We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, economical alternative with great accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Ranked #19 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Wonderful staff, clean and perfectly sized property for our annual business conference. Doesn't break the bank and is perfectly situated to get to effortlessly from O'Hare.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schoassei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,108)
There are newer reviews for Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,527 - 1,533 of 2,108 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

The room was like a cave, with no natural light at all as the windows faced a very close solid brick wall. The bathroom was dirty, with mold in the shower. And the El train right outside was very noisy. A terrible experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moyenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thank you for your honest feedback. We aplogize for the problems that you encountered. While we wish that all of our rooms and suites had panoramic city views, unfortunately, they don't based on our city location. And while our proximity to the train, is a huge positive for people looking for ease of transportation within the city or from the airports, it does pose a noise problem from time to time. There is no excuse for the problem you reported in the bathroom area and it will be addressed with our maintenance and housekeeping teams immediately.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we will use it to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for three nights during our Chicago visit. Our whole stay went very smoothly, no complaint whatsoever. The daily rate was pretty steep (around 150 EUR per night), but that's how much you have to pay for a centrally located hotel in a big city. And it is also good to remember, that price does not automatically correlate with the quality of your stay: you might just as easly pay the same amount for a crappy hotel as for a really great one. And the Silversmith is definitely the latter!

First of all the location of the hotel is as good as it gets: it is situated right in the middle of the Loop, just a couple of blocks from some of Chicago's main attractions (Art Institute of Chicago, Millennium Park and "The Bean", Willis (ex-Sears Tower) and great shopping possibilites. Several subway stations are also situated right next to the hotel, so it is easy to get to any of the city's other neighbourhoods as well.

The room was very large (for a big city hotel) with an excellent bed, a large flat-screen tv, refridgerator and everything else you could hope for in a hotel room. Air conditioning was surprisingly quiet and effective. Free wifi was also included in the room rate and worked without a hitch. Service at the front desk was prompt and courteous.

If you arrive by car be warned: overnight parking is EXTREMELY expensive (close to $50 per night). Breakfast was not included, but there are tons of different cafes and restaurants where you can grab a bite just next to the hotel, so this wasn't a problem.

The Silversmith Hotel can be recommended for anyone whot visits Chicago and values a central location and comfortable rooms for winding down after a day on the town!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vlouhimies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We will share it with all of our staff. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel is old, yet nicely appointed. The suites are average, with two separate areas and two flat screen televisions. This is a "no frills" hotel good for sleeping. Outside can be a little dicey at night, with some shady characters, but there is a visible police presence and I felt relatively safe. The hotel is right on the Loop, convenient to the Bean and many of Chicago's famoous sites. If you're looking for a good location for doing business in Jeweler's Row or in downtown Chicago, this hotel can be a more-reasonably price option to the large chain hotels nearby. The free Internet is definitively a plus.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangerpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We reserved our room 3 months in advance and at 5 pm the night before we were leaving we received a call indicating that we were being moved to another location (not a Silversmith Hotel) and that it had all been arranged. When I called to inquire why were being moved and indicated why I chose this hotel, I got an answer which was "we have a contract with a large group that is staying here and we have to move you". I have NEVER experienced this before and thought it was very unprofessional to call someone and leave a message on my machine the night before our early morning departure. I have NEVER stayed at a Silversmith Hotel and NEVER will.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank diane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the way your situation was handled. It is not reflective of how we try and manage our hotel and how we interact with our customers. We certainly try and honor all of our reservations, but from time to time, we cannot. This does not excuse how this was handled.
We are sorry that we couldn't honor your reservation this time, but do hope that you might consider us in the future, so that you may experience the Silversmith.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

After battling Taste of Chicago traffic for over 2 hours (my bad not to check if anything was happening in the city before deciding to venture into Chicago) the Silversmith Hotel and Suites was a sight for sore eyes. The wonderful woman at the front desk checked us into a quiet room (away from the EL) and it was luxurious beyond our expectations. The price we paid for our two room suite was WELL below what you would pay for a single room at virtually every other reputable hotel in Chicago. From the valets to the bellmen to the front desk, everything was top-notch.
Will never try to get into Chicago on a "Taste of Chicago" day, but when I do have occasion to stay in the city again I will definitely stay at the Silversmith Hotel and Suites. Amazing!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the noise from the EL. I did this and I slept like a baby. I heeded the...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtripper_fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

LOCATION--If you don't want to struggle with stairs and luggage, the blue line (from O'Hare) is 2 blocks away; and the red line (from Midway) is around the corner. If you prefer, you can change at one of the hubs that leave you in the Loop on Warbash at Madison. Ftom the hotel, you're one block from Michigan Ave and a couple of blocks from Millenium Park.

FOOD--For a quick, reasonably priced meal there's Ada's Deli right downstairs. Down the block is the Flat Top Grill, where you create your own stir fry. Hidden in a highrise two blocks away is Heaven on Seven, a terrific Cajun restaurant. (Your also surrounded by fast food regulars like Chipotle, Dunkin Donuts, and more Starbucks than you would think necessary in a five block radius.

DON'T MISS: The Art Institute of Chicago (four blocks away); walking tours frombthe Chicago Architecture Foundation (across from the Art Institute); and the Goodman Theater (4 blocks behind the hotel on Dearborn).

MY ROOM: Four of us fit comfortably in a suite, which consisted of a large room with two double beds, a living room separated by a half wall, and a bathroom opposite that. The suite included two TVs and a small fridge. Our room was on the 3rd floor and faced an inner court. The train noises that other complained about were white noise to us.

Love that you need a key to access any of the floors above the 2nd floor lobby (where you'll also find a small excercise room, several chairs for lounging, and two computers with printers.

Only complaint: It's difficult to get a human to answer a phone. (A couple of times I was in the lobby watching folks chat while the phone kept ringing.)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMovies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Palmer House Hilton
The Palmer House Hilton
#99 of 191 in Chicago
9,084 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,768 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#8 of 191 in Chicago
2,858 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago Athletic Association Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#13 of 191 in Chicago
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603-2801 (Formerly The Silversmith Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $136 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing