We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice at the right price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #21 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is a very good value hotel if you get the same rate as we paid last june when we paid about 100 $/night for a doubleroom. At a higher rate of 120-150 $/night i would prefer the Palmer House Hilton wich is just about 5 minutes from this hotel by foot.

Rooms are nice though the interior feels a little old. Well cleaned rooms and free
wifi is always on the plus side. The employees are curtious and helpful and there are
no big "negatives" for the hotel if you get a good price.

Right in the middle of the loop close to plenty restaurants, bars and shopping like Macys, Nordstrom etc.

Go to nearby Corner Bakery or Intelligentisa Café and bring your coffe to gorgeous Millenium park for som early bird people spotting.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for the review and your visit last June. We are always happy to hear about our clean rooms and courteous staff.
We know you have many choices on where to stay in Chicago and hope that you'll return on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,413 - 1,419 of 2,130 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

Can not say enough good things about this hotel. Great location in the loop made it convenient to go wherever I needed to in the city. All of the staff I encountered were very friendly and helpful. I stayed through a Groupon deal, but would stay again at the usual rate.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank GeauxHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for the review and for using our groupon offer. We are happy to hear that you'll be back.
We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is where we always stay when in Chicago. Convenient location- 20 minute walk from Union Station, but very close to Loop El station, and only a few minutes walk to a Blue Line or a Red Line station.
Calm, relaxing atmosphere inside, the comfortable rooms reflect the heritage of this Burnham building- Art Deco transitioning into the Craftsman movement.

Like virtually all historic buildings in the Loop, there are few if any rooms with "views." And like everywhere in the Loop, the sound of the El trains reverb off the walls. Ask for a back side room or a higher floor. Or bring earplugs.

Room Tip: Pittsfield Cafe just up the street has great breakfasts and deli lunches and you can sit in the beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoppyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your business.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I purchased the groupon deal for the Silversmith. It was an excellent experience! Great location, just a short walk from Milennium Park and many other Chicago landmarks. Beautiful hotel, excellent customer service. Stayed in a room with two double beds, and had plenty of room. Huge bathroom. Beautiful lobby. We also did the valet parking and had a great experience with that as well. Overall a wonderful hotel and would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and for buying our groupon. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I purchased a groupon for this visit and had never heard of the silversmith hotel before. I was very happy with all aspects of my stay! The hotel was very comfortable and in a great location, although easy to miss if you don't know where it is located. But after finding it everything was great!The room was very nice, the bar and the restaurant for breakfast were also very good! I would definately recommend staying at the silversmith for a wonderful getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 827MaryD827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. Happy to hear that you were able to find us.
Please come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

great location, great price, beautiful hotel/room.. had an issue with a toilet that was quickly fixed.. breakfast was included.. but was only allowed one item on the menu (bacon/eggs/pancakes/has browns/coffee). wish i could have chosen something healthier.. or since the place is a deli.. maybe something more deli-like. (fried matza/ lox/eggs.. etc). i was able to walk everywhere. located in the jewelry district a block from Michigan Ave/theater dist etc. only a couple of blocks from train station from o'hare.. only downside is the hotel is right across from the train.. i thought 10th floor was a benefit.. however.. it was closer to the tracks.. ie: i heard the train all night.. nect time i'd request a lower floor near the back of the hotel.. great service.. especially from bell-men

Room Tip: lower floor.. near the back.. there aren't any views anyway.. but would be further from the trai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewisOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Thanks for also purchasing our groupon. We will take into account your comments about breakfast.
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is easy to miss while walking down Wabash street. For those of you not familiar with Chicago, Wabash is the forgotten street. It is located between the two main streets in the loop- Michigan Ave. and State street. We used a groupon to stay in a king suite over the weekend. The location is perfect. It is close to the museums, theater and restaurants. We went to the Art Museum (2 blocks), Goodman Theater ( 3 blocks), Macy's (2 blocks) and the Harold Washington library ( 4 blocks). No need to bring your car. The service was great and a free breakfast was thrown in at Ada's.

Room Tip: The larger rooms seem to work for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickandjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you didn't miss us.
We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#10 of 192 in Chicago
2,902 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $138 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing