We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but old soul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #18 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location but old soul”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is in a great location but the decor and atmosphere reminds me of my grandma. To go to a different floor you have to swipe your room key which is kind of weird. Also the lobby is in the second floor which was a bit odd and annoying. The rooms are a pretty good size but its old fashioned decor and odd layout makes this place an "okay" hotel. Make sure you get a room away from the street because the noise outside will wake you up. Would I stay at this place again... Most likely not!

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcm1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the review and for sharing your feedback. I am sorry to hear that the "style" of our hotel wasn't to your liking. While our hotel does have some quirks to it, we do recognize that not everyone may be a fan of the Frank Lloyd Wright prairie style furnishings. Thank you for visiting Chicago and we do hope that you'll consider us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    559
    131
    32
    35
See reviews for
401
739
128
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just back from 4 nights at the Silversmith Hotel and I would most definitely return. Lovely arts and crafts design, friendly and very helpful staff and quiet comfortable room... all at a good price. If you are looking for a room with a view, this is probably not the place for you... there are likely some on upper floors but the hotel is right next to the elevated train so you are just as likely to have no view at all. That was no problem with me, but something to keep in mind.

Free internet a plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P-Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. Sorry we can't do much about a room with a view.
We appreciate your comments and so happy that you chose the Silversmith.
We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Spent a first time business trip there in April and it was incredible. From the wonderful staff at the front door, front desk, restaurant staff and housekeeping. Couldn't have asked for more. Thank you for making my first stay in Chicago AWESOME!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcondry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for the awesome review! We are just trying to keep with that big Texas hospitality that you are used to.
We appreciate the business and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Located one block from famed Michigan Ave. and Millennium Park, the Silversmith Hotel offers exceptionally clean and large rooms; a great and helpful staff; and security. The hotel's location is perfect if you want to stroll through Millennium Park or visit the Art Institute. Prices were reasonable for a big city hotel and more importantly, the beds/pillows were comfortable. The hotel is located within the Chicago Loop - so ask for a high floor - although the rooms are well insulated from exterior noises. Suggestions: free coffee in the morning in the lobby would be greatly appreciated. Upgraded computers (including Macs) would also be appreciated.

Room Tip: High Floors have less Loop noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthFloridaPTAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you very much for the review and your comments. We appreciate the feedback. I will see what we can do about getting some lobby coffee and some upgrades for our business center computers.
Thank you for choosing the Silversmith and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed in an executive king room for 2 nights Easter weekend using a Groupon.

The staff is very friendly, efficient, and helpful.

The room was large, clean and had very high ceilings. It included WIFI, a refrigerator, coffee maker, safe and 2 flat screen TV’s. We enjoyed our room location on the 5th floor, near the elevator, with a view of the train. We like white noise so loved the sound of the train and also liked that the window in the bedroom actually opened.

Our package included breakfast each morning at Ada’s, which was very good. . . . choice of egg, hash browns, bacon or sausage, two pancakes and a beverage.

The Silversmith location is excellent . . . just steps to the L, buses, shopping, theaters, restaurants, bars, Millennium Park, Art Institute, etc.

We had stayed here once before and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwayz_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank for such such an outstanding review. We appreciate your business and for trying our groupon offer.
We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great little hotel right in the heart of the city. Employees were friendly and helpful, the room was clean, and the food and location were perfect. The valet offered some breakfast coupons for local places when he heard I was checking out early the next morning.

Room Tip: I was on the side of the hotel facing the alley, away from the El. The rooms facing the El might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollyroger519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for the review and your feedback. Your comments are very important to us.
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

A very authentic and original hotel with some great features. Easily accessible from the airport via the city train and costs $5 each. Great centre location for seeing the sights. Staff were very helpful and welcoming

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for the review and all the great comments, I will be sure to share it with the staff.
We really appreciate your business and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 190 in Chicago
8,856 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,603 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing