We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything positive which has been said is true--”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #21 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

When checking in a lady ahead of us was visibly upset- her reservation through a NET service was not in the hotel system. As the line formed the desk clerk was aware of people waiting but never dismissive of the lady's situation and was offering positive ideas and resources. We checked in w/out incident and a short time later I passed through the lobby and the clerk was there working w/the client while she sat on the floor w/a phone and he was crouching next to her w/papers. He was working to resolve the situation. His concern was palpable. Her response was calm and appreciative. I do not know how the situation was resolved but the image is indelible. I had recently seen a similar in an airport motel where there was no concern, where papers were waved and the client ignored. NEXT!! Here, in credible concern and caring on the part of Sergio. The next day I complimented him and he said that staff would do anything possible to help the guest, that this was what was expected. I realize that it was also a matter of his caring but the institution encouraged such caring and that was impressive. I will patronize this place in the future if possible.. Again, I agree w/all the positive opinions expressed here.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor and only a slight sound of the EL and I'm a very light sleeper.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HemlockMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for the great review and for sharing your experience with everyone. I will be sure to pass along your comments to Sergio.
It is always nice to see and hear that the staff is going out of their way to try and assist our guests. Their concern is genuine.
We truly hope that you will become one of our frequent guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,115)
There are newer reviews for Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,329 - 1,335 of 2,116 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location, location, location! This hotel is in the loop and there are train/bus stations just steps away from the front door. Even though the L was right in front of the hotel, it was barely heard in my room. The bed was pretty comfortable, the room was nice, and the bathroom was nice and big. Shopping and restaurants are walking distance and very convenient. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for the review and your positive comments. We agree that the location here can't be beat!
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The employers are great very helpful and friendly. The lobby is very nice and the room was nice and roomy and the bed was very nice how ever the sofa bed needs a new mattress my Daughter had to put it on the floor to be able to seep she gave me the bed because I'm older.. But I would stay there again on my next trip. I Love Chicago to visit..

I would recommend that you don't drive there !!! They have busses and taxis but it is good to get bus passes it will save you a lot ... And wear god shoes there is a lot to see...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you so much for the good review. We appreciate all of your feedback. We will look into your concerns about the sofa bed mattress.
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Silversmith is in a building which was formerly the location for a number of silversmiths. The hotel does have some of the very cool silver creations made by those artists. So much for the history. The rooms are very clean, service is excellent and we did not hear any traffic or street noise. As is typical for a downtown hotel the rooms are not large but they are big enough. There's no spa or pool but then again this purpose of this hotel is to provide travellers with a comfy place to stay in the heart of downtown. Silversmith exceeds expectations on every level.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street and was on the third floor. We heard nothing all night. The Silversmith ha...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJSpock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for the great review and for sharing your comments and feedback.
We appreciate your business and hope that you'll come back and visit us and Chicago again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Enjoyed everything about this hotel. We go into Chicago once or twice a year are not generally loyal to any particular hotel. I'll definitely look here first in the future. The entire staff was friendly and polite. The room was in great condition and roomy. We reserved an executive king suite, but ended up with two queen suite, which was better for us with two teenagers. We did not hear the train during the night. The breakfast was good and the staff in Ada's deli continued with the friendliness. It was a short walk from the train and many restaurants and good shopping very close by.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MItraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review. We really appreciate the positive comments and feedback.
We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a calm and lovely stay at the Silversmith recently, perhaps so named because it's ensconced in Jeweler's Row. Couldn't ask for a better location for our purposes (pleasure), and our room/suite felt more like we were staying in someone's warm, woody, serene home than in a downtown hotel right next to public transportation (so convenient). It's just around the corner from the end of the South Shore Line from Indiana. Oh no, now everyone's going to want to take a train west and compete for weekend rooms without having to pay for parking. Maybe I should have said nothing... but too late. I hope they/you all enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bayann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you so much for the nice review. We are happy to become your home away from home. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband has stayed at the Silversmith many times before for business, so he wanted to make sure we stayed there for a couple's getaway! The hotel staff was fanatastic, friendly and helpful!! What I thought was so great is that they held our luggage for free after check out while we continued our tour of the city!!! Even though the hotel was right beside the CTA train there was ZERO noise in our room, it was amazing!!! Also they were within walking distance to all the attractions we were in town for!!! Can't wait to take our family back for a long weekend this summer!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaO717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for such a great review!
We really appreciate your comments and feedback. It is nice to see that you've been here for both business and now pleasure.
We look forward to seeing you again this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#100 of 191 in Chicago
9,109 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#24 of 191 in Chicago
4,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 191 in Chicago
2,868 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 191 in Chicago
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $144 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing