We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive Centrally Located Hotel in the Loop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #17 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Attractive Centrally Located Hotel in the Loop”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was in town for a business conference and was unable to stay at the conference hotel. I selected the Silversmith for its proximity to my meetings. The hotel was undergoing some renovations and the bar and restaurant were closed during my stay. I did find the rooms to be very nicely decorated and clean. The important features such as a safe, a refrigerator were both available. I had an executive room and really enjoyed having the small seating area and second television. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and professional. The breakfast they served was typical small pastries, juice and coffee. My only disappointments about staying at the hotel were not really about the hotel and more about its area and location. The train runs within feet of the building and was very loud. My room was on the side of the hotel away from the train and I still heard it a lot! I can only imagine what is sounded like from rooms facing the train. Secondly, there were a lot of street hustlers and panhandlers around the block or two around the hotel. I was approached at least a dozen times and was actually intimidated by a group of the panhandlers that hassled me and followed me down the street. I think I would think twice about staying in this area if I came back to Chicago.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better to get away from the train noise and ask for rooms away from the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattilca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for taking to time to share your comments with us. We're happy to know that you enjoyed your room accommodations and you found our staff to be friendly and attentive to your needs. We're disappointed to hear of the challenges you encountered while walking around the Michigan Avenue/Loop area of downtown. We appreciate your choosing the Silversmith and hope to see you again on your next trip to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    565
    132
    32
    35
See reviews for
407
749
129
399
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed five nights in a fourth floor double room and loved every moment.Hotel in good location,room very clean,maid service every day overall very good stay. A few things that were not so good, maid service missed out something everyday, not vacumed very well, toilet paper not replaced, no pen for duration of stay.small things that stopped me giving a excellent overall rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andylad17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for the review and comments. We appreciate the positive feedback as well as the areas we need to improve upon. Thanks again for choosing the Silversmith and we hope to see you on your next visit to downtown Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Before raving about the hotel, let me rave about the staff. So helpful, so knowledgeable, so friendly. Ervin, Andrae & Enrique... thanks... you made a great vacation even better.!!
The room was big, clean, modern, every comfort. The lobby is a treasure, refinished beautifully.
Walk to the parks, the stores, the river..... great location.... all great .. we will return !!

Room Tip: Higher floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dearknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for all the wonderful comments about the hotel and staff. We especially appreciate your mentioning Ervin, Andre and Enrique who do a great job welcoming our guests to the Silversmith. We're happy to hear that you had a great vacation and were able to enjoy many of the fantastic attractions here in downtown Chicago. Thanks for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

First - the people at the front desk were nice although when they asked for my email address they also promised to email my receipt which didn't happen. My suite #505 was loaded with dark oak - very dated but still a bit of old school charm. The carpet was stained and needed stretching - there were speed bumps where the carpet buckled up - like walking on dirty waves. The mirror in the bathroom was covered in film. The shower had mold. Bathroom floor had cracks in the tile and the grout was just filthy. With so many choices in Chicago I would not chose this one again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the front of the building if you don't want to hear trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm very disappointed I didn't have the opportunity to speak with you during your stay. Please give me a call when you have a chance - thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

While the hotel is situated in an older building (as a matter of fact, the lobby, situated on an upper floor, is eerily similar to the Overlook Hotel in the film, THE SHINING) but the rooms are contemporary. I was fortunate to stay on the recently renovated tenth floor and upgraded to a suite, which was small but well appointed with a large bathroom (great shower, but no bathtub), two big flat screen TV's, and a very comfy queen sized bed with many luxuriously fluffy pillows. The Silversmith is centrally located to theatres and shopping, all within walking distance, though the sometimes noisy El Train is right outside. The only downside of this convenient location is the collection of dodgy characters lingering near the entrance of the hotel (there is not always a doorman at his post either) and along South Wabash. And it's sometimes difficult to hail a taxi out front.
Still, the hotel staff is friendly and accommodating. Room service was prompt and the meals delicious. But as nice as the room was, the management would be well advised to go out and buy some new towels!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 10th floor (it's newly renovated) or at least a higher floor, away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannyno999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review and comments. We appreciate the positve comments on the new rooms. Our hotel is located in a nationally registered building with a contemporary flare. We're happy to hear that you found our staff to be accommodating and that you enjoyed your meals. Also, thanks for helping us improve our houskeeping services. We're glad you chose the Silversmith and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I were visiting Chicago for the first time and wanted a nice hotel, next to all the action and we got just that! I am very particular about where I stay and I was happy with the executive suite we stayed in on one of the newly renovated floors. The suite was spacious and the rate we had included parking. Every time we requested the car, it came very quickly and the staff at the hotel was very helpful. The breakfast at the hotel wasn't very good but we were looking forward to eating at a local place called Wildberry (which was AMAZING) so that wasn't an issue for us. The hotel lobby was not very modern but our room made up for it, especially the bathroom and sitting area! Overall, great hotel...can't beat the location and excellent service

Room Tip: Make sure you get a newly renovated room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FearlesslyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for all your comments. We're very happy to know that we didn't disappoint you in your choosing the Silversmith for your first visit to Chicago. We appreciate knowing that you and your boyfriend enjoyed the new suite and that our staff provided you with excellent service. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pella, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was my first trip to Chicago and I will definitely go back. We stayed at the Silversmith because it was in the Loop and I had purchased a Groupon for 3 nights. The accomodations and staff couldn't be beat. There were many great restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. We purchased a GoChicago card which admitted us into all the must see's as well as the Hop On/Hop Off Trolley. The location can't be beat. The staff was terrific. Our room was ready when we got there at 10am. Check-out is noon, however because we were not leaving the city until 5pm, the Silversmith stored our luggage until we were ready to go. We felt very safe with the 24 hour doorman.

Room Tip: The only reason I gave the room's a 4 is because this is right by the EL, which wasn't a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyH395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Wow, it sounds like you and your friends had a great first visit to Chicago! There certainly are many fantastic attractions all around the Silversmith. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and accommodations. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 190 in Chicago
8,959 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,681 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 190 in Chicago
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown

Property: Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing