We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #18 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed here recently for a few days on a business trip. I was very happy with the hotel. It was a great price vs. some of the other hotels in the area. The proximity to the train was awesome. There were quite a few restaurants and bars in the area. Also, numerous starbucks and dunkin donuts in the immediate area, which are nice & fast breakfast options.

the room was pretty amazing. i found it to be large and comfortable. The shower was nice and modern. Good water pressure and lots of heat. :o) The free wi-fi is sufficient. I did not eat at the hotel restaurant. I did consider it and looked over a menu. It was a bit too fancy for my tastes, but everything looked wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ClumsyIsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Silversmith. Our hotel was recently renovated, and we're glad you enjoyed our spacious accommodations and large bathrooms, as well as our central downtown location. Please sample a drink or dish from Adamus during your next visit, you won't be disappoint. We hope you will join us again in the future, either for business or for pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    559
    131
    32
    35
See reviews for
401
738
127
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I don't normally stay in the Loop, but the city was crowded due to a convention and I came across this hotel. I had never heard of it, and was pleasantly surprised at the beautiful rooms and friendly staff. Would definitely recomment. Very close to Loop shopping.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlyQsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We're so glad you discovered our gem of a hotel, and are pleased to hear you had wonderful experience. We sincerely appreciate your recommendation, and hope you will choose to stay with us again during your next visit to Chicago. Be sure to sample a delicious cocktail or bite at Adamus! You will love it. Thanks, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This silver hued house provides service second to none. It is small enough to personally know each guest, yet sophisticated enough to give elegant service in a beautiful place. I love Silversmith and will be back for its hospitality.

Room Tip: Talk to Hannah, front desk manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Wow - thank you for a wonderful review. Our hotel was recently renovated, so we're thrilled you enjoyed our new look and modern decor. Did you have a chance to stop by Adamus? We hope you will join us again soon, and I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to our hard-working staff. Guest service is our number one priority. Thank you, Sheila C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

It's my 5 th visit to Chicago and always at a different Hotel. This one was perhaps the best due to the good quality, good price and great location, not the most fancy location but a very practical one.
The Hotel is on the loop, walking distance from downtown and close to train stations that get to you to any of the airports, avoiding the traffic (It took me almost 1,5 hours by taxi to get from O'hare to the Hotel).
The rooms are very comfortable with a nice beg and a very good bathroom, they even have nice ropes, to make the room very comfortable.
Theo offer free wi-fi, not very fast, but enough for emails and Skype.
The staff is very friendly and the bar/restaurant is very nice and I've found the food very good. For breakfast there are many options nearby.
Overall an excellent hotel, I only have good things to say.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedritocalheiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad that we could make a good first impression to a seasoned Chicago traveler. We too love our convenient location on the loop, accessible to all of our favorite Chicago attractions. Be sure to check our website for the latest deals to get the best rates for your next visit. We do hope to see you again soon, when perhaps you may try our new restaurant and lounge, Adamus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Right in the loop and close to lots of attractions. Public transportation fantastic with the Elevated train ("L") stop right at front door. One block to Michigan Avenue. Couple of blocks from Art Institute. Two blocks to Macy's (old Marshall Fields). Some complaints have been posted about the noise of the "L". Didn't bother us at all and you can ask for a room on other side of hotel. Not much more for the larger room (maybe had "Premium King"). Great if staying more than one night. Lots of "spread out" room. This if a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from "L' stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you, Bill W, for sharing your experience at The Silversmith Hotel. We too love our convenient location in the heart of the windy city. We are thrilled to hear that we could make your experience in Chicago a positive one and we hope you come back and try our new restaurant and lounge, Adamus. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We arrived early (shortly after 1:00 p.m.) and were pleasantly surprised to find our room ready for check-in. Beautiful facility, good beds & pillows, extremely clean. There are three elevators -- we never had to wait for one. The staff was excellent and so helpful and friendly. The desk staff remembered our name. That made us feel special. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our family and friends. It is in a perfect location for shopping, visiting sites, and just relaxing. Although located right next to the "L", our room was on the side away from Wabash and we could barely hear the train going by. Our room view was just of other buildings, but we weren't there to look at the sites through our window. It was perfect for our family.

Room Tip: If street and "L" noise would bother you, ask for a room on the side away from Wabash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5Mackeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hello 5Mackeys. We're so glad your family made the trip for Motown, the Musical, and are thrilled you chose to stay at Silversmith. We've just completed a major renovation, so we appreciate your comments about our beautiful facility. Sounds like you were able to take advantage of our great location for shopping and city attractions. Be sure to check our specials page throughout the year, if you're planning another trip to the theater or even just a weekend getaway. Thank you for your review. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

In town for the restaurant association show and could not be happier. From the rooms, to the staff. One of the more enjoyable hotel stays in a very longtime.
Again this was my first stay here, and I will look to book this hotel on every trip in Chicago from now on.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Palexander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you, Palexander1, for your wonderful comments. We're thrilled to know we've made a lasting impression and will be your hotel of choice when visiting Chicago. I'll pass along your compliments to our staff. I hope you had a chance to try Adamus, our new restaurant and lounge. Definitely check it out on your next visit. We appreciate your review, and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#97 of 190 in Chicago
8,842 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,596 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing