We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #17 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleased”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Wonderful stay, the staff was amazing. The rooms are very nice, clean, and roomy. The only negative was the internet service. Says free internet, but it is literally slower than a dial up connection. Used the 4G hotspot on my Verizon phone throughout the stay as it was drastically faster.

Room Tip: The king room with a pullout worked perfectly for our family of four. Our boys are 4 and 10, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Alan727, thank you for taking the time to share your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are glad you and your family enjoyed our renovated accommodations and staff which strives to create memorable guest experiences. We are sorry for the issues with the wireless internet and we will looking into this issue to enhance further visits. We hope you join us again the next time you find yourself in the Windy City.

Best,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    565
    132
    32
    35
See reviews for
407
749
129
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The room was very nice and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful in giving us ideas of great places to eat near by. The hotel is in walking distance to everything. I would highly recommend the Silversmith to anyone going to Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi Kellie, thank you for sharing your experience at The Silversmith Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our accommodations with luxury amenities and chic decor, along with our central location. Our staff strives to create memorable guest experiences and we are happy we could enhance your trip to Chicago. We hope you join us again the next time you find yourself in the area.

Best,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The location is excellent, the rooms stylish and large, and the staff are very friendly. Hotels in Chicago are very expensive and I think I got a good deal at the Silversmith Hotel. Since the monstrously noisy trains run in front of the hotel I would ask for a room towards the back or the side. The bed is great: I had a king size bed with a lovely pillow top mattress. After having checked in I found plastic and hairs from the previous guest and told the reception about it. They were appropriately apologetic and fixed the problem quickly. Overall I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Dina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We love our central location in the Windy City, and we are glad you enjoyed it as well! Our recently renovated accommodations with luxury amenities and modern decor are a highlight for us too! We are sorry for the inconveniences in your room and please know we take customer satisfaction very seriously. We hope that you join us again the next time you find yourself in the Chicago area.

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel is perfectly located within the Loop - all of Chicago's major sights are within walking distance! The staff is very nice, the rooms are big and clean. I would definitely recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jochen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Jochen R, thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We too love our convenient location right alongside the loop, within walking distance of famed attractions and premier shopping and dining. We do hope you will be joining us again the next time you find yourself in CHicago, and when perhaps you may try our newly opened restaurant and lounge, Adamus.

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Made welcome the moment you arrive. Valet parking was excellent & reception staff very helpful and informative all done with a smile. Had three nights at the start of our 3 week trip to USA. Deluxe room with Queen bed. All very comfortable and very clean. Hotel situated in good location close to most everything we wanted to see. The bar was very modern if a little expensive. The restaurant menu was not large and somewhat overpriced. Don't let that put you off as the ambience of the whole place was just so inviting and I would certainly stay there again

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear of the building but even then you could hear the noise of the trains but on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordonmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Gordonmaximus, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our personable, attentive team here at Silversmith. Our recently renovated hotel extends large guest bedrooms and luxury amenities to make for a most comfortable stay. We very much look forward to your next visit and be sure to look to our website to find the best deals and rates.

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The room was amazing except for two things, there was a strange wall or colom in the room its didn't apear to be a load bearing wall so it was just strange. The other thing was the beds were a bit too high up for a short person like me. Other than that I was very impressed. The staff was out of thier way nice and friendly. We had some confusion when trying to catch a can back to the train station and the staff went out of their way to grab two cabs because we had so many people in our group.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and barely hear the El
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Ginger H., thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. Thank you for bringing to light the issues you experienced in your room. We will look to see how we can improve upon these for future visits! Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide personable, attentive and helpful guest service, and we are so glad that we could leave a lasting impression. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us, and we do hope you will be joining us again on your next visit to Chicago!

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Staff were fantastic, helpful and knowledgeable and very accomodating for a solo traveller. A great location for Downtwon, train links and exploring Chicago for the first time. Would definitely stay here again to explire this fatastic, vibrat and unique city.

Room Tip: Get one at the back of the hotel because there can be some noise from the passing Elevated trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
TraveliingTitan, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide optimal guest services to make for a memorable stay, and we are so glad to have left a lasting impression on you. Our location is perfect for exploring all that the windy city has to offer! We very much look forward to your next stay, when perhaps you may try our newly opened Adamus Restaurant and Lounge.

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 190 in Chicago
8,959 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,681 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 190 in Chicago
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown

Property: Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing