We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of Town wedding stay at the Silversmith” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Silversmith Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #15 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
North Olmsted, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Out of Town wedding stay at the Silversmith”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The marketing dept was the only hotel in the Chicago area that would 'block' rooms for our daughter's wedding. Our daughter lives in Chicago but her family lives in Cleveland, OH and the groom is from Reading, England. We all stayed at the Silversmith and they were so accommodating. We had welcome bags for the guests that they placed in the rooms of the guests. We had posters for upcoming events that they placed on an easel in the lobby. They were so helpful and pleasant. The lobby is off the street level which makes it quiet. The hotel is right outside the loop train line (no sound from with-in) which makes it very convenient for travel. Walking distance to the lake and parks. It was perfect- location, accommodations, price.
.

Room Tip: All the rooms have very high ceilings-12 ft. Lovely decor. Second floor and spacious lobby. Restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    537
    128
    30
    34
See reviews for
383
714
119
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I along with our two kids (6 & 9) stayed here for three nights in August. The location is great and the staff was always very friendly. The hotel was very quiet - had we not seen other people, we would have thought that we were the only ones there. We were on the 5th floor with the L-train right below us. It didn't bother us....we could hear it but it sounded like wind or like an air conditioner turned on. When the bellhop brought our bags up, he dropped them off and then immediately turned to leave. I had to stop him to give him a tip - it wasn't as though he hung around expecting something - very classy. The valet was very nice and helpful as well. It cost $50/day to valet which is in the range of what I found at other hotels in the area. There was a self-park just around the corner that charged $42/day but we opted for the valet as they allowed "in and outs" without extra charge. If we didn't have a family function in the burbs, we wouldn't have rented a car. There's a CVS, Walgreen's, McDonald's and a Corner Bakery very close by....just to name a few. Our two kids slept on the pull-out sofa. As mentioned in other posts, when it's pulled out, it's very tight in the room. That didn't bother us since we weren't in our room much. We stayed in a King Suite which had a microwave and fridge. The hotel has free wifi. Our room was a disaster so we told housekeeping to only change out the towels. She not only changed out the towels but also straightened up the room and fixed the beds. It's nice to see them go above and beyond even when you tell them it's not necessary. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Armbar0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Ive stayed in a lot of hotels in the states and I must say this has been my favourite, its clean, classy and staff very helpful. Location couldnt be better , would definitely stay here again. we only had breakfast in the restaurant but that was excellent I honestly cant recommend this enough , enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haynesie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed at the Silversmith with my wife for four nights. Great location walk to Mill. Park; Chicago River Cruise; Arts institute. Right next to the Madison Loop Station , very cheap to ride the train around town. One caveat, ask for a room away from the front of the building, less noise from the trains. All in all, a pleasant stay, recommended

Room Tip: room at the rear, away from the loop train track
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janton2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Recently, my husband and I stayed at the Silversmith Hotel in Chicago to attend a family member's wedding. We found this hotel to be a great place to stay in the downtown area. It is inside the "Loop", seconds from the "L", and within walking distance of much of downtown Chicago. Being so close to the "L" made it very easy to get to/from either Midway or O'Hare airports. One-way cost on the "L" from either airport to the hotel was $2.25 which is a lot cheaper than a taxi. There are lots of places to eat from Dunkin Donuts to nice restaurants and shopping nearby. The room we stayed in was comfortable and very clean, the bed was quite comfortable, and there was a big screen TV and spacious bathroom. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Being right in the downtown area, I was a little concerned about security, but I needn't have been concerned. Elevator access to the rooms was controlled by the room key so people off the street could not enter the elevators and roam the guest room hallways. I was impressed by how fast the elevators responded when the button was pressed. It never took more than 30 seconds to get an elevator. We highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: If possible, recommend getting a room that is not street side as there is street noise from the &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kedavis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel,Gauteng,South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had booked our hotel in February 2012, coming from South Africa to visit the USA...WE found out on Saturday (18Aug) that our plans had changed....we had to book an additional night. I had a look on the internet and found to my dismay that the hotel was fully booked..so we could not extend our stay at the Silversmith! I sent a e-mail to them on Saturday and explained our situation to them, hoping they could help us. I phoned them from South Africa on Sunday morning and spoke to Patty...explained to her my situation and she said that they had did not have the same room available for our second night's stay BUT she offered an alternative room at the same rate! I had to discuss this with the family and contacted her that same night...she remembered me! She immediately booked our room and I received confirmation about 20min later via e-mail! This is wonderful. Compliments to the staff and management of this hotel, and we cant wait to come and visit you in October! PS; I received an e-mail back from the management advising me on Monday morning that our room has been booked! BIG Compliments to this establishment!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marynafromSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
old saybrook, ct
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

for one of the best stays in chicago try the siversmith at 10 s wabash st in the loop. steps from the el(think easy access to trains and planes) and within 1.5 easy walking miles of all the best chicago had to offer, the silversmith blends an historic exterior with modern appeal in the rooms and great security for peace of mind.

Room Tip: ask for the teens on any floor; they're the furthest away from the street(and the el).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank po1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#97 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,394 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing