We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in Chicago” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warwick Allerton-Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Ranked #102 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
WISCONSIN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weekend in Chicago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I have been to Chicago many many times and have never stayed at the Allerton Hotel, until last weekend. My friends and had planned a couples weekend in Chicago and one person was put in charge of room reservations, and unfortunately we were a room short upon arrival. Because I am a frequent visitor I volunteered to be the one to look for a room on such short notice. I went online to one of the travel sites that lets you bid on a room sight unseen. Reluctantly I chose one in the $120.00 range within walking distance of the group we were with. Lucky for me the hotel I bid/won was the Allerton. I need to tell you all the wonderful thing that will bring me back. Let first say I am a Palmer House fan,9 out of 10 times picking it as my hotel of choice. However, what a gem, and such a great location! Lobby is small, not a lot of sitting room, however lounge and restaurant (breakfast/lunch) were amazing. Excellent cocktails and the breakfast buffet (menu available) was exceptional, service was a 10 as well. Checkin was swift and even though I was reduced rate guest I requested my room be a queen not a full, and I was granted that request with no additional charge! Small room, but functional, wonderful bed with top of the line bedding. The comforter had double sheets, which I love, feather topped mattress and 6 pillows. Bathroom had a marble shower with a great shower head. Makeup mirror and very nice amenities. The room was very quiet and we slept well. You are 2 blocks from Water Tower, movie theaters, wonderful restaurants. I thought I would miss staying in the Loop but I found this to be really delightful. I used Spothero for parking and was able to park right next to the hotel for half the cost, and was thrilled with the end result! I will definitely be back. The only draw back I can think of is the elevators are small, 5 people at a time perhaps, so for luggage, packages it got a little tight. It is a hotel with a lot of character so we enjoyed the old world feel, a lot of history. If you love the Palmer you will love the Allerton. .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klindy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome S, General Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Klindy3,

Thank you for your time to review your recent stay at the Warwick Allerton Hotel. We are glad we could accommodate you on such short notice and that you rate our staff a 10.

It is great to see that you will be back on your next trip to Chicago. As to the size of the elevators, unfortunately, in a 90 year old building we are not able to increase the size of them anymore.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    526
    272
    114
    69
See reviews for
254
547
108
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel was really beautiful! It was old and but newly renovated and had such character. Our room was really tiny and small, but never being to Chicago before we weren't sure what to expect. It was perfect location and so close to everything. Would love to visit Chicago in warmer months, but this hotel was all you need for the rate you paid!:) The one down fall is that we wanted to go to the restaurant for a tea, and two tea's costed us $11 USD.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAMLYMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica A, Guest Relations Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this review, September 21, 2015
Hello JAMLYMI,
We’re a historic landmark hotel in Chicago and we have so much character and we’re glad you enjoyed it. The location is perfect for enjoying all of the fun and exciting things located downtown. We now offer complementary tea in the morning from 6:30a-9a for your enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

As stated multiple times in other reviews, this hotel is in a good location but the rooms are small.

If you are not going to spend much time in your room, then it may not be a big deal. There is not a whole lot of privacy or walking around room in there. The standard rooms usually have a full size or a queen size bed. I was shown a full size room when I arrived and choose to wait for a queen. After 30 minutes of waiting, the room was still not ready. The guy at the front desk was nice enough to upgrade me to a large king room, which I greatly appreciated! It was much larger than the other room, it had a: king size bed, a little sitting area and two televisions. You could not see much of anything from the room, only the hotel room windows (on the other side) and an industrial A/C unit. There was usually a decent wait for an elevator, they are also smaller than average, although they have three of them.The housekeeping staff did a fantastic job in my room during my 4 day/3 night stay. There are no coffee makers in the room, you have to go the lobby for that. Rooms were pretty quiet, I didn't hear any noise from the hallway or from outside.

I would consider staying here again if I get another reduced rate, however I wouldn't spend over $75/ night for their "quaint" little rooms. I would prefer to spend a little extra cash for more space. Parking is an additional $60/day, but there are other self parking structures near by for about $45/day.

Room Tip: If you are going to spend a lot of time in your room or don't like tight spaces, ask about an up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shantaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica A, Guest Relations Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this review, September 21, 2015
Hello Shantaye,
Since Warwick purchased the hotel in 2014 we have been undertaking many improvements during the past months, like the replacement of all mattresses and box springs and have taken steps in speeding up the elevators and we have many more enhancements to come. Being a landmark hotel from the 1920’s there are a number of rooms that are small, however, we have more rooms that are spacious including spacious one bedroom suites. Our website provides information and details on the various types of accommodations that are available at our hotel. Thank you for recognizing our Housekeeping staff and free coffee is offered in the lobby daily from 630-900am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

i stayed here for four nights it was all for the location and the price.
The room was small old equiped forexample there was no safe case !!!
The staff were very friendly .
Next time i think i would somewhere else with a better room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtea2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica A, Guest Relations Manager at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this review, September 21, 2015
Hello Mtea2011,
Warwick purchased this hotel at the end of the first quarter of 2014. It will take some time to bring this hotel to the standards enjoyed by our guests in such locations as New York and Paris. Glad to hear that the staff was very friendly and we hope that when you come back to Chicago you will stay with us and see the changes we’re making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great location! Quite a noisy hotel though, you can hear every creak and groan and hiss. Elevators are ridiculously slow. Concierge is on 2nd floor but there's no obvious sign to suggest this. No coffee and tea maker in the room but free coffee on the 2nd floor every morning. Staff are very friendly and the bar is lovely!

Room Tip: Request a room away from stairs and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cait25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica A, Executive Administrative Assistant at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this review, September 15, 2015
Hello Cait25
Glad you enjoyed the bar and that our friendly staff made your stay comfortable. Warwick purchased this hotel at the end of the first quarter of 2014. We’re working on upgrading numerous items and the elevators are on the top list of services to improve. We have already taken steps that have sped up the speed and more improvements will be made within the coming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Good: location, decent restaurant
Not so good: room next to elevator, no in room coffee maker, no lotion,
terrible elevators with long waits, using 2 groupons had to check out and re check in for second night, told no way to give me a bill showing everything was paid, poorly staffed check in.
wouldn't go there again.

Room Tip: make sure you aren't close to elevator as they run all night and will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica A, Executive Administrative Assistant at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this review, September 15, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey and sorry your stay wasn’t everything you expected. We do offer coffee in the lobby every morning from 6:30a-9a for your enjoyment. Groupon is a third party provider of accommodations with separate billing practices. Using two back to back coupons required to folio statements to meet the requirements of the promotion. Your payment was to Groupon, not to the hotel thus we were not able to provide you with any charges incurred through your transactions. We do provide body lotion to our guests and regret that you did not find this item in the room along with the other Gilchrist & Soames products offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We have stayed at the Allerton maybe 15 times while attending an International Trade Show. Its design is more in line with European hotels in that the rooms are small. Our room this year did not have a dresser for reasons unknown but have had them in the past. The staff is very friendly and most helpful and the location is great with shops all around. Breakfast and lunch are served in the dinning room but there is only a very limited food selection available in the lounge if you want to stay in for your evening meal.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room is not near the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Earle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Warwick Allerton-Chicago, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Earle M,
Thank you for your continued patronage of The Allerton Hotel! You are absolutely right, our hotel falls in line with more of a European design. We are happy that our staff and location continues to exceed expectations every time you return to us. Our team is looking forward to your next stay!
-The Allerton Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago
Inn of Chicago
#138 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#31 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,157 reviews
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#64 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Allerton-Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Allerton-Chicago

Property: Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Address: 701 N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2501 (Formerly Allerton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#96 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick Allerton-Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a spectacular, multi-million-dollar renovation to match our dynamic downtown setting, we have reaffirmed our coveted standing among Magnificent Mile Chicago hotels. Luxuriate in sleek, modern rooms and suites appointed with every conceivable comfort, along with a few surprises. Stay at our dazzling downtown Chicago upscale boutique hotel and be at the center of it all with world-class shopping, dining, sightseeing, and entertainment beckoning from right outside our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Warwick Allerton-Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allerton Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing