We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, convenient location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
Ranked #127 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed August 3, 2010

This isn't the fanciest hotel I've ever stayed in, but one of the best for customer service. They know how to treat their guests! I was a little worried since we got such a bargain rate through Priceline, but we had a clean, comfortable and quiet room which is all we really needed since we spent most of the day and evening out in the city. We did use the pool once and found the pool and pool area clean and stocked with clean towels. It is a short walk from the CTA and Union Station, and in 10 minutes you are in the downtown area. The hotel is only 3 blocks away from a Whole Foods Market which is convenient, too. I can't say enough about the staff and how friendly and helpful they are. I was greeted by every employee I came in contact with during our stay. The room could use a little fresh paint and newer curtains, but it certainly didn't ruin our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrozin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 704 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2010

The staff is amazing, helpful and courteous. The close proximity to the CTA was a bonus. Great food in both restaraunts. The rooms are clean, confortable and well-kept. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pineconeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Not a bad hotel for the price. Close to Union Station but not near any attractions or shopping areas...however the Clinton stop on the Blue Line is nearby (a two minute walk) and from there it's just a few minutes to the Mag Mile, bus tours, and other dreadful tourist faves. Aurelio's is the restaurant right downstairs - they make a great chicken sandwich but it's WAY overpriced (more than $12 for a sandwich and soda; I live in NYC so trust me, I know overpriced).

The room was a decent size and the bed was big and comfortable. Pretty clean though the bathroom could have used some work. I usually travel in the mornings and try to get early check-in at most places I stay; maybe it was bad timing on my part but it wasn't available here (though to be fair, I arrived on a Friday and was told that every hotel in the city was sold out). The front desk staff was very helpful however, and whenever I needed a cab they were on it right away and I had one within minutes. Internet access was included. Parking available but not sure if it's included (they also have a valet service). If you're on a higher floor be prepared to wait for an elevator...they're very slow and were usually full by the time they got to me.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay. Nothing majorly wrong yet nothing super awesome about the place either. Could use some updating, and yeah, the location isn't GREAT but it really isn't difficult to get to where you need to be.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LollyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Spent a very long day on the train, I was delayed at making my connection. Didn't get in until almost midnight and I was checked in and in my room in less than 15minutes. Room was nice and cold and the bed was clean, crisp and very comfy! One there for one night didn't get to experiance any of the other amenities but my stay was excellent1 I will be staying here again, just a short walk from the train station and the location for enjoying all Chicago has to offer was perfect. Thanks from a weary traveler!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I was displeased with this hotel for the money that I spent. The travel agent lied and said that everything was in walking distance this was not true at all.The staff was nice.The restaurant was too expensive 11.00 bucks for a breakfast buffet.Gimme a break.The rooms were in neede of updating.There were visible cracks in the walls and the drapes appeared old and dusty.I had a regular room and there was no microwave or fridge.I did enjoy the roof top pool that in my three day stay i didnt see anyone maintain.All in all this was not worth my money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGURL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

goog place that near downtown, convient trafic and high quality service while a little bit noisy as near road.
recommend buffet breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitty_zhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I certainly expected at larger, nicer room for the $287/night I paid. The bathroom was so small, I had to back up to the sink to close the door. (I weight 110 lbs) There was nothing special about room.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyaleerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
Near North Side
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown

Address: 506 W Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60607-4303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#84 Family Hotel in Chicago
#86 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $92 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn(R) & Suites Chicago - Downtown conveniently located near the Chicago Loop, and other prominent area attractions. We are steps away from the CTA Clinton Blue Line station on South Clinton Street and I-290 on South Canal Street, this Chicago hotel is perfect for leisure and business travelers. What's exciting is vacationers are surrounded by Willis Tower, the Museum Campus, Soldier Field and more when they stay in downtown Chicago. Our business travelers appreciate our hotel's location, meeting rooms space of 2,000 sq. ft., free Wi-Fi access, an extensive fitness center, a seasonal outdoor rooftop pool and dining facilities. Clearly, with these choice amenities and prices, it's easy to see why guests prefer us to other hotels in Chicago, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Downtown
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing