We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$323
Priceline
$323
Go to your Happy Price
Algotels
$289
Fully refundable before Tue, Jun 4
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Jean L
Miami, Florida

Silversmith Hotel is a Gem in Downtown Chicago

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 4, 2016
Silversmith Hotel has everything you could want in a downtown hotel: great location, large and comfortable rooms, inviting lobby and excellent service. Close to Art Institute, Willis Tower, Millennium Park and the historic Marshall Fields flagship store which is now Macy's. Reasonably priced as well. Ask at the front desk and you can get a reduced price on an enjoyable river cruise.
Date of stay: August 2016
Room Tip: I had a room on the sixth floor and it was very quiet.
Trip type: Traveled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank L, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review
Responded Sep 8, 2016
Thank you, Jean, for your review of Silversmith Hotel. I am happy to hear that you took advantage of our convenient location nearby top area attractions. We hope you will be joining us again on your next visit to Chicago when perhaps you will try our onsite restaurant and lounge, Adamus.

Regards,
Frank Leone
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$356
  • travelup.com
    $386
  • Expedia.com
    $351
  • Priceline
    $356
0.5 miles from Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$278
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $278
  • Expedia.com
    $274
  • Hotels.com
    $278
0.7 miles from Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Nigel Barker Art
Booking.com
$423
Fully refundable
  • 21c MUSEUM
    $326
  • Algotels
    $181
  • Hotels.com
    $444
0.8 miles from Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$322
  • Official Website
    $322
  • Algotels
    $270
  • Priceline
    $322
0.4 miles from Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Wyndham
$212
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Skyscanner.com
    $164
  • ZenHotels.com
    $151
  • Algotels
    $158
3.7 miles from Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$451
Fully refundable
  • travelup.com
    $413
  • StayForLong
    $398
  • Vio.com
    $405
0.5 miles from Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$125
  • Priceline
    $125
  • Skyscanner.com
    $125
  • Expedia.com
    $125
12.7 miles from Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Free Wifi
Pool
travelup.com
$635
  • Hotels.com
    $1,468
  • Algotels
    $624
  • Vio.com
    $1,468
0.4 miles from Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Chicago
Reviews (2,716)
Filter reviews
2,719 results
Traveler rating
1,791
673
166
44
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,791
673
166
44
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the loop millennium park art institute great location l train within walking distance the bean blue line front desk staff two blocks public transportation room was spacious sitting area state street valet parking definitely stay here again palmer house
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
836 - 841 of 2,719 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

Came to Chicago for work and really enjoyed my stay. The staff was great and the hotel was clean and well kept. The room was a good size, and the fact they give you water bottles was nice. I will definitely stay here in the future if I am back in the area.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Rohit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank L, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

Thank you for the wonderful review of Silversmith Hotel. I am happy to hear that our spacious guestroom and friendly associates left a lasting impression on you. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to the Windy City.

Best,
Frank Leone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

The hotel is well located in Chicago. Yes the roadwork out the front makes it a little difficult to get to by vehicle but it's not that bad. The noise is mainly during the day, except this morning when they appeared to deliver steel at 06.00! The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly. We had a minor maintenance issue which was attended to immediately. We also had an issue with connecting our mobile phones to the wifi. We were put through to a help desk person, who managed to get one device connected while I was on the phone. The room (914) was an odd shape, but clean. The only issue (my pet hate), is that every day the room is made up, the toiletries that are replaced doesn't match what is used or there at check-in. The other issue is that, although there vis a coffee machine, they have take out cups, which on one day weren't replaced. We got back after a long day and wanted a coffee but had to wait 30 minutes before we got some sent up. The other issue was that you couldn't open a window due to noise and the A/C was a little noisy.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dieter_Sch_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank L, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Thank you for your review of Silversmith Hotel. I apologize for the construction that is happening outside our property, and we do expect this to wrap up soon. Our associates continue to provide personable service for our guests and I am glad that you enjoyed this aspect of your stay. I am sorry about the WiFi and A/C issues you experienced and I am addressing this with my team to see how we may avoid a similar situation in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to DC.

Best,
Frank Leone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

Great value of money comparing to other hotels. We had room with no view to the backyard, on the other hand we havent heard anything from the ongoing construction work. We didnt care about that because we spent most of the time in the city anyway. There are plenty of options to go for breakfast within few metres and if not metro is also close (several lines). Room was big enough and clean,wifi was also good and stable.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Svestka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank L, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Thank you for choosing Silversmith Hotel. We will be happy to provide you with a room with a view next time, and please do specify this upon booking. I hope you will join us again on your next trip to Chicago when perhaps you might enjoy our signature restaurant, Adamus.

Best,
Frank Leone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016

The room was very nicely furnished, house keeping was great.
The hotel is located near everything. Room was spacious, had a fridge and the bathroom was very inviting and practical.
Only a few minuses: Railroad track just outside the front of the hotel, but that is Chicago for you. Ask for room in the back, less view but better from a noise perspective.
The hotel is quite expensive, and the fact that it has no free parking adds a huge chunk to the bill.
If we come back to downtown Chicago, we will be back to Silversmith.

Room tip: Rooms in the back are more quiet.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travelfamilyof7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank L, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Silversmith Hotel. I am happy to hear that our accommodations exceeded your expectations, and that you took advantage of our prime location. We are always happy to find a room further away from the train for guests who prefer to reduce the outside noise, and please do keep this in mind next time. We look forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Frank Leone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

Hotel is located near the end of a construction zone, which closes off South Wabash, from East Madison, making it difficult to get to. You actually have to drive the wrong way up South Wabash, which is a one way street, to get to the front of the hotel. This isn't the fault of the hotel, but it sure would be nice if maybe they posted a travel advisory since it's pretty obvious that people are visiting from out of town!
Check in was a breeze. Got to the hotel around 8pm, so it wasn't busy. Room was very nice. Small fridge, two tv's, large well lit bathroom with shower. There was not much of a view, and the elevated train runs right beside the hotel. Not bothersome when you are in your room, but it is very loud outside of the hotel. The reason I give this hotel 4 stars, is because of my biggest pet peeve with hotel rooms, water pressure in the shower! We were on the seventh floor, so that may have been a factor, but I could barely get the shampoo out of my hair.
Also, there are no ice, or vending machines on the floors. The front desk was very timely at delivering requests for ice, etc.
The main attribution of this hotel, as mentioned by almost every other reviewer, is the location. Central to almost everything.
That being said, there is certainly not much of a view from the room.
For cigar/pipe smokers, there is an amazing tobacconist directly across the street.
Also, booked for Thurs.-Sat. stay, and charged only 2 days parking. That was a nice touch, although valet parking was pricey.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Frank L, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Silversmith Hotel. I want to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the construction nearby and I assure you that this will be wrapping up in the near future. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our speedy check-in as well as our spacious accommodations. It is also great to know that our associates at the front desk left a lasting impression on you, and we will surely pass along your kind words to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Chicago.

Best,
Frank Leone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews