We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the silversmith”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #18 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent stay at the silversmith”
Reviewed July 31, 2005

I stayed in a suite on the tenth floor. The room very quiet and spacious and the service was superb. The breakfast that came with the room was very good and the complementary cheesecake was delicious. The hotel is definitely as good as any four star hotel I have stayed in and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    559
    131
    32
    35
See reviews for
401
738
127
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 8, 2005

I have never stayed at a hotel where I have been treated so nicely, and where the staff is accomodating and genuinely interested in helping you and making sure that you have everything that you need. Form early checkin to directions to wherever we wanted to go, the staff was ready and able to assist.

The hotel is very nice, clean, and located close enough to anywhere you want to go. The Chicago experience involves the train and walking through beautiful downtown, and the location of this hotel gives you a chance ot experience the city that way.

There are an abundance of local, non-chain restaurants within walking distance so you won't go hungry! The hotel also has its own restaurant that serves a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ky
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2005

For visitors looking for an exciting offbeat vacation, the Silversmith is definitely the of the best hotel options in the city. If you are looking for cookie cutter rooms with bland furnishings, this is not the place for you. However, if you want to stay in the heart of the city, move with the people who live in this great city, this hotel offers a wonderful location and great staff.

Several points to some of the other reviews:

1) This isn't a Mich Ave hotel. It's in the business district and as such, isn't as touristy a location. However, you get a wonderfully restored, historic building designed by one of the city's master architects. The furnishings are nice and clean and very relaxing.

2) Yes, the el is right in front of the hotel. As in, you can stand on the L platform and see the entryway to the hotel. But this isn't a problem, if you want to go anywhere in the city. It's a great attribute for those people who don't need taxis to get around an urban setting.

3) Noise...we stayed on the 8th floor in the back of the building. Despite some noise the first night, no earplugs were needed. The beds are very comfy and the bathrooms are something I could only wish I had at home. The hotel was VERY quite in general, though you can hear the slight noise of the urban setting.

4)This is NOT a bad part of town. I was with two other females and we walked everywhere at all times of the day and night. It's not as glitzy or busy as Michigan Ave, but you certainly don't need to freak out about walking down the street to go to a club or for dinner. Yes, there are a couple of people who work the lobby on the first floor/street level. But they are working, not bouncing the street in front of the building. They are getting luggage, helping customers and generally doing things that people pay huge bucks for in expensive hotels. I never once thought they were guarding the lobby.

5) Early check in--- We arrived in the city via the L at 10am. We were helped inside (the doormen could hear us clanking down the steps of the El with our suitcases and were quick to help out). The doorman were excellent, offering a lot of advice for us since we were going to see the "Cubbies". The receptionist not only gave us an early check in (we'd asked for a place to store our luggage for the game)...but gave us a great room. In fact, I've never been in such a flexible hotel before. They definitely epitomize the word "accomodating".


The staff in this hotel is unreal. When we left, the awesome doorman (one who carried two of our suitcases UP the L stairway when we voiced concerns about them being too heavy) always greeted us and offered umbrellas and advice without hesitation. The concierge was very helpful and so cheerful it was almost like being at cheer camp. But everyone in this hotel was awesome, friendly and helpful. I had a nice time just talking to them about the city and local places to visit/see.

In comparison, we were sent to the poshest hotel on Mich Ave to get L passes from their gift shop. After waiting 20 minutes or longer in line at their conceirge desk (just to ask where the gift shop was)...we realized that spending more money on a hotel doesn't mean better service. If I had paid that much for a room and had to wait that long for someone to help me, I'd be mad. You will never wait more than a couple of minutes for anything at this hotel.

Overall, this was a great trip. We looked forward to coming back to the room and resting between site seeing. And it's location to the lake front, shopping and museums means that you can go for short trips and the hotel is always just a few blocks away. If you have small children who need naps or just want to dump your shopping and go back out, this is the place to stay.

We ate breakfast at Ada's several times. The meals were good and fairly priced, even if the staff seemed less than outgoing at times. But if you are looking for a quick start to the day with a wide option of meals, this is a good place to start.

I have to say that I will probably never stay in another hotel while in Chicago. The quirkiness of this place is endearing. And trust me when I say that the best way to wind down from an exciting day is sitting in the lobby at night, munching on cheesecake, sipping the variety of coffees/teas and chatting with fellow guests. An excellent touch with great lighting, a soothing piano and really, a relaxing end to the day.

I am a picky traveller and a picky sleeper. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. You can't do much better than this hotel. Trust the ratings and stay here. It was a wonderful urban experience.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank hathorlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2005

We chose the Crowne Plaza Silversmith for 2 main reasons:
1) Location: within blocks from Millennium Park, Grant Park, Art Mus., etc. Since the weather was so nice we walked everywhere - Navy Pier, Water Tower, Sears Tower, Aquarium/Field Museum, Theater, etc. Marshall Fields is just blocks away as well as the Red Line subway/EL that takes you to Wrigley Field. EL is right out front that we did use a couple times since so convenient.

2) Style: Arts & Craft/Mission style throughout the hotel. Great touches throughout lobby, halls, and into rooms. Bathroom very large w/ marble floors & counters. We had 2 room mini-suite with parlor with separate TV, desk, coffee table and sofa. 12 ft. high ceilings gives added appearance of spaciousness. Our huge windows even had a little view of Lake Michigan. So nice to see the sailboats and tour boats on the water.

We tossed around the idea of staying closer to the Magnificent Mile area, but we are glad we didn't. It was nice to be in the heart of downtown, yet so close to the lake front and the parks. The Silversmith is a quaint, historic hotel with top notch staff. We always enjoyed being greeted by the bellmen & doormen whether we were coming or going. We'd definitely recommend this hotel to others and would stay here on our next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank SocksandSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2005

This hotel was located in the downtown core but a long walk or train ride to the main restaurants and attractions on the North side. Service was below par, no flexibility of early checkin or late checkout. Limited lobby bar service offered with poor atmosphere and few drink selections.
Lower floor rooms noisy due to proximity of the El train.
Rooms clean and well decorated.
Attached restaurant Ada's deli does good breakfast, didn't try evening meal. Miller's Bar is a short walk away and does an excellent evening meal (great ribs) for a reasonable price.

Helpful?
18 Thank youngc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, MI
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2005

Just stayed three nights at this fine, beautifully appointed hotel. Small suite on the 10th floor, wonderful furnishings, nicely served continental breakfast just down the hall. It is a small and perfectly situated hotel in the Loop area, walking distance to the Art Instititute, the new Millennium Park, and much more. It was a safe and busy neighborhood even until midnight, shopping, decent restaurants and theaters nearby.
A lovely lobby and small but excellent fitness center just off the lobby (clean and comfortable, windows out on to the street, treadmills, elliptical trainer and universal wieght machine and more.)
Super friendly staff, too. I have stayed in a lot of hotels in Chicago, and this is definitely one of my favorites, for families or business, whatever.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2005

We paid extra for an executive room on the 10th floor. Our room was large with king size bed, lovely addition of a turn-down maid service each night with chocolates left on our pillows. Room was also supplied with earplugs, nightmask, lavendar spray and relaxation CD but only one kit - not that this was a problem. There was two bathrobes provided in the bathroom.

We paid the additional rate for the room as included in the rate was continential breakfast - pastries, bagels, cereals, juices, tea/coffee which was supplied on our floor in a small meeting room.
We could not see the L train from our room, as we were facing the back so did not have much of a view at all but at the same time we were not bothered by noise.

The hotel is within walking distance of the main attractions of Chicago (well we walked to them!) and although not a particularly pleasant sight returning to the hotel at night-time but if you walk a block east, you come out by Grant Park which is wonderful and you do not feel like you are in the same city.

We did not use any of the other facilities at the hotel nor did we get chance to sample the free cheesecake (but would have loved to) as we were still out at the time (and it is only served mon-thurs).

Would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank lolly1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#97 of 190 in Chicago
8,842 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,596 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing