We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel thanks groupon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #22 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

great location, great price, beautiful hotel/room.. had an issue with a toilet that was quickly fixed.. breakfast was included.. but was only allowed one item on the menu (bacon/eggs/pancakes/has browns/coffee). wish i could have chosen something healthier.. or since the place is a deli.. maybe something more deli-like. (fried matza/ lox/eggs.. etc). i was able to walk everywhere. located in the jewelry district a block from Michigan Ave/theater dist etc. only a couple of blocks from train station from o'hare.. only downside is the hotel is right across from the train.. i thought 10th floor was a benefit.. however.. it was closer to the tracks.. ie: i heard the train all night.. nect time i'd request a lower floor near the back of the hotel.. great service.. especially from bell-men

Room Tip: lower floor.. near the back.. there aren't any views anyway.. but would be further from the trai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewisOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Thanks for also purchasing our groupon. We will take into account your comments about breakfast.
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,442 - 1,448 of 2,154 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is easy to miss while walking down Wabash street. For those of you not familiar with Chicago, Wabash is the forgotten street. It is located between the two main streets in the loop- Michigan Ave. and State street. We used a groupon to stay in a king suite over the weekend. The location is perfect. It is close to the museums, theater and restaurants. We went to the Art Museum (2 blocks), Goodman Theater ( 3 blocks), Macy's (2 blocks) and the Harold Washington library ( 4 blocks). No need to bring your car. The service was great and a free breakfast was thrown in at Ada's.

Room Tip: The larger rooms seem to work for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickandjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you didn't miss us.
We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We found this hotel through Groupon and were not sure what to expect. All expectation were exceeded! Love the location, the rooms were very comfortable, the staff was attentive and we had just a great experience overall. Our package included breakfast for two which was delicious and served in a nice environment. We could walk virtually everywhere. This will now be our Chicago hotel!

Room Tip: Our son wasn't crazy about the sleeper sofa but all else was fine. There wasn't a view but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review and for buying our groupon. We are thrilled to here that you will make us your Chicago hotel.
We appreciate your business. Come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Front desk manager Sergio went above and beyond to give my twenty-one year old daughter and her boyfriend an exceptional experience at the Silversmith! I bought my daughter a "Groupon" for one night's stay at the Silversmith for her birthday. Our logistics were complicated and I asked Sergio for some assistance. You would have thought I had booked the penthouse. Sergio was more than helpful, offering the type of personal service and attention that one can only find in a Ritz Carlton or a sophisticated boutique hotel. Good job Silversmith Hotel!

Room Tip: I will add room details as soon as I speak to my daughter for her input.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Molly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for the great review. It is nice to hear the news about Sergio. I will be sure to pass along your comments.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just learned of this hotel through Groupon. Rooms are nicely done, clean and neat. Staff very helpful. Walk to Michigan Avenue and State Street. Access to public transportation.Just need to work on their food quality and services for room service and restaurant. They had good wi fi and a convenient workout area.

Room Tip: Just watch where the room is located because you are next to the "EL" tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for the review and for buying our groupon offer.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here in early November of 2012 and then again In December of 2012.

The location is fantastic. The rooms are large and plush. The costs are reasonable.

Even though we had rooms near the Ell, the sounds did not bother us. The lobby smells like the Loop, but that was the closest thing we could label as a negative.

The hotel staff was incredibly attentive.

Do not hesitate to stay at this property.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buccos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for the review! Now that you found us, come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you're looking for a decent hotel in the loop of Chicago, without spending a lot, and you don't spend much time in your room, The Silversmith is perfect. It's 20 steps away from the L (brown/green lines) so transportation around Chicago is a breeze. And it's only about 1 block and a half away from Cloudgate (a.k.a. The Bean in Millenium Park).

The lobby was very nice (take the elevator to the second floor for the lobby). We were originally booked in a 2 bed room, and we got switched to a queen bed instead. Thank goodness. The room was SMALL. With a queen bed there was barely any room to move. But we weren't spending much time in there, so it worked just fine for us.

One thing I'd like to mention is the staff. Hands down some of the friendliest people you could ever want to run into while traveling. I don't just mean one or two people, but the entire time, every single person had a smile on their face, greeted you, and was just pleasant to deal with.

I'm not saying I would go out of my way to stay here again, but I sure wouldn't avoid it either.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grueny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your review and the comments about the staff. I will make sure to share your comments.
We appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
370 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,941 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $127 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing