We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #17 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

While visiting our infant grandchild in NICU at University of Chicago / Comer Children Hospital at 3:30 am, we were needing a place to rest after 9 1/2 hours of traveling. Our son found the Silversmith Hotel on the internet and made our reservation. We were welcome by the friendly Valet & staff. We were given a discount because of our grandchild's critical condition, and not knowing how long we would need to stay. The hotel has a "old time grandeur appeal', with beautiful marble / wood walls and trim. The room was spacious and inviting. The minor negative we had (which is really not a negative) was the train right outside our window. Not being use to that type of noise living in a rural area. I am sure it would be and exciting plus for anyone visiting Chicago on a pleasure / sightseeing trip. We accidently took off with a clothes hanger, but called and made it right with the hotel, promising to return it on our next visit the "Silversmith".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank E0akley65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. I'm happy to know that our staff made you feel welcome during your time of need. On behalf of all our staff, I trust that your grandchild is feeling better. We look forward to being of assistance to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,295
    555
    129
    31
    35
See reviews for
398
734
125
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Lovely, great location, charming, craftsman details throughout. The only drawback was when I asked how to get someplace twice I was told to take a cab when I could have been directed to the elevated train which went directly to where I wanted to go AND was right outside the door. When i called I was put on hold for per 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Excellent charming. Only drawback was when I asked for how to get to a location I was told to go by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments. I'm happy that you found your stay with us enjoyable and I appreciate the feedback on our guest service. It's comments such as these that allows us to improve the service and accommodations we provide to all our guests. We value your business and thank you for choosing the Silversmith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were in town for the SAIC graduation. The location of the hotel is perfect for visitors. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable ...our only comment is that the TV in our bedroom (we had a suite) did not face the bed....???? Other than that we can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your comments. We're happy to know you had an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Spent a "girls" weekend with six friends. We all took the L from the airport. Some of us arrived at O'Hare, some Midway. Those from Midway arrived at the front door, the others a couple of blocks away - - so convenient. The rooms were spotless, and they let us check in early. The staff was wonderful - - Seven women needing extra towels, extra blankets, etc. - - all were delivered cheerfully and quickly. The front desk answered our every question, and couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. The location was fabulous, a block from Millennium Park, The Art Institute (and Giordano's stuffed pizza - - And around the corner from a Garrett's Popcorn) . Don't expect a great view, but there's so much to do nearby, you won't be looking out any windows. I highly recommend this hotel. Thank you Silversmith: you were all wonderful.

Room Tip: The L is out front, so you may want to ask for a room away from that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parisgal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
WOW! What a fantasic review! We're very happy to know that the "girls" had a great time visiting Chicago and that your stay at the Silversmith was everything you hoped for. It's great that you were all able to take the "L" from both O'Hare & Midway. That's one, of many, special features of our hotel. Very happy to hear that our staff took great care of you. We hope to see you all in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here for 8 nights last week and I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for solid, safe, central place to stay while in Chicago. The hotel is very quiet and we hardly saw anyone other visitors during our stay. I can't give it a perfect rating because of some quirky things such as - the fridge froze our water, the sofa sleeper was falling apart and could not be slept on, the room only had plastic cups and glasses, there was not enough mirrors or outlets for three of us in the room, the cafe restaurant in the lobby was not memorable - go somewhere else for breakfast. The bathroom is modern and huge- bigger than whole rooms I've had stayed in. I understand they are renovating and have started on the 10th floor. If I go back to Chicago- I'll stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. We sincerely appreciate all your feedback as it gives the opportunity to improve the service and accommodations we provide to our guests. We value your business and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights for pleasure. Within walking distance of everything we wanted to do. Very friendly staff. Stayed in 612; no noise issues. Mattress was firmer than I prefer, but bedding was comfy. Huge bathroom. Terrible view - but worth it for the quiet!! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherrieARC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We appreciate your review and comments regarding your recent stay with us. We're happy that you found our location convenient and that our staff took good care of you. Regarding the view from your room, on your next visit, please let the front desk staff know and we'll see if we can get you a better view. Thanks again for choosing the Silversmith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 189 in Chicago
8,709 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 189 in Chicago
4,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
989 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 189 in Chicago
2,715 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing