We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Silversmith Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #11 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel has some gorgeous decor and the room is very very comfortable. I have been to Chicago a few times and stayed in a couple of different areas, but this hotel has a great location because it seems to be in the middle of most of the things you would want to do. It is close to union station, the el is right outside the door, and the parks and very very close.

The staff was incredibly nice and my room was ready for check in 3 hours early. As someone that had traveled for 6 hours on a train, having the room ready was fantastic. The bell staff was always attentive and anything we needed was taken care of quickly. I would definitely stay here again if traveling to Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jencornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Jencornell, thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our central location in the Windy City near the Loop and famed attractions. Our staff strives to create memorable experiences for each of our guests, and we are glad we could help make your visit to Chicago even better. We look forward to you joining us again the next time you find yourself in the Windy City.

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    489
    122
    26
    33
See reviews for
350
642
111
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The decor is clearly inspired by the fact it's on Jewelers Row. Wallpaper of pearls, rhinestones embedded in walks - this place was just fun. Staff incredibly friendly, helpful, and courteous. Had a king room - bedding luxurious and was soooo comfy. Nice couch area (I believe it was a fold out as well). Nice keurig. The details of the decor were just amazing. I make jewelry as well, and it was just incredible being surrounded by all this decor inspired by jewelry. Be sure to check out the hotel bar/restaurant. GREAT VALUE for location, comfort, service, luxury. Would recommend without a doubt.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank costumegirljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with The Silversmith Hotel, costumegirljo. We too love our chic, modern decor inspired by Jewelers Row. We are excited you enjoyed our recently renovated accommodations with luxury amenities and your central location in the Windy City. Our newly opened Adamus Restaurant & Lounge is a favorite of ours as well. We look forward to you joining us again the next time you find yourself in the Chicago area.

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Illinois
Level Contributor
257 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Silversmith is a terrific choice if you are going to the theater, plan to shop on State Street, want to do one of the Chicago River cruises or try out some great Chicago cuisine. You are in walking distance of the Cadillac and the Oriental theaters, the Chicago River and its river walk, Michigan Avenue~ about a block from Millennium Park, and more restaurant options than you could ever imagine.

The hotel is situated in an area with plenty of parking garage options, so you can either let them park your car or do it yourself. The room size is nice. The bed and bath linens are wonderful as are the robes that come with your room. The staff is helpful and the internet is fast. This hotel is a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Cabdg, thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our recently renovated accommodations with luxury amenities. We too love our central location to the Loop and famed attractions along with premier shopping and dining options. Our staff wants to ensure memorable guest experiences for all. We hope you join us again the next time your find yourself in the Windy City.

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

For the price, this is an excellent hotel for seeing downtown Chicago. From our hotel, we were able to walk to the Millenium Park easily (5 minutes), the Art Institute, and the Chicago Cultural Center. We also walked to the Navy Pier, but that's a long walk and we took a taxi back (under $10 fare each way). The subway is literally outside the door, so anything not in walking distance is easy to get to.

The rooms are different sizes and layouts due to the boutique style. Our room was very spacious with a very large bathroom, including marble floors in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of channels to choose from on the tv during rest time. Wi-Fi was reliable.

The lobby was pretty and comfortable with a small business center if you need to print anything out. We didn't eat at the hotel because there were so many restaurants in very easy walking distance.

The staff was very friendly.

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in downtown Chicago.

Room Tip: As others have suggested, ask for a room in the back of the hotel. The subway is *very* loud but in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Nessz79, thank you for sharing your experience with The Silversmith Hotel. We are glad we could make you visit to the Windy City a memorable one. We too love our convenient location to the Loop along with premier shopping and dining options. Our staff strives to create memorable guest experiences for all! We look forward to you joining us again the next time you find yourself in the Chicago area.

Best,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The only negative I could find about this hotel is the height of the bed. Now I am 5ft 6ins so not particularly tall but not short either. To get into bed I had of literally put one bottom cheek on the bed and then roll in. Of the 9 weeks we were travelling it was the highest bed we slept in. Once in it was very comfortable. The E Line right outside our window but the double glazing took care of the noise. Centrally located hotel. Internet wasnt the fastest but was adequate. Staff were OK but I was annoyed that a message that had been left for us by a friend in Chicago was not passed on to us and staff denied having received it. And these people had recommended the hotel. Yes, I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenSteady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with The Silversmith Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our central location in the Windy City near famed attractions and premier shopping and dining. We are sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay with us, and we will look into this issue to ensure a more pleasurable guest experience. We look forward to you staying with us again the next time you are in the Windy City.

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed in this hotel with my sister on a visit to Chicago. It was excellent. Beds were comfy and the hotel was quite quiet, even though it is very close to the L line. The location is great for walking up to Michigan Ave, hitting the museums, and doing some serious shopping. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our central, convenient location to the Loop and famed attractions along with premier shopping and dining options. We too love you recently renovated accommodations with luxury amenities. We look forward to you staying with us the next time you are in the Windy City.

Best,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Had the best visit ever to Chicago last week in large part due to the staff at the Silversmith. The hotel itself is chic and cozy and we loved our room. The lobby even had some pretty damn good food and the cocktails were excellent. The location (one block from Millennium Park and under the L train) just couldn't be better. But the most memorable part of our stay was that the staff was unbelievably awesome. Specifically, I have to give a shout out to the concierge staff who became our friends by the end of our stay - took care of everything! I'll never stay elsewhere when I visit Chicago in the future and I'll recommend this spot to everyone I know.

Room Tip: Book on their website instead of third party ones for the best deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coachjennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with The Silversmith Hotel, coachjennie! We are glad our staff could enhance your trip to the Windy City. Our staff strives to create memorable guest experiences for all! Additionally we too love our convenient location to the Loop and famed attractions. We hope you join us again the next time you find yourself in the Chicago area!

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,366 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#10 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 3,719 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#97 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 7,524 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing