We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #22 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were impressed by the quality and service level of this hotel. Our room was large, and very comfortable. Our king size bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was very professional and accomadating. The location of the hotel was centrally located to theathers, shopping, museums and resturants. This is a Wonderful hotel at a great vallue. We would recommend to our friends, family and collegues.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEM8388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for the review. We take pride in the quality of our staff and as you noted, our location is second to none. We hope to see you back again soon. Have a wonderful holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,482 - 1,488 of 2,152 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel is littered with charm and ambiance. I absolutely was taken away as soon as I entered the doors. Although the entrance is small, the lobby and rooms are huge! I had a King Suite that me and my husband loved for the high ceiling, extra space and french doors, which kept him from waking me up in the morning.
Everything else about the hotel was also worth the price of the stay including the gym, on-site restaurant, and especially the staff. I didn't see one disgruntled employee while we were there and everyone really went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and happy.
I woudl recommend this to families and couples in town for either business or leisure. The close proximity to restaurants, shopping, museums, and attractions like The Willis Tower make it very easy to accomplish a lot during your stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for the great review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Have a wonderful holiday season and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Beautiful over-sized room. Very clean and luxurious. I am used to staying in hotels in Chicago that are much more expensive and this was BY FAR a better deal. Will definitely stay there again!
The location is very understated, but is close to shopping and only about a mile from Water Tower square on the Magnificent Mile. I usually stay in the Palmer House Hilton and wanted to save money. I did not expect much, but was very surprised. It was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAKinIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for the great review. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and that the value you received was excellent.
We hope to see you back again soon. Happy holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for a week and were impressed with the size of the room and the staff. Everyone was accommodating from the doormen to the desk personnel to housekeeping. The room was large and quiet even though the "L" runs right outside the front door. Not only that the price was right and the location is great, close to everything - Grant Park, Museums, Soldier Field, Michigan Avenue shopping, taxis, and as noted the L station is right outside.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Chicago for vacation. We come frequently and will definitely return here

Room Tip: The upgraded suites are great with more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for such a great review. It is so nice to hear that you were able to spend a week with us and in our city.
Please do come back again. We'd love to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Silversmith has great sized rooms with super comfortable beds. The staff is friendly, informative and a pleasure to interact with. The hotel is in the most perfect location- close to the CTA ('L') and in walking distance to great restaurants, shops and attractions. Definitely worth it and I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for quality, convenience and value!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for the outstanding review. We love to hear the word "pefect" as it relates to your stay and the interaction with our staff.
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I took a 4 day trip to Chicago and had the good fortune to stay at The Silversmith. We had a king bed room but upon our arrival were upgraded to a suite which gave us a little more room to unpack and get settled in. The hotel itself is right downtown, steps from the "L" and a block from Michigan Ave and Grant park. The location made trips to the Sears Tower (having lived in Chicago a number of years ago I refuse to call it the Willis Tower), Field Museum, Shedd, Art Institute, etc very easy to manage. The one downside was a very small exercise room, but when I come back this will be my first choice to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGVNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your review. So nice to hear that we were able to upgrade you to a suite. As you noted, we are so close to everything that it makes it easy to get to around.
We will see about expanding our fitness center in 2013.
Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great location for the hot chocolate race in town. Beautiful decor of arts and crafts style. Wonderful service with staff that went out of their way to accommodate. When we checked in they upgraded our room and also threw in a premium air mattress for no extra charge. L train was not very loud at all. Location is so close to shopping! Right around the corner from Macy's and many affordable places to eat.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulldogfamily4stogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your comments. Hope to see you back for next year's hot chocolate race.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#5 of 192 in Chicago
369 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Palmer House A Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#27 of 192 in Chicago
4,938 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $127 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing