We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Chicago Flavor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #18 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Chicago Flavor”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is on Wabash and the EL is right outside the entry. The folks at the front desk and the bell desk were great. When you are in a place you don't know you need information and the Silversmith folks were excellent. We went to Wrigleyville on the Red Line (just around the corner) per their instructions and it was no problem at all. They were very helpful in finding places to eat and not just the hotel dining room. Plus fantastic in getting us taxicabs. We were here on a weekend visit from Omaha so are unfamiliar with the town but the hotel folks were just excellent. Really friendly and helpful. I thought the EL would be noisy but it was more like a sound far off in the distance and had no effect at all. The rooms were BIG. Really large with perfect king beds and excellent heat (we were there at the beginning of Dec). A powerful shower with HOT water. GREAT! One caveat - parking is expensive and when they tell you to call 20 minutes in advance for your car they are telling the truth.

Room Tip: Plenty of room in the standard room. Great closet space. Nice flat screen tele to check the weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review. It is nice to hear that our staff was helpful and we were able to get you to Wrigleyville on the red line with such ease.
We hope to see you back again later this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    559
    131
    32
    35
See reviews for
401
738
127
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queens New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel is exactly what is needed for a trip to Chicago, where 80% of your time is spent outside of the hotel.

Good
Great location to all important areas and buildings in the city
Easy access to the subway ....took it from the airport and used it to get around the city;
Room has all the amenities needed for stay. TV and free internet ....
Around the corner access to CVS etc for water and snacks;

Con:
Lobby check in requires you to take the elevator up to the second floor from the street ....little odd until you get used to it.

Overall:
Will stay here again.

Room Tip: I booked with Expedia...which means interior view...but I am outside all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoty_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I wanted to make a last minute stay in downtown Chicago for the holidays, and made a reservation at Silversmith Hotel and Suites through Priceline.com and we loved our stay!! I have stayed many places in the city..and I never knew about this hotel because it's a touch off the beaten track, but still in a great location. Our room was so cozy, large, very clean, huge bathroom, comfy bed, nice flat screen tv...we will definitely be back!! Definitely ask for an upgraded suite so you have the extra room.

Room Tip: Book a suite so you have a larger space!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janabelle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. So glad to hear that you'll be back.
Thank you for giving us a try. Best wishes for the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We love the Silversmith! My wife and I stayed here over a weekend during the Christmas season. There are so many great things to do right in the Loop, such as the Christmas Market in Daley Plaza, restaurants, theaters, museums, and the Symphony (which has a Christmas music show), and of course the shops on State Street. When you have so much to do and so little time, you want an extremely comfortable hotel very close by and the Silversmith is the place!

We got a suite and it's beautiful! Very spacious living room with a nice couch and desk. The bathroom is very well lighted and the shower is perfect. The bed is so comfortable, and there's plenty of closet and drawer space for your clothes. I can't tell you how nice it was after being out on a cold day to come back to our room, we thought of it like our little home in the city.

On top of all that, the staff are all extremely friendly and accommodating. From the bell-guys to the check-in staff to the cleaning folks, everyone had a smile and asked us if we needed anything.

So stay at the Silversmith when you're in town for a show or a conference or just a getaway weekend with your family, and you'll see it's the best place in town. Sweet home Chicago!

Room Tip: The best room is the suite, and if it's available they will give you the one that's away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for such a great review! We love being the favorite. Thank you so much for your business and we wish you all the best in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Silversmith is a great value for a downtown hotel. While shopping for a room for a Saturday night in December, it was typically $30-$100 cheaper than other hotels and the reviews were really good, so I decided to go ahead and try it. I didn't regret it!

The location is great. If you are planning to shop State Street, this is the place for you. State Street shopping is only a couple of blocks away. If you don't mind a bit longer walk, you can easily walk to Michigan Avenue shopping from here too. Millenium Park and The Bean are literally a block away. There is a Dunkin Donuts just around the corner which is also convenient for morning breakfast or evening coffee runs. It's right by the El too - you could hear the El, but it wasn't so noisy that it was disturbing. It definitely didn't disturb my sleep.

The hotel itself is very nice. Beautiful real wood moldings and furnishings and high ceilings made it much homier than your typical hotel furnishings. We were upgraded to a larger room upon arrival for free, which was a nice surprise! The staff was extremely friendly. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank your for such a great review! We sincerely hope to see you again next year. Thank you so much for visiting us.
Best wishes in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Rainier, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Beautiful arts & crafts details and furnishing throughout the lobby and rooms. The rooms have extremely high ceilings adding to the elegance. Very friendly staff. Great value. The only problem is that it's next to the el, which may be difficult for those with trouble sleeping or who can't tune it out. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor--high above the el.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezili7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for the review. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again in 2013. Have a safe New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was in Chicago for a professional meeting and had seen some glowing reviews of this place, so I made a reservation. The emails I got before my trip were helpful, the staff who greeted me were extremely professional and friendly, and the room-- wow. I was in an Executive King and was very pleased: large sitting area, very comforable bed, free wi-fi (for all guests), very responsive A/C system, nice flat screen TV with decent channels. The hotel seemed pretty full but at the same time was very quiet, at least my sixth-floor room was.

The Silversmith is about twenty or thirty steps from the Madison/Wabash train station and is within easy walking distance of the Art Institute (that's a whole other five-star + review), a Target (located in the historic Carson, Pirie, Scott building), Intelligentsia Coffee (a must for coffee snobs), and all manner of food: fast, slow, and in between.

I can't emphasize enough how friendly and helpful all of the staff were: this has become a big dividing line in American hoteliery, even at the upper levels sometimes. My only complaints: the business center was very small, and only one of the two printers was working, and drinking glasses in the room were the Motel 6 thin plastic variety (though the front desk was happy to provide real ones on request).

Chicago has no shortage of fine hotels, but for the money, the location, and the ease of visiting the Silversmith, in addition to the rooms, I will be going back to this hotel should I return to Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalibhakta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank for the wonderful review. I am so happy to hear that our staff made such a big difference. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed the Art Institute.
We do hope that if you come back to Chicago, the Silversmith will be your choice.
Have a great New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#97 of 190 in Chicago
8,842 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,596 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing