We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Hard to Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #17 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location, Hard to Find”
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I stayed here for three nights for a business conference. Located right in the heart of downtown Chicago (near Millennium Park), the Silversmith hotel is surprisingly difficult to locate, at least for me. The hotel staff & valet are very helpful and outgoing, and the room is clean and comfortable. The hotel was a tough find because it's located near the train and has a very undistinguished front door (on South Wabash Avenue between East Madison Street and East Monroe Street next to the TCF Bank). For this meeting, I was deciding between the Silversmith and Holiday Inn Mart Plaza, and I think I'll try the Holiday Inn next time for comparison.

The Good
1. Great location. Walking distance to Millennium/Grant Park, State Street (shopping), and Intelligentsia Coffee.
2. The hotel and valet staff are friendly and helpful; even at midnight. I had an 100 lbs product shipped to the hotel, and it was brought to my room when I checked in and brought back down in the morning. While I had no other alternative but to use the hotel's valet service, I felt the valet service was very professional and courteous. Each morning, I would called down for my car to be readied at a certain time and it was always on-time and ready to go. Look it up on Google Map's "Street View" before heading there.

The Not-So-Good
1. The complimentary internet is extremely slow. Think 28.8k dial-up speed. This was very annoying because I was kept up trying to access emails and vendor info because only one would operate at any given time.
2. While on the highest floor (10th), I can still hear the train operating directly in front of the hotel.
3. Parking is über expensive: $42/day, but I doubt other comparable hotels in the area are charging less. From previous posts, I read about a nearby parking garage that charges less, but I was told that the nearby parking garage charges each time you enter and exit the garage. Since I was constantly in-and-out, I reluctantly paid the hotel's parking fees.
4. The room's decor is dated.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candsyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,298
    555
    129
    32
    35
See reviews for
399
734
126
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lenexa, kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Nice hotel with a good bar and restaurant downstairs. The El goes by on Wabash but sounds from the room like just a high wind, not a problem for sleeping. The concierge and doormen were very friendly and helpful.
We traveled to Chicago in mid-May to attend graduation ceremonies in Hyde Park. There were no available rooms in Hyde Park, so this was a great location, especially for someone needing to use public transportation. The hotel is right on an orange line stop (Wabash/Madison), which is convenient for coming from Midway with carry-on luggage. You could take the Metra to Hyde Park, but we walked 1 1/2 blocks to State Street and caught the #6 bus to 57th street.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiesojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We took the train into town for the weekend and picked the Silversmith because we wanted to be close to everything and got a great deal on the room (under $100). We walked into the hotel and everyone was incredibly friendly. The concierge was happy to direct us to a non-Starbucks coffee shop as well as help us find a restaurant for dinner. Even the housekeeping staff we met in the halls greeted us with a friendly "Good morning!"

The room was great and had a separate living room and bedroom. The bathroom, too, was huge, with a separate tub and shower. Everything was spotlessly clean. Yes, the furniture was a bit old (but still comfortable) and the TVs were not flat-screen HD-this-or-that, but they worked just fine. We were right next to the elevator, but we heard no noise at night.

The hotel was a 10 minute walk to Michigan Avenue, and 5 minutes to the Chicago Theater, where we had tickets for a show. It was also walking distance to Millennium Park, the Art Institute, Union Station, and a ton of great restaurants.

In short, this hotel was a great deal, a central location with friendly staff and spacious rooms. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DairyQueenWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

careful not to be close to train line! large rooms, very basic, dated furniture, old carpet but all very clean. clearly run with extreme cost cutting measures in mind. large safe in room.
beds are too old, pillows too high and stiff. got back and neck pains after 3 nights. No coffee machine. At least a kettle would be nice. Free morning coffee in lobby is practically coloured water (good thing starbucks is nearby). They should replace the slow inkjet in the lobby and add just one more computer to relieve the log jam in the mornings for printing boarding passes. Free internet is overrated and always overloaded, i would rather pay for a decent connection but you don't have the option. Not a good deal for business.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soldelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2010

The room was ok, but the service was terrible. Their broadband cable internet did not work so I called the front desk and the only response I got was that I could come down to the lobby and use the public wifi.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Spent 2 nights and agree with the general praise. Excellent location, quality and comfort. Only complaint: no coffee-maker in rooms. We had an inward facing room on 8th floor and could hear the El faintly. It did not bother our sleep. THANKS TO THE REVIEWER WHO SUGGESTED PARKING AT THE MILLENNIUM GARAGE. It's a short walk from the hotel and almost half the price. Check it out:
http://www.millenniumgarages.com/garages/millennium-park-garage.aspx

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmorahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Spent a couple of nights here for a business trip. Surprised when I opened the room door to find that the room had a separate sitting room, large bedroom with king bed, and a huge bath. Room was clean and well maintained with a comfortable king bed. Sound from the L was muted but not silent. As a light sleeper, I was awoken a few times, but I don't think it would bother most guest. Fabulous location!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 010101144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 189 in Chicago
8,731 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,534 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,730 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
995 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing