.5 miles from Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Restaurant
Room service
SpringHill Suites
$154
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Vio.com
    $154
  • Skyscanner.com
    $154
  • Trip.com
    $154
12.7 miles from Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $500
  • Expedia.com
    $502
  • travelup.com
0.4 miles from Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Chicago
Reviews (2,715)
Filter reviews
2,716 results
Traveler rating
1,789
672
166
44
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,789
672
166
44
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the loop millennium park art institute great location l train within walking distance the bean blue line front desk staff two blocks public transportation room was spacious sitting area state street valet parking definitely stay here again palmer house
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 2,716 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2019

First of all, the staff at the hotel was without exception friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was clean and updated. However, they lost a star with their surprise $20 a night “destination fee” which covered toiletries, luggage storage until checkout, and high speed Internet which was NOT high speed, barely better than DSL. Also, while there was a large HD tv in the room, the offerings were basic cable, not even a premium channel which every 3 star hotel I’ve stayed at offers. It seems that if hotels can’t charge a resort fee they will find some other way to pad the bill.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Stepitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 3, 2019

We recently stayed at the Silversmith due to its location to the CIBC Theatre. I read the reviews and thought it would be perfect. However, I was a bit disappointed. Over the years we have stayed at many Chicago hotels but this was definitely our least favorite. The good points: location, friendly staff. The negative points: tiny room with a double bed, air conditioning that blows directly onto the bed when you are trying to sleep, the noise of the "L" (we were on the highest floor and it was still super loud), sneaky "resort" fee ( I asked what was included and was told "ice, water bottles and wifi). Everyone knows this is an accepted ripoff but I still feel that customers deserve better. Overall, not worth the price.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Brazilla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 2, 2019 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of its location and the TripAdvisor reviews. The rooms are great. The entire staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are modern and comfortable
Try to get a room away from the El but it didn’t bother us

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank JB5445
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 31, 2019

We can't say enough good things about our stay at the Silversmith for 4 nights mid-July. Staff was terrifc, beds were super comfy, rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. It is in a perfect location - in the theater district (Hamilton is around the corner!))and close to the Art Institute! We even walked to the Field Museum and Navy Pier! Great restaurants nearby and don't miss the Goddess & the Baker across the street for breakfast or a treat with coffee! (6 girlfriends from Fargo/Moorhead, travelled to Chicago by Amtrak train)

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TeresaN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 31, 2019

We chose this hotel because of the reviews & the area. The hotel was nice, modern, and I liked the allergen free options. The bellman was positive & helpful, we had a lot of items, and the bedding was plush & soft.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews