We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful but noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Silversmith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #15 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2006

I stayed at the Crown Plaza in September 06 and should have heeded a tripadvisor review to get a room away from the L. It is a very nice hotel, very comfy room, but there is the regular whooshing sound of the L. The complimentary bag of sleep aids, including earplugs are a nice touch, and they did help. However, I would only go back if I could be assured of a room away from the L.

  • Liked — the room was very comfortable
  • Disliked — noisy, no wireless internet access in the room
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank govtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    537
    128
    30
    34
See reviews for
383
714
119
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
charleston, south carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2006

I recently stayed for 4 days at the hotel. One of the best features is it's location and service but the staff seemed 'understaffed'. For the most part, every one was very professional and accomodating (except for one concierge who suggested I call the restaurant to change my reservations). It just seemed like they needed one more person. The hotel was full at the time which may explain the situation. There were several 'glitches' ; the room keys easily became demagnitized and didn't work; the safe in my room needed some maintenance; and room service didn't deliver breakfast at the requested time. On a positive note, there were several nice amenities, including comfortable beds/pillows, housekeeping, a relaxation CD, earplugs, dark velvet draperies that darkened the room, cheesecake in the lobby during the evenings, and personal wake up call that included the daily weather report. If you are planning to make a reservation in the near future, request a room away from the construction taking place across the street.

  • Liked — The staff and location
  • Disliked — room keys that stopped working
  • Tips/Secrets — reserve a room away from the construction
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank justwundering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2006

This is a great location for downtown Chicago events. Suite was lovely, and reasonably priced. But as usual: ask the desk clerk for discounts until you get what you think you should get. The Frank Lloyd Wright motif went throughout the hotel, and the coordination was rather soothing, but the uniform brown was monotonoujs. Except you'd really have to take it up with Frank Lloyd Wright. Only problem was the restaurant downstairs, which was frankly not good food. But the pizza parlor across Wabash was fine.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank DWGriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2006

Hotel was centrally located to attractions and within easy walking distance. Enjoyed the beautiful room and the turndown service. If staying go to the Italian Village, a short walk, the food was awesome. Would definitely stay her again in the future.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The View
  • Tips/Secrets — Book room in back of hotel on an upper floor away from train
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyomingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza this weekend, Sept. 15-17. We were amazed how good the hotel was, from the location (next to the L) to the great service and rooms. After looking to find a hotel we choose this one by the user feedback on this site and couldn't have been happier. We got a rate of $189 a night!!

Location: Next to the L and a block from the Millennium Park. Also a 10 minute walk to Michigan Ave. Couldn't pick a better spot in terms of walkability. Another plus is there's a restaurant across the street that's open till 3AM, which we tried when our flight was delayed and got in at 11PM. A nice bonus.

Room: We requested and got a room towards the back so we wouldn't be bothered by the L. The room was very clean, very comfortable bed, and large bathroom. The room was very quiet and comfortable.

Service: Very good. Fast check-in, helpful in getting directions, and coffee in the lobby in the morning for those early departures to the airport.

As far as I'm concerned, the best value in Chicago and I will not stay anywhere else in the future.

  • Liked — Value: Price, location and cleaniness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — As for a room toward the back away from the L
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank kcplaza2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2006

It is rare for a hotel's service to exceed expectations. I make a point of selecting hotels based on comments made on TripAdvisor, and as a result, set high expectations. The Silversmith exceeded my high expectations. They deserve my time to stop and make an endorsement.

The hotel's overall facility, rooms, and bathrooms are upscale and in very good condition. Relaxing classical music is played in the lobby and the staff covers every detail in making sure you get a quiet night's sleep as part of the Crown Plaza Hotels Sleep Program. Our requests for amenities were addressed promptly and courteously by every staff member we met. In summary, it is a First Class hotel.

The Silversmith is also perfectly located for walking access to Milennium Park, Grant Park, Marshall Field's, the gorgeous waterfront and it's walking path to all of the major museums including the Art and Field Museums. There are also plenty of fine dining and quick bite establishments surrounding the hotel.

For anyone seeking a great place to stay while touring downtown Chicago, The Silversmith is your best bet.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank taschenck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2006

I had to go to Chicago for a week for some training, I had also taken my daughter, mom, and little sister (I figured they could play and sightsee while I worked.) WHAT A GREAT HOTEL!!! They were extremely courteous, upgraded us to a suite no problem and no charge. Housekeeping to the front desk employees bent over backwards to help us with everything!! There was also a dessert bar every night (Mon-Thur) at 9pm in the lobby! The El was not noisy like I thought it would be in the room, outside standing underneath it is different. GO Eat at Carmine's, and Italian Village. ADA's was great too and located at the hotel. The Valet service was great, busy but great!! It's worth the $30/day to not have to park it yourself! I HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. FANTASTIC!!!

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Nothing that I can recall
  • Tips/Secrets — Taxi's are expensive, bus or El train is worth it...
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
27 Thank italnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#97 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,394 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing