We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
Ranked #18 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My family and I decided to travel to Chicago and stay downtown for a week. Our daughter found the hotel online, and we looked at the pictures and liked it. When comparing the prices with other hotels, it was cheaper, so we decided to book it. Booking the hotel for a week was the best decision we made! We were two blocks from the parks (Millennium and Grant), and within walking distance from the Art Institute. The staff was amazing, friendly, and helpful! We can´t wait to stay there again next year! We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,308
    559
    131
    32
    35
See reviews for
401
738
127
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location next to the el, the art institute, great architecture, etc. We loved the spacious bathroom and the clean lines of the decor. The place had an intimate boutique feel and was quieter than we expected.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esperant0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushnell, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel is located in The Loop in Chicago. Close to train service and all the shopping you can imagine. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and spacious. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank attridge57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the Silversmith for a week, Friday to Friday.

We had booked a suite, and we're given a room on the third floor. The room was huge all around. AC was really nice, as it operated on the other room with less noise coming in to the bedroom. Two TVs is always a plus. They didn't have HBO and the other prime channels for free though, but fortunately we did have a chance to watch EURO 2012 on ESPN.

Unfortunately the L-train track was just outside the window. The noise wasn't as bad as one could imagine, though the trains run less often on weekends. Still, we asked if we could get a quiter room and were promised one on Monday when they'd probably have one available. Our new room was on the 8th floor. It wasn't as big, but still had two rooms and enough space so we felt like we got what we payed for. The room was still on the L-train side but with less noise.

I wouldn't pass on Silversmith if I was going to Chicago again due to the L-train. I live next to a crossing with tram traffic, so I did get accustomed to the train traffic. If you're from a quieter area or a bad sleeper, I'd think again. Still, nothing to be that worried about and the staff was very accomodating on the topic and everything else too.

All around our trip was a success and we were both happy with the hotel. The location is top notch as you can get anywhere with the L-trains which are (as mentioned above) very close by. The Blue line which takes you to the airport doesn't run right next to the hotel, but is very close by too. MIllenium park is just a stones throw from the hotel and you have plenty of things to do and see right from the front door. Even the lobby of the hotel (on the 2nd floor) is quite the space to sit down and read the paper.

Room Tip: Get one high up or away from the street side if you can. If you're a good sleeper and don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattiRiikonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I came to Chicago for a conference and we chose the Silversmith because it was the most economical of the conference hotels, but I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of our stay. I often like older boutique hotels but have come to expect small rooms, and couldn't believe how spacious this one was, especially the bathroom, which made it very pleasant even for two unrelated people as we were. The room faced a brick wall but that is typical Chicago--I once had a room overlooking the fire escape at the fabled Palmer House and paid much more for it! I don't tend to spend much time in the room anyway, and the room location meant it was quiet. In fact, despite proximity to the "L" the room was one of the quietest I've ever stayed in. Staff was terrific, and could not have been nicer or more helpful. Convenient to the Loop area. I would stay here again, definitely.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room you'll probably have to get one not on the same side as the L (elevated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments about the Silversmith! We are glad that you enjoyed the comfort of our room and the friendliness of our staff. I will make sure that we share your thoughts with the staff.
We appreciate your business and hope to see you back again in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Wonderful staff, clean and perfectly sized property for our annual business conference. Doesn't break the bank and is perfectly situated to get to effortlessly from O'Hare.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schoassei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The room was like a cave, with no natural light at all as the windows faced a very close solid brick wall. The bathroom was dirty, with mold in the shower. And the El train right outside was very noisy. A terrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moyenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback. We aplogize for the problems that you encountered. While we wish that all of our rooms and suites had panoramic city views, unfortunately, they don't based on our city location. And while our proximity to the train, is a huge positive for people looking for ease of transportation within the city or from the airports, it does pose a noise problem from time to time. There is no excuse for the problem you reported in the bathroom area and it will be addressed with our maintenance and housekeeping teams immediately.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we will use it to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#97 of 190 in Chicago
8,842 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,596 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 190 in Chicago
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Property: The Silversmith Hotel
Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing