We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #18 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I'll begin by emphasizing other reviews that commend the staff. Every single staff member we encountered greeted us with smiles, positive conversation, and offers of assistance. Keep up the great work, everyone!

We realized that we repeatedly commented on the fact that The Silversmith is the ideal location for Chicago tourists. It's close to the metro station (on the "train side" of 7th floor, the passing El sounded like distant ocean waves breaking on the beach, and, if anything, only helped our sleep. Might have been a different story on a different story.) We didn't bother buying multiday passes for the CTA. Once, we took a cab from the Navy Pier back to our hotel, but, other than train rides to Wrigley Field and to and from Midway Airport, we walked.

This hotel is beautiful. Tons of character. The mission-style interior architecture and decor were striking and consistent in all the areas of the hotel that we saw.

Other rooms may be similarly-situated, but 701 was a corner room with a largely-unused stairway on one side and the elevator shaft on the other side of the wall from the bathroom, So we NEVER heard any noise from other rooms, only a rare door-slam from other rooms on the hall. I'd imagine all the rooms numbered X01 have that advantage.

The layout of our room a simple rectangle with the bedroom on the front of the hotel (comfortable king-sized bed with feather/down pillows and large HDTV). A set of frosted glass French doors separated the bedroom from the sitting area that had a desk, chairs, comfortable sofa, mini fridge and another HDTV. The bathroom covered the entire width of the room on the opposite end from the bedroom, with marble countertop, and separate bath and shower. The heavy mission-style oak decor was maintained throughout. Never any issues with towels, water temperature/pressure, electricity, etc. We returned to the room every evening after long days experiencing Chicago to find that the housekeeping staff kept the room perfectly maintained.

We paid $120/nt through hotels.com.

We didn't eat at Ava's, the restaurant on the ground floor, because the prices for breakfast were more than we wanted to spend. We didn't see the lunch/dinner menus. Look for our restaurant reviews on Exchequer, Corner Bakery, and Al's #1 Italian Beef.

For attractions, take a look at our reviews of Willis Tower, Chicago Art Institute, Wrigley Field, Shedd Aquarium, and Field Museum, and buy the City Pass ($84) if you're doing the tourist thing. !!!CHICAGO ROCKS!!!

Room Tip: ask for 601, 701, 801, 901 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripReportsInfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,309
    559
    131
    32
    35
See reviews for
401
739
127
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I like the old place. It has a really good location nice staff clean rooms a little pricey for my budget but I will return. Didn't like all the extra cost associated with staying at this location but it is chicago. Near miricle mile.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I am not sure what the other fees could have been, other than the hotel taxes or valet parking.
We hope to see you again on your next trip from Ann Arbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The location and staff were wonderful. I was just a bit disappointed that the hotel was so dark inside with a lot of wood and no natural light. I should have expected this since it is a historic landmark but I would prefer something more modern and with more natural light. The location is premiere though especially for the price and all of the staff from the doorman to the front desk were great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCtoTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our great location and about our staff. I am sorry that the lack of natural light in your room disappointed you. Each room provides a slightly different exposure and feeling. I hope on your next visit, we can get you into a brighter area.
Thanks again for your feedback and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Silversmith Hotel and were very pleased. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The room was great, not cramped, big bathroom, lots of storage space, frig, nice TV. The beds were comfortable and pillows just right for me. In the loop area of Chicago with easy access to the L, busses, shopping, Millennium Park, restaurants, and anything else you need.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor so no one above us but we might have heard more L noise, but I wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geranium07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We wanted a place close to the Loop and tried a local hotel instead of a national chain. The room was huge and nicely furnished. Just blocks from the art museum, Macy's (Marshall Fields), and Grant Park. Our breakfast at the restaurant Ada's was include as part of the Bed and Breakfast package. We had a choice from the regular menu and the food was great. With one of the stop of the Loop just yards from the door, it was easy to hop a train to outlaying places. We did hear some of the noise from the the Loop trains but it didn't keep us from sleep. We walked from Union station and it was only about 20 minutes. When we have a chance to go back to Chicago, we will gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms and those in more of the back of the hotel will hear less train noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great deal in a loop hotel. Always courteous staff, very clean rooms and comfortable beds. Lacks view and can be noisy if you get lower floor room near El tracks. I go for interior room on inside chase. No view, but quite. The frank Lloyd Wright theme is carried out in wood modelings and fixtures.

Room Tip: Request higher floor room on Wabash Street or interior room for quiet. Second and third floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peachs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed seven nights at the Silversmith in Chicago (July 2012). Overall, this is a great choice for those who don't intend on spending a lot of time in their hotel. It's in a central spot, steps away from State Street shopping and Millennium Mile, this hotel is clean, quiet and quaint. A little confusing when you first enter from Wabash, as the lobby is on the second floor. The rooms are spacious, clean and have decent features. It's an older hotel with traditional decor.

Their gym needs a serious upgrade - don't plan on using it often. There's a rough stairclimber and elliptical, no bike, two treadmills (relics), no free weights. The room is carpeted, which is kind of gross, and no floor mats. Thankfully, we had such a packed itinerary that this didn't matter.

I think it's a great hotel if you've got a lot to do and plan on exploring.

Room Tip: I stayed with a few friends and drew the short straw ... i slept on the pull out couch. Not ideal if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRO-KLAYMUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We agree that we have an A+ location. I've shared your comments on our fitness center and we are hoping to make some improvements soon, to make the space better for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#98 of 190 in Chicago
8,847 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#22 of 190 in Chicago
4,601 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing