We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient - just remember to check your room for needed supplies.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #18 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient – just remember to check your room for needed supplies.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had less than 48 hours to see Chicago and staying on Wabash allowed us to walk to the museums and Millennium Park easily. Our visit was pleasant and we would definitely stay here again. The hotel was quiet, we heard the subway during the day but it stops late at night (1am?); no noise from other guests. The king suite was spacious, as was the bathroom, and pretty comfortable; one nice detail was a padded window seat that allowed us to seat and watch the rain outside (no real view to speak of, just other buildings). The staff was helpful but even so the room was not well supplied. For instance, we came in from a very late flight and found the sofa bed for my son was not made up and there were no extra sheets, blankets, or pillows in the room – these were delivered within 10 mins but we were the ones that had to make up the bed. Ditto with the towels, there were not enough in the bathroom for two people. There was only one coffee cup the first day (Styrofoam) and the second day there were no cups and I had to call down and ask for some to be delivered.

The suite has two TVs but since there are only 9 feet apart, it is not really feasible for two people to be watching different shows. There was a light breakfast in the lobby: mini-bagels, cream cheese, orange juice, muffins, and coffee. We decide to walk half a miles down the street and have breakfast instead at the Yolk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,269
    539
    129
    31
    34
See reviews for
387
720
120
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights while sightseeing in Chicago. The hotel has a fantastic location; very central. The rooms were clean. As Downtown Chicago hotels are pricey, we thought this was a fair value. Nothing special other than a good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that we did not "WOW" you during your stay, and hope that we will see you during another visit to Chicago so that we have the opportunity to WOW you.

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was our second visit and like the first it was great.
Staff friendly, upgrade to suite on request. Clean, quiet great room on 9th floor.
Just wish it was cheaper to park a car in Chicago.
Forgot a mini ipod in room and they called to return it.
Will return on next visit to Chicago.
Love the location for Museums and the Park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larryjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Wow! What a great review! Thank you for the kind words and for thanking the staff for going above and beyond! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Chicago!

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Usually we stay at more name recognizable hotels - Marriott, etc.. so this was a really great surprise. We were in town for the Chicago Marathon and this hotel on S. Wabash was perfectly located by Millennium Park. The staff was very friendly, always willing to run down the block to hail us a cab and Andre has a great smile! Large comfortable lobby with citrus water available and complimentary breakfast in the morning. Rooms were larger then average, very clean and beds were wonderful. Decor was modern and lovely. There was also a work desk, large TV, free wifi, and wonderful big bathroom! We walked to Water Tower Place but it's a bit of a hike.

Room Tip: The 'L' runs on Wabash so make sure to book a room "not facing Wabash". We asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melvil2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Front Office Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear valued guest-

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad that you not only enjoyed our hotel rooms and amenities, but that Andre was able to WOW you with his service. We hope to see you again in the future!

Emily C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful facility. The beds were super comfortable. There is complimentary wi-fi (in a good hotel? who would have guessed?) and the staff was lovely.

A bit pricey, but so are all the other really good hotels in the Loop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of Wabash to lessen the train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Front Office Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are so pleased that you not only enjoyed our amenities such as the complimentary WIFI, but also our amazing staff. We hope to see you back at The Silversmith again.

Emily C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

It is located in a great location in loop but hotel has limited amenities. Room was small but adequately furnished and clean. The exercise room had only a few machines. No pool or spa. Wifi only in lobby with ethernet plug in room. Staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Front Office Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest-

I am so sorry that we did not meet all your needs. We strive for 100% satisfaction guaranteed and I am sorry that we fell short this time. Please email me directly at emily.cohen@silversmithhotel.com so that we can discuss this in more detail.

Emily C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was an elegant and friendly hotel. The staff were so helpful and welcoming. We had a renovated room. It was spacious and well equiped. My only small disappointment were the sheets. At first I thought they had not been changed but on closer inspection they were clean but appeared poorly ironed . The bed was very comfortable and although the room was adjacent to the el we slept through it. This is a stylish hotel and very convenient for sight seeing and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest-

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the comfort and quietness of our rooms. Thank you for informing me that we did not meet your standard with our sheets and know that we will correct that immediately. We hope to see you again in the future.

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,509 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,403 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing